We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$516
Stregis.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
W Punta de Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$374
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Meson de Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$535
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Punta de Mita Luxury Residences(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$369
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$190
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa De Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$887
US$808
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imanta Resort(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$987
US$958
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3 501)
Filter reviews
3 501 results
Traveller rating
2 263
892
235
66
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 263
892
235
66
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific expressstar friendsfrench restaurantocean frontcigar barel nopalswim up barspecialty restaurantskids clubbike tourentertainment staffgolf coursechairs and umbrellasother resortspool gamesturn down serviceall inclusive resort
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 3 501 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Iberostar Playa Mita is a great location if you love walking the beach and exploring off the resort by bus or taking a tour into Sayulita ,about a 30 minute drive from the resort -very quaint Bohemian /Surf town... we stayed at Iberostar for 12 days and could have stayed longer.. at the time there were many Mexican families which we really enjoyed the mixture of cultures ...it is their country, all very nice people..we took the local buses into La Cruz and to Bucerias with no problems,,Bucerias has a lot of Canadians that spend the winter there ,we would also ,it is very pretty ,with lots of restaurants,flea markets, galleries and more...berostar had a fantastic 24 hr coffee shop, what a great idea...My favourite a la carte was the Mexican restaurant and the buffet, Steakhouse was also very good...all the staff were wonderful...

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank tina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for expressing your heartfelt opinion about your recent vacations at Iberostar Playa Mita, located in the beautiful Riviera Nayarit.

We are glad we were able to contribute to an unforgettable experience through our attentive staff services, high quality of our food and drinks and our beautiful views and beach.

We hope it does not take long for you to visit us again.

Receive warm greetings,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed for one week at Iberostar.

Liked: Beautiful, large, and clean. Isolated from the congestion of Puerto Vallarta.
Food in Japanese and French restaurants was good. Large pool and very good employees throughout the resort. Nice shows and theater, good coffee shop open 24 hours. Staff's ability to resolve problems such as uncomfortable beds by adding cushions on top of mattresses. Room was clean with great air conditioning. Partial ocean view room was better than ocean front room in our opinion because of the room condition.

Disliked: Buffet food was hit or miss. The guacamole, salsa, chips are very good but many of the main foods are just OK. Meat at the steak restaurant was disappointing. The dishes in the clean plate holder often had food particles on them-see photo. They need to do a better job scraping off food before running them through their washing process. This was not isolated but more frequent than acceptable. Too much smoking, especially near pool. Some people with legs in pool were smoking. Men's bathroom near pool bar was desolate. Beds were very small and uncomfortable.

Conclusion: A good overall value considering the price paid. Beach was nice and very sandy. Water was fairly clear. Beach vendors were not too aggressive. Staff was very responsive, special thanks to Imelda in housekeeping. Also, thanks to Lluvia in the steak restaurant for her sincere greetings and smiles. If you want a nice clean resort away from the city and don't mind kids and other minor issues I cited, you can get a good value at this beautiful place. Resort was peaceful, very little evening noise considering the amount of people here.

Room Tip: Partial ocean front on third or four level is a good choice
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALITD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We want to thank you for staying at Iberostar Playa Mita.

It is gratifying to know that our beautiful facilities, privileged location, a la carte restaurants, and nightly shows were of your liking.

Furthermore, we would like to thank you for your observations regarding our washing dishes process, you can be sure that we will forward your comments to our Food and Beverage department and to our Management in order to look for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Playa Mita for a second time with my family. We has Star Prestige service which was amazing. On the Star Prestige deck overlooking the ocean we were taken care of by Daniel and Rommel. Daniel made all my reservations and spa appointments. He would set up our loungers perfectly! Rommel made sure we had drinks and snacks. He introduced us to some crazy cocktails. He even made friendship bracelets for my kids and their cousins. The level of service and attention is amazing. Guadalupe, Gael and others behind the bar were awesome. In the Buffet David took great care of us. The sommolier Roguelio was the best. He appeared every night at my dinner reservation with my special bottle of wine. The food was excellent! My favorites being the Pacific Express and the Japanese Tsuba. Cannot wait to be back!

Room Tip: Note that the Ocean view may just be the highest floors of the pool facing building.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for giving Iberostar Playa Mita the opportunity to be your host on your second visit to Playa Mita.

We are happy to read that the special benefits of our Star Prestige package exceeded your expectations and you experienced only great service from all our team. Moreover, we are glad to hear that our tasty gastronomic offer and wine selection were of your liking.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future to keep pampering you as you deserve.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently visited this resort. There was a total of 25 of us from the US. I will say that the resort is nice but the food is not good at all. We were there for a total of 5 days with the hope that the food would get better but it didn't. Although we were able to find things to eat, it was not "good" food, it was filling food. Another issue that we faced was when we arrived, we were not able to make reservations to the restaurants on the property. We were told that every restaurant was booked for all of the evenings that we were going to be there. This was very disappointing since we were told that we had to wait until we arrived to make reservations to the restaurants. They would not allow us to make the reservations beforehand.
Also, while we were there, one of my friends was a victim of theft. One of the cleaning crew members stole her daughter's purse out of the room and took her cash money then threw the empty purse on the rooftop of one of the cafe restaurants. The resort would not admit that the housekeeping crew member stole the purse, but they reimbursed her the cash that was stolen and asked her to sign a non-disclosure document saying that she would not share her experience with social media. Well, I think that people should be aware of this prior to arrival so that they can make sure that they lock up their valuables in the safe and not be victimized like she was.

Also, the flies on the property this time of year are horrible. They invade the buffets and land on the open food. Yuck!

Positive things about the resort. Please work with Felipe for all of your travel needs. He was awesome. Also, ask the resort about the ATV option. It was a highlight of our trip. We all were able to go on the ATV's and see Mexico from a different lens.
The rooms are nice and the turn down service is great. They keep your refrigerator stocked with soda, beer and water. That was a nice touch.

I hope my review was helpful to someone..I wish someone has shared some of these things with me before I booked my trip.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire team of Iberostar Playa Mita, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are glad to know our beautiful resort and the comfort of your room were of your liking. However, we are truly disappointed to know we did not exceed your expectations in some aspects of your stay. We assure you our Executive Chef strives to please our guests by innovating and creating new recipes, we regret our gastronomic offer did not fulfill your expectations, we will forward your comments to our Food & Beverage Management for their review with the intention of improving our service.

Regarding dinner reservations, we would like to suggest you to contact our Public Relations department prior your arrival, they will be more than glad to assist you.

On the other hand, we assure that for Iberostar Hotels & Resorts the wellbeing and safety of our guests’ is our priority and we strive by all means to make our guests feel at home, between family and above all, feel pleased with our service. We regret you went home with a different perception of our staff and our values. We offer you a sincere apology for this unfortunate mishap.

We hope that we will once again have the distinct honor of serving you at our resort so that we can prove to you our commitment to exceptional customer service.

Friendly regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Like ~ wow. Prepare to be wowed at Iberostar. It was so hard to leave at the end of the week... an incredible all-inclusive atmosphere... fantastic and diverse foods... breakfast for royalty ... lots of different restaurants ... burgers on the beach.. and all the margaritas you can drink ~ spiked just right so you can make it through the day in their huge pool. Great night shows ... lots of fun competitions throughout the day... kid friendly... and some of the most well-behaved kids we've been around on vacation~ and there are so many fun things to do near Iberostar... from RZR UTV in the jungle near Salulita to snorkling in Banderas Bay to hanging out at Majahuita's cove ~ the entire staff at Iberostar was just fantastic ~ always friendly ~ always smiling ~ always there to support you in any way they could regardless of the time of day. After 20 years of spending big bucks for VRBOs and AirB&Bs in the US, there's simply no comparison to Iberostar's cost and quality, cleanliness, accommodations, friendliness, access to dozens of cool opportunities, and access to Mexico's quaint towns and beautiful culture.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PapaK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire team of Iberostar Playa Mita, we want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community.

We are delighted to know that our wide and tasty gastronomic offer, cocktails, nightly shows, and array of entertainment activities were of your liking. Moreover, we are glad to hear that you had the opportunity to visit the surroundings.

It will be a pleasure to host you once again at any of our Iberostar Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews