We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A delightful place to kick back among the Tulip...”
other travellers have booked this property
Outdoor living at it's best!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor living at it's best!
The front porch is just the place to relax and watch the world go by. Ideal for casual or formal dining - your choice!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Outdoor living at it's best!
The front porch is just the place to relax and watch the world go by.
Ideal for casual or formal dining - your choice!
Elegant al fresco dining.
Study with WIFI so that you can keep in touch with family and friends.
The perfect place to curl up with a book in front of the fire.
Casual comfort is yours in this shady garden spot.
Pass-through with bar for quick snacks, or a chat with the cook!
Equipped to please a gourmet chef,  or  a casual cook - whatever your style.
Eating outdoors is a joy at this well equipped kitchen with a built-in grill.
Hacienda style doors and a mural mark the entrance to the luxury Master suite.
The King sized bed with hand carved headboard provides a  tranquil sancturary at the end of the day.
King sized bed (can be twins), His and Hers en suites, and private patio make this a dream room.
Part of His 3 piece en suite Bathroom with rain head shower and towel warmer.
The elegant sink in the Hers en suite.
The 3 piece Hers en suite includes a spa style bath.
A private sancturary to enjoy an early morning coffee or a glass of wine.
Sunny and bright with two double beds and a 3 piece en suite bath makeds this room a delight.
WIFI allows computer use at the desk in the second bedroom.
Modern sleekly styled en suite 3 piece bath for bedroom #2.
Colourful, luxury towels as well as toiletaries are provided for this and all other bathrooms.
Third bedroom has king sized bed, en suite bath and private patio.
Privacy and comfort are yours in this beautiful room.
Ultra modern 3 piece bath is designed for comfortable sharing.
Utility Room Washer and Dryer
Front of house from the street
Street outside the house looking west
Street outside the house looking east
Private residents' park dfirectly across the street from the house
Pool in private residents' park behind the house
Rear park residents' tennis court
Rear park playground
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ajijic

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jenga2015...
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A delightful place to kick back among the Tulip trees and do as little as possible”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you're looking for a lazy holiday filled with great food and a delightful sleepy town to explore look no further than Ajijic which is 30 minutes from Guadalajara airport and nestled along Lake Chapala with a picturesque view of the hilly shores opposite. I was delighted when my wife discovered 26 Jacarandas in La Villita on Trip Advisor. We found this property ideal for our 'do as little as possible vacation' which included visiting several friends who live nearby. The design of the house is ideal, starting with the back yard oasis. It is a combination of outdoor kitchen, dining and living, set among a splendid fountain, lush foliage and hovering hummingbirds.

Its owner is an entertaining Canadian lawyer who provided us with a spectacular breakfast every day which she took delight in incorporating local delicacies for us to learn about. The house is neat as a pin and is a treasure trove reflecting her love of art and curios that she's collected over the years. The enclave is quiet and well-looked after and has a little communal park and pool which fortunately for us faced the house and if we did not want to venture there we could just watch from the porch which also had some gorgeous furniture that encouraged much relaxed chatting and lounging around! We decided not to rent a car and that was a good decision as the local taxi service was polite and prompt. It was mere 80-100 pesos cab ride from La Villita (adjacent to La Floresta residential community) on the outskirts of Ajijic proper to the other end of Ajijic. When there's no traffic its no more than 10 minutes to get there.

Talking of the other end of the town, one lovely seafood restaurant, Tabarka, which a favourite of one of our friends who moved to Ajijic nearly 15 years ago, is run by a talented young Spaniard from Alicante who made the best tenderly grilled octopus this side of the Mediterranean and all his other dishes were equally mouth watering. Other interesting spots included Mario's in San Antonio, a real down-home authentic Mexican restaurant for the locals and more enterprising foreigners.

When we first arrived we thought we might be a bit off the beaten track but soon discovered that we were brilliantly placed for a short walk to the local mall that offered everything from a Scotia bank to a multiplex that screens in both Spanish and English, a Wal-Mart, Peter's Panino - a fabulous bread shop to a gourmet food shop, a fresh fish shop, liquor store and on and on.

And then we discovered Adelita, a restaurant that is run by a Toronto musician and his Mexican wife which has recently been renovated. The food was excellent and offers generous versions of all North American favourites, the staff was incredible and though we missed it I was told that the owner programmed local and Canadian musicians twice a week and it's crammed to rafters. One Sunday we got together with some dear friends for brunch and went to San Remy - quite honestly its civilized style and hospitality rivaled a sophisticated brunch in any major city.

The only thing of note is that for better or worse are the cobble stones that are everywhere! So tread carefully. For those who don't deal well with altitude - Ajijic is 5,000 feet above sea level. So take some altitude pills. That's the only warning you'll need because the rest is a joy, the food, the people, the outdoor markets and of course our little home-away-from-home at 26 Jacarandas!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming place
Liked least: Ajijic is High Altitude. Cobble stones can be tricky to navigate - so Older People or People with Physical Disabilities might find it tricky.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue S
Cobble Hill, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean and secure house in Ajijic”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this lovely home for a month over the Christmas Holidays, a very busy and noisy time of year in Ajijic. This beautifully renovated house is in a gated park-like community with 24-hour security and is close to all amenities. Three large bedrooms and five bathrooms accommodated 5 adults with room to spare. With a grocery store within walking distance, we made good use of the large dining room and fully equipped kitchen to prepare our own meals and entertain guests. Modern bathrooms, gas fireplaces and other updated features provided comfort and convenience while retaining a distinctive Mexican flavor. We really enjoyed the fabulous outdoor kitchen and took advantage of the many cozy sitting areas for sun and shade alike. While being tucked away from the bustle of the villages, we were only a few minutes' walk to everywhere in Ajijic and San Antonio. This is a house that shows it is truly loved and the owner was keen to ensure all our needs were met for a great holiday. The management company was responsive to the very few issues and questions that arose. Add all that amazing sunshine, and our holiday was very special indeed.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quality of the home and furnishing.
Liked least: bedroom windows without covering, beautiful view very of lovely courtyard
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dan W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 25 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
4
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at this house in Ajijic. We have stayed here before hence a repeat choice of accommodation.
The house is spacious with en-suite facilities. One room has a huge shower, and there is also a large bath-tub available. The beds are very comfortable with very nice linen
The kitchen is modern and functional, there is also a study and guest rest-room. Laundry also.
There are two highly enjoyable outside sitting areas, a wide veranda at the front of the house, and a nice outdoor, more shaded area with fountain and plants at the back which has the bonus of an outdoor cooking area there as well. This is partially covered making it useable in the less usual event of rain.
The house is kept very clean and tidy, and I understand that this is maintained even when unoccupied. It is bright where you need the light, yet plenty of shade when it’s a hot day.
It’s a short walk to a wal-mart where you can find any essentials, and still walking distance from the main part of Ajijic. Plenty of buses available nearby, and a taxi a phone call away
I would have no hesitation recommending this house as either a holiday rental, or for longer-term.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: the front veranda
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat_Hrynu...
Regina, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The house is great, Ajijic not a good vacation spot.”
Reviewed 20 September 2011 for a stay in January 2011
5
people found this review helpful

The house is very nice including the grounds and outdoor area with pond. Good beds,large bedrooms & bathrooms. Good kitchen and lounge area at the front.Well maintained inside & outside. We stayed there in January and central heating would have been niceas it was quite cool. It is definitely not wheelchair friendly as there is a step up or down at the entrance to many areas. The local property manager(Veronica) was very friendly & helpful... We rented the car and there was some confusion about the price. You should get price and other requirements (shampoo the engine!?) in writing before going. The trip from Puerto Vallerta to Ajijic by bus was an adventure. I didn’t think it was possible to have worse seats than Air Transat, but I was wrong! The bus seats were very uncomfortable and the driver thought nothing of turning right from the left hand lane and habitually ignored traffic lights. In the unlikely event I ever go to Ajijic again I will rent a car in Puerto Vallarta and drive myself. I say “unlikely” because, while it may well be a good place to retire to, it is not a good vacation spot, as there is little to see and nothing to do. The “cobblestone” streets are not flattened on top as they are in Europe but are just rounded river rocks laid on the ground with a little mortar between them. Sidewalks are the same – real ankle-breakers! and quite impossible to move a wheelchair on.

In short, this is a very nice house but I cannot imagine ever returning to Ajijic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: Ajijic
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2011
Having had my Mother visit in her late 80s I know what you mean about wheelchair accessibility, but if you had ventured a little further afield, say to Guadalajara you would have found wonderful places to visit. There are, for example, spectacular pedestrian boulevards in Talpacque and Guadalajara with museums, art galleries, entertainers, and shopping.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$2 000
/ Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing