We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 931)
Filter reviews
1 931 results
Traveller rating
1 606
226
63
17
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 606
226
63
17
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local host quiet pool room service spa treatments dinner reservations signature massage brick oven pizza in room dining swim up room ocean front volcanic stone legendary members la escondida the mexican restaurant all inclusive resort filet pool servers
Filter
Updating list...
598 - 603 of 1 931 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2018

First of all, the resort is lovely. A great modern look. Unfortunately for the us, it seems that management is more interested in hosting large business functions and shutting down half of the resort for special parties then actually allowing their guests to enjoy what this resort should have to offer. On multiple occasions, pools and lounging areas were entirely shut off to their guests, the ones spending their hard earned money on a week that should be all about them. This caused for mass crowding at the limited locations that remained open to the "PUBLIC". On multiple occasions, we were unable to find anywhere to lounge by the pool which meant we spent most of the day on our balcony. Not ideal when the trip is upwards to 5k a week. This is by far the most we have spent on a trip to mexico and by far the worst experience we've had.

The staff also needs to realize that when you're on vacation, you don't want to be bombarded with in room calls. Every day we would have roughly 6 calls to the room from hotel staff starting as early as 9am. Super annoying.

During one of the days we WERE able to get a seat by the pool, we waited over 45 minutes to be served. The most frustrating part about that was watching 5 service staff members standing in a circle just chatting. We took a look around and it looked like there were quite a few frustrated guests that had been waiting for service as well.

Needless to say, we expected more from Unico... Much much more and we were totally disappointed with how the trip unfolded. We will not be back.

Room Tip: pick another adults only resort.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank Drew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

First, about the seaweed. I m from the great Northwest, you want to complain about seaweed, ours is at least 12 feet long and slimy. The seaweed at this resort was like aquarium seaweed. Very delicate and not at all slimy or stinky. Really not a problem. A tractor was out every morning at 7 o clock to rake most of this away. The beach has gorgeous white sand. You must wear aqua socks to protect your feet from the coral. There are many great spots to swim and snorkel right in front of the hotel. We were there for 12 nights and i did swim every day. You can also walk to your right (facing the ocean) that's where you will see a bunch of people just standing in the ocean. They are feeding the fish. If you are no good at swimming, go over there and the fish will be swimming right around you. It's totally fun. We even saw a Stingray.
Food, the food, as most people have noted, it is EXCELLENT. Our favorite was the Steak House as they have 8 pages of items to choose from. We ate there 4 times and all of the food was truly amazing. We liked the other restaurants as well. Food was truly a delight in all of the restaurants. The ambience in the Cueva Siete and Mi Carisa is very romantic and if you can get a booth at the Steakhouse outside, that is the perfect spot! We spend every lunch there. And don't be in a rush while dining, you are on vacation, sit back and enjoy the meal while being waited on hand and food.
All the people in this resort speak fantastic English. We were trying to learn some Spanish, after all,we were in their country! And everyone tried to help us. The Mexican people are most gracious, kind, funny, patient to a fault with us tourists demands and they will cater to your every request.
The other thing we truly enjoyed are the hand crafted drinks that they make. Unlike other resorts where you might get the same old Margarita's etc. this resorts creates drinks that are just amazing, with fresh fruits, different flavor salts, high end liquor etc. I do not normally drink liquor but this time I did end up drinking some cocktails because they were so delightful.
The room, fantastic, we were on the 5th floor. Gorgeous view of the beautiful sandy beach and clear blue ocean. Mattress was one of the best we ever had the pleasure of sleeping on.
Our local host Daniela was a gem. She checked with us every day and made all our dinner reservations for us.
I saw 2 sommeliers, so for you wine people, if you don't care for the inclusive wine, there are more wines to select from and either one of the sommeliers I encountered were more then helpful and knowledgeable to guide you to something better.
The wine in the rooms was all local and quite good. Especially the Fume Blanc.
This hotel has plenty to do but it is best for those of you who seek total relaxation. They have movie nights, casino night, some shows etc and there is a disco, but it is not really a party town. Which is why we choose this hotel.
Many things in the hotel were crafted by local artisans. Walk around and check it out if you happen to have a monsoon day.
We splurged on this hotel. We wanted to go First Class all the way and we really feel that we succeeded.
We could not have been happier. We can only hope that we can return one day.

Room Tip: 5th floor has outstanding views
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Where do I begin? This trip was a trip of a life time. I always get a little weary being a same sex couple traveling to other countries, not there were no negatives at all at the UNICO! The rooms were well decorated, and the grounds were taken care of so nicely. The quiet pool was a wonderful oasis of tranquility, but the larger pool was also enjoyable. It is a larger resort, but still has the small resort feel. We did a few excursions, the dinner cruise was fun, but not what we imagined. An to be honest not worth the long van ride for us personally, we would of rather had the evening to enjoy the resort. We also did the trip to the Chichen Itza, which was a sight to see! The day was a very exhausting day, but for the cost it was worth the adventure. Anytime you’re traveling in a cramped van it’s not to be enjoyable, but to see one of the modern wonders of the world, go! You can’t beat the price. The couples massage was a good experience, and well well worth the cost. The restaurants were wonderful. We did room service for breakfast for the first few days, but then quickly fell in love with the breakfast buffet, which had delicious food and good staff. The lunch there was also super enjoyable. The Italian restaurant was good, and was nice to sit out by the large fountain. The sushi was very good, and the habachi was a enjoyable experience as well. The steakhouse was also a good dinner addition. The Mexican restaurant by far was the best one we experienced. You also couldn’t go wrong enjoying a brick oven pizza by the pool. I also heard lots of stories from people about resorts gojng light on the drinks, or not having good alcohol brands, but the UNICO doesn’t follow suit. All the drinks were upper shelf, and well made. The app also made it super handy for ordering by the pool. The beach was also very nice, people like to complain about the beach, but they try hard to keep it clean. Mother Nature can’t really be controlled, so why blame the resort? Another wonderful thing is the guest hosts. They help make your reservations and confirm what you have scheduled. They truly wanted to make your stay wonderful. Before our trip they also helped secretly plan with my boyfriend a wonderful private dinner on the upper terrace for a surprise proposal which was something out of a movie. They tried to always go above and beyond. Another thing we loved was how happy all the staff was. The UNICO treats their staff well, and in turn the staff treat the guests well. It was a wonderful experience. We stayed on the top floor with a nice ocean view, but next time we hope to get a swimup room. You don’t have that ocean view, but it’s nice having your own little area to relax. Especially after dinner they are lit up unlike the main pool, so you can enjoy a little evening swim after dinner. I also don’t want to forget the maid service. I swear everytime we left our room they knew, and they cleaned it up for us. After dinner it would already be turned down for bed. It was wonderful. Yes there were hiccups here and there, but that can’t ever really be ruled out anywhere. My only complaint is I can’t go back soon enough!! I look forward to hopefully returning March of 2019 for my honeymoon, to the place where my proposal happened. The UNICO will always be a special place in my heart, make it one in yours too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tyler N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We had a fantastic 5 day trip to Unico March 4-8. Rooms are beautiful (ask for a high floor for a better view) and you couldn't ask for a better staff. We usually vacation at Secrets and I would say that Unico was just as good if not a bit better. Food was fantastic and plentiful. The staff was there to fawn on you at every turn. There was one morning they wouldn't even let me carry my breakfast plate to the table. Our server insisted! I don't have specific names but we were equally treated well by all. We did have a snafu with our hats. We took our hats down to be painted by the pool and we were at the end of the list. They ensured us they would leave them with the concierge and we could pick them up there. Apparently they ran out of time and were going to return with our hats the next day however, we had to fly out before they could arrive. Not a big deal but make sure you bring your hats down early. The hotel apologized by sending a bottle of wine to our room, but it wasn't really their fault. This is the perfect place if you want to relax and unwind. Its very quiet and small. Exactly what we wanted. I would love to go back sometime. Perfect for a couple. Groups may want something a bit bigger with more activities. Massages were a great value which is not usually the case on vacation. I also had a hot stone pedicure and I highly recommend it. Wasn't part of the inclusions but at $80 for 90 minutes I thought it was great!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel '
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

For this holiday we just wanted to escape the grey and cold weather of England and enjoy a stress-free beach and sun break. We normally don't go for all-inclusive resorts: we tend to choose small and intimate hotels (100 rooms max.) But we wanted to make things easy this time and our main requirements were: a large sandy beach; a good room with a great bed with sea nearby to hear the soothing sound of the waves; good food and wine; an adult-only, non-cliquey resort to spend quality time.
So did it reach our expectations? Yes and no.

The positives:
- Our Ocean Front room was beautiful. It was on the second floor (3rd for the USA), it didn't have a panoramic ocean view though it had gorgeous views of the garden and ocean and it was very private and quiet – as we requested. The bedroom itself was spacious, bright and airy with a large very comfy bed, a gorgeous terrace featuring a two-person Jacuzzi, a 55-inch TV (very useful on a few occasions with a few heavy downpours and the first thunderstorm of the season!) featuring good US channels (though no British or French ones) and a great bathroom with everything you could expect from a five-star hotel.
There was only one negative point about the room: the nespresso machine. If like us you drink lots of coffee and tea, there is no kettle and the nespresso machine didn't work well. We called reception twice about it and it was changed once, but then stopped working again. We didn't call reception again as it was painful more than anything else. My advice: you may want to consider taking your own kettle, tea bags and Nescafe. They can provide fresh milk!
- The staff from the bellboy to the pool manager was lovely, smiley and always very helpful. The service was unobtrusive, genuine and friendly. Very impressed.
- The food was consistently of a very good standard. We were surprised on just how good it was considering it is an all-Inclusive resort. The Mexican restaurant was a standout and was almost on par with Michelin-star level cuisine. The food at the Italian and Steak House restaurants were also very good with a great variety and good execution. My partner is a vegetarian and they did cater very well for his needs in the three restaurants we visited. The service across all the restaurants was excellent. Our only niggle would be the wine choice. There were only two choices of red wines and one choice of white wine. The wines were fine but nothing more. If you wanted to drink other wines, you had to pay. It was a bit of a shame considering it is an all-inclusive resort. A few more wine choices in the All-Inclusive package would have been appreciated.
Room service for dinner was good as well. We used this facility on our day of arrival and we were impressed with how quickly the food was delivered and how good it was.

Negatives:
- The beach: we were unlucky and there was Sargasso Seaweed infestation for most of our 8-day holiday. It was bad with a thick band of smelly seaweed down the entire length of the beach. The neighbouring hotels seem well resourced and proactive in dealing with the issue by removing it. UNICO had only one poor guy on a beach-racker, which evidently wasn’t sufficient. It did stop from going swimming in the ocean on occasion, which was a little disappointing. On our last day, the beach was lovely again and we could see how great it is when there are no seaweed around. We knew this problem might happen and we took the risk. So bear that in mind before booking a break anywhere on the Rivera Maya (It is not specific to the UNICO resort).
- We didn’t think the facilities of the hotel were enough for near-capacity. The quiet pool was nice but too small plus as there is a pool bar, it was frequently invaded from early afternoon by loud drinkers. Furthermore, people were reserving their seats from very early in the morning and didn’t turn up until hours later. We are early risers and most of the time we were at the pool by 9am. The pool was empty but there were almost no loungers free. The two other pools were in the middle of the resort and they were loud by comparison (and not what we wanted).
Another small point, we felt the bar and some of the restaurants lacked a bit of atmosphere because the lighting was a little too bright in the evening; this could easily be rectified by turning-down the lighting a notch.
- Same observations as some other reviews: there were group conventions which impacted the availability of restaurants for most of the evening; we were told part of a restaurant (the Italian) was not available due to a convention. Again getting a table between 7.30pm and 9pm was impossible for us. We adopted the strategy of just turning-up at our restaurant of choice for the evening after 9pm and just asking for a table. They were all very accommodating and always managed to find us a table.
Conclusion: it did the job. We had a relaxing time, it’s a good solid five-star but there is room for improvement; it’s possibly not for everyone. We’d definitely consider going back.

Stayed: March 2018
3  Thank Jeanneey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews