We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5 808)
Filter reviews
5 808 results
Traveller rating
4 573
1 012
189
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4 573
1 012
189
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi bar one man band akumal bay paddle boarding fidelity club lobby bar beach manager yoga classes fish gourmet restaurant the penthouse jacuzzi on the balcony sea turtles sushi chef main pool brazilian steakhouse stayed in building
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 5 808 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

This hotel was amazing from start to finish. Got to relax truly, had a lovely spa treatment which was priced well. We was slightly unfortunate with a few days of bad weather with brought a huge amount of seaweed in. However staff worked tirelessly to clear what seemed a never ending job. Great food throughout all restaurants had great service and tasty food. The buffet was an easy option with a big variety of food from around the world. Excellent staff within the hotel, maids providing clean sheets, bar staff offering drinks day and night. Had a great photoshoot with Nilo, we ended up buying all our photos as there were so good. Entertainment staff very friendly that certainly know how to dance. Phenomenal holiday 10/10

Stayed: June 2018
7  Thank SimonMcArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABBWR, Guest Relations Manager at Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear SimonMcArthur,

We would like to thank you for the kind comments, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope you found in Akumal Bay - Beach & Wellness Resort the perfect spot for your next vacation, we are “your home under the sun”.

Looking forward to seeing you again anytime soon.

Warm regards,

Emanuele B.

I'NA YANA KIN
(my home under the sun)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We arrived June 12th and were greeted with 4 days of rain. Rained all day all four days. Spent quality time at the main bar talking with people from all over the world. Lots of Germans, and people from Great Briton. Everyone was doing well considering 4 days of rain. We love to snorkel and had been at this resort 2 times before. They have now roped off the main coral and sea turtle feeding areas that we used to snorkel at. Good for the turtles and coral but only about 10% of the area is left for snorkeling. After the rains the sargasso seaweed was 2-3 ft deep on the beach and the sand was stirred up so badly the visibility was only about 2 feet. So our snorkeling trip was a complete bust. We do have to give cudos to the working staff. Wilbur the bar tender was still as great as always. All the room and restaurant staff were excellent. A special shout out to Noemi and Paulino from the activities staff. They did their best to keep a smile on everyone's face during the 4 days of rain. The food was excellent. With all the rain several of the 2nd floor rooms had running water down the walls. The poor guys removing the seaweed had a never ending job. From the reviews this is getting to be an issue along the Mexico beaches and the Caribbean islands. If you are looking for a relaxing resort, great staff, and nice view, even when raining this is the place to go. If you want to snorkel do not go here. Another shout out to Town & Country Travel, Carroll Iowa, Diane Sturm for lining up the trip. She does an excellent job.

Room Tip: Try to get first floor 3000 rooms
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhalbur2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

A nice man walks belong the beach and plays cool songs with many instruments at once. The music is good and makes good mood. Once he played Despasito on the beach and it was a great feeling.
You have to come and listen to him.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank celistratow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABBWR, Guest Relations Manager at Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear celistratow,

We would like to thank you for the kind comments, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope you found in Akumal Bay - Beach & Wellness Resort the perfect spot for your next vacation, we are “your home under the sun”.

Looking forward to seeing you again anytime soon.

Warm regards,

Emanuele B.

I'NA YANA KIN
(my home under the sun)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We had a BLAST! We travel a lot and this has got be the BEST customer service I have ever received. All staff is so SO nice and HAPPY to assist!!! No complaints !!!! Oscar from the pool bar is AMAZING!! Liliana who makes the sushi is awesome, I am very picky with sushi and she was always patient and kind!!! Maribella and nuomi were the servers around the pool and they were so awesome !!! I loved talking to them and learning more about the culture and how they do things down there!! Luis and Zaisha were amazing in the reception area! Tim and George were excellent with tours! We went offshore fishing and they cooked our fish at the hotel and and froze the rest so we could take home !!! It was just excellent !! Room service was bomb!! House keeping was GREAT. The maintence man was awesome too! I just over all loved the STAFF!! The location was beach front, beach view everyday all day!!! Food was DELICIOUS MY favorite was the Brazilian steak house with William and Elíseo were amazing staff, servers, and friends !! I did not want to leave! I always am ready to go home and not this trip! Great snorkeling in front of hotel from fish, turtles, sting rays, corral, flounder and squid!! It was just EXCELLENT I had been following their fb page and everyone ALWAYS returns and I was already thinking this must be a great place because MULTIPLE return every year !! And now I have decided I want to make it a goal to return at least every other year !! There is so much to do or see and if your on a low budget there is lots to do on a low budget here at Akumal. There is a cenote called azul for 100 pesos you can get in and spend the day in a beautiful breathtaking atmosphere !! Everything was amazing I HIGHLY recommend Akumal Bay for friendliness, cleanliness, professional, loving environment !!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABBWR, Guest Relations Manager at Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Sandy B,

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us in Akumal Bay – Beach & Wellness Resort.

We are truly proud that our staff with personalized service, attitude and friendliness made of your stay an exceptional experience.

Be sure they will be recognized for their outstanding job provided during your stay.

We all look forward to welcome you back in the near future to your home under the sun.

Warm regards,

Emanuele B.

I'NA YANA KIN
(my home under the sun)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed her for 11 nights, beautiful location. The staff went over and above for us and it really made our stay here the best possible. Special mention to staff Daniela Diaz, Cecilia & Cornelio as well as all the other buffet restaurant staff who couldn’t do enough for us!! Our maid was lovely, we always came back to a super clean room and she took great care with everything. Thank you so much guys xxx

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Anj29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABBWR, Guest Relations Manager at Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Anj29,

We would like to thank you for the kind comments, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope you found in Akumal Bay - Beach & Wellness Resort the perfect spot for your next vacation, we are “your home under the sun”.

Looking forward to seeing you again anytime soon.

Warm regards,

Emanuele B.

I'NA YANA KIN
(my home under the sun)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews