We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8 278)
Filter reviews
8 278 results
Traveller rating
5 846
1 705
503
125
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5 846
1 705
503
125
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other hotels alux restaurant cenote snack bar penthouse suite lobby bar a la carte restaurants private beach rooftop jacuzzi full length mirror gala night don pablo sushi bar an adults only resort trolley ride dinner reservations never waited more than minutes butler service
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 8 278 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We've stayed at a lot of all inclusive hotels and this was my favorite- we celebrated our 10 year anniversary on this trip and were not disappointed. The hotel is part of a larger complex that you can visit (the trolleys arrive every 10-5 minutes to take you around the other locations) but only guests are allowed at this location. Very beautiful, quiet, plenty of pools, food, restaurants. The beach is about a 10 minute trolley ride- very nice beach. Not really even an inconvenience to get there. Food is great. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank wisctravfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest:

On behalf of the staff and management of the Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort, we would like to thank you for letting us know that we have exceeded your expectations.

At the Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts we take pride in offering our guests comfortable accommodations and the very best in food and beverages.

We consider it to be a great honor to have had the opportunity to have served you and the fact that you endorsed our property highly, is very motivating our managers and staff to keep on going the extra mile.

To provide a better experience, do not hesitate to contact us at info.siankaan@bahia-principe.com, to provide the best service possible for your future stay.

We hope that you will not hesitate in returning in the near future and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
Lucero Alvarado
Luxury Bahia Principe Siankaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Well our third trip to this resort was just so so. The food continues to be excellent but the service brought this review down to average. The cost you pay to stay should make this a five star, but I have become disappointed with this resort. After being there twice before we went with my sister and her husband hoping that the resort would be more like our second visit than the first which was below average and the second was great.

The service was terrible this time both in the room and, bar area, pool, and breakfast and lunch restaurants. It seem that the only way to get any service is to over tip the servers. You had to hope you could at least get one cup of coffee or one drink during your meal without chasing down your server for more. In fairness to the servers it seem like there were less of them, but I don’t know that for sure. Getting your room clean before 3 in the afternoon was almost never done. I was fine with the service in the restaurants other than they were always in a rush to turn over the table.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank fitterjim100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest,

The whole Grand Bahia Principe Resort family is grateful that you have taken the time to describe your experience.

We are very concerned to learn about your disappointing experience and are sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations. We have already taken action in order to meet our values again.

Please be assured that we have addressed your letter to every manager in order to take measures as we always strive for excellence in service. We will do our outmost and work to improve your next experience with us, if you can give us another change to restore the confidence in our chain by writing us a mail at info.siankaan@bahia-principe.com of your requests and wishes a few weeks before arrival and it will be our pleasure to help you in the best possible way.

We appreciate the time in leaving us your comments.

Kind regards,
Lucero Alvarado
Luxury Bahia Principe Siankaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Was a little disappointed with our a la carte bookings. We sent an email about 3 weeks ahead of time asking for an entertainment schedule so that we could pick and choose the shows we wanted to see and then book an a la carte at the same resort as the show we planned on going to, but instead we simply received early reservations at the restaurants we wanted, but not necessarily on the nights we wanted. No reference to an entertainment schedule was ever provided or even acknowledged. When we arrived at the resort, rather than changing all of our bookings, we decided to simply try to work with what we had been given. Luckily, it worked out ok, although if we did it again, we would not book 5:30 meal times, 7:00 would have been much better and still allowed us enough time to get to the shows we wanted.
All of our complaints were very minor. The towels were like sandpaper and the water pressure was weak at best, but pretty much everything else was good to great.
The food and activity choices are 2nd to none. Since you have access to all 4 resorts, if you can't find something enjoyable to do here, then I think you are impossible to please. The entertainment staff goes out of their way to get people involved and ensure everyone has a great time and there are enough restaurants to choose from that you could almost eat at a different establishment at every meal. The only disappointment for us was the lack of steamed crab legs. We absolutely love crab, but it has to be hot. We found cold king crab at the Akumal buffet and cold stone crab at the Gala buffet, but cold crab is just not the same to us. I thought we might get lobster at the Gala buffet as well, but no such luck. After all the hype, the Gala buffet was a bit of a letdown, but still decent.
We tried a different a la carte every night, all were great, the only meals we were disappointed in were both at the Gran-Tortuga (the lunch buffet and to a lesser extent, the a la carte).
We stayed in the penthouse suite and found the jacuzzi to be awesome, but the rest of the room was nothing special, although it didn't really matter to us, since we spent very little time there anyway.
Everything else about our stay was fantastic. The trolley system works well and we never ran out of things to do and enjoy. The hardest part is trying to make it to everything you'd like to do before your week is over!
We even took a collectivo (cost us 60 pesos each roundtrip and far cheaper than a 300 peso taxi one way) up to Akumal Beach one day and walked to Yal Ku Lagoon (didn't seem far to us at all). Tons of fish in the lagoon, and we tried to find turtles at Akumal Beach, but didn't have any luck. Although we did talk to people who had spotted them earlier in the day, likely before the crowds forced them out to deeper waters.
Our favourite day was when we did "Trainer for the Day" at the Tulum Dolphinaris. We managed to book it online for 1/2 price, ie. $79 US each and got to spend the entire day with the dolphins, where as others spent close to that to merely spend an hour or so with them. Mind you, we did get rather sunburned since you can't wear sunscreen and they tell you no hats either, although we found out you can wear a hat, you just have to take it off while you're in the pool.
All in all, we had a great week, which went by far too quickly, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sian Ka'an as the place to stay for adults. If you wanna party, you can find it at one of the other 3 resorts, but if you want peace and quiet, you come back to Sian Ka'an. You literally have access to everything you need to satisfy whatever mood you happen to be in.

Room Tip: Recommend the penthouse suites, worth the additional cost if you'd like to unwind in the jacuzzi at the end of the day.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank REMcIntyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 April 2018

Dear TripAdvisor Member:

On behalf of all the hotel staff; thank you for your informative review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful vacation with us.

At the Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort we take pride in offering our guests good accommodations and the very best in food and beverages.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

To provide a better experience, do not hesitate to contact us at info.siankaan@bahia-principe.com, to provide the best service possible for your future stay.

Best Regards,
Lucero Alvarado
Luxury Bahia Principe Siankaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This was our third time back here.
We love this resort because of the amazing staff, but due to some changes we will not return.
The major change? Premium liquors that used to be included are no longer included. For example, grey goose is now $5 UsD as well as the anejo 1800 and Grand Marnier etc.

Another problem, making dinner reservations. They were booked up as soon as we arrived. The restaurants weren't even 50 percent full. Very strange and frustrating. You shouldn't need reservations at a 5 star period.

The last problem, the seaweed on the beach was out of control. They do their best to manage it but nothing helps. Piles of seaweed on the beach is not what you want to see. Unfortunate really.

Other than that, there were many positives.
The staff was incredible. Carlos the bartender was great and Paola the butler was amazing.
Also, Maria the lobby cocktail waitress was so friendly! I hope this hotel knows how wonderful their staff truly is.
Another positive, the buffet food is delicious. So many options. Please keep your smoothies cold though, they were all warm this year.
Also, the live music at breakfast is beautiful! We loved that touch.

One last tip for travelers : If you stay here, upgrade your room. It is worth the extra money.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
7  Thank cinnachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for contacting Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort and sharing your impression with us.

The management and staff extend our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience which you may have experienced as a result of the situations you have brought to our attention. You can however rest assured that we will be giving these matters the proper attention to apply immediately corrective measures to avoid the reoccurrence of such in the future. Your comments are very important to maintain the quality and service in the Luxury Bahia Principe Siankaan.
We will very glad if you give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future to restore the confidence in our chain by writing us a mail at info.siankaan@bahia-principe.com. of your requests and wishes a few weeks before arrival and it will be our pleasure to help you in the best possible way.

Best Regards,
Lucero Alvarado
Luxury Bahia Principe Siankaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This place is a dream, it is hard to tell in words how beautiful is this place, the rooms, restaurant, lobby, beach, everything. We of course visited the other hotels, too (Tulum, Coba, Akumal) but we found thar Sian Kaan is much better, it is like a secret quiet place, relaxing. Although after a few days it may be boring to go with the sutthle to the other hotels and the beach, once we waited almost half an hour to get back to Sian Kaan - but this is really such a tiny problem. I cannot wait to go back to this paradise. Special thanks to the employees working there, they are all fabulous and very kind.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sophie0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 April 2018

Dear TripAdvisor Member:

Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort thanks you for providing us and other trip advisor users with your kind feedback and recommendations. It is nice to know that our guests take their time to express their impressions.

We take pride in offering our guests comfortable accommodations and the very best in food and beverages.

We are glad to know that after all your stay was a great experience and that you had enjoyed your selves at Luxury Bahia Principe Siankaan.

To provide a better experience, do not hesitate to contact us at info.siankaan@bahia-principe.com, to provide the best service possible for your future stay.

Kind regards,
Lucero Alvarado
Luxury Bahia Principe Siankaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews