We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
River Mist Inn(Sturgeon Falls)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$68
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Lincoln Motel(Sturgeon Falls)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moonlight Inn And Suites Sudbury(Sudbury)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
245
13
2
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
13
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseach morningcroissantsbreakfast hamperscreened in porchthe cottageswood stovethe rivergranolaget awaythe ownerfull kitchenour honeymooncanadian shieldnext yearpiece of heavenon the rocksbbq dinner
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you get the chance to visit, do it! Stayed here for five days in May 18 for some relaxation and real Canadian scenery in between city breaks and that’s exactly what we got! We did not want to leave……everything is as described on the website (unlike a lot of places!!) the views are incredible, breakfast delivered to the lodge every morning was just perfect and the staff are so helpful. Alex, the Innkeeper, is so generous and welcoming. His knowledge and passion for the area is huge. He took us on a tour of the rapids which were absolutely beautiful, and of course Birkin (the most well behaved dog!!) joined the journey too! We booked an afternoon trip to the ‘island in the sun’ which includes a delicious picnic. Think this was the most relaxed we have ever been! The kayaks were good fun too!! The cottages are spotlessly clean, well furnished with the most amazing views. The other staff members are a real credit to the Lodge too. Really hope to return one day.......thank you to Alex and your colleagues for the most perfect few days

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank nickshires2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

The Lodge at Pine Cove was the ideal place for a honeymoon! The staff were extremely kind and personable, the location was beautiful, and the Island in the Sun was perfectly lovely. We enjoyed the nice hiking trails, amazing food, and two delighful border collies. I'd recommend TLPC to anyone looking for an intimate and beautiful vacation.
(Just make sure you bring plenty of bug spray!)

Room Tip: We stayed in the David Thompson House, and it was quite intimate! That said, the whole place is very tranquil and private.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armilafrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

After a recent stay, we are already thinking about when we can go back! The cabin was clean and comfortable. had a wonderful screened porch with a gorgeous view of the Bay, and the setting was beautiful and quiet. Our phones didn't work well, but we were grateful for the time to unplug and enjoy the surroundings in peace!
We really enjoyed starting each day with our breakfast hamper (which was always on time and somehow just the right temperature too!) We cooked all our other meals and found the kitchen and grill to be well stocked with everything we needed.
We also really enjoyed chatting with the Lodge owner, Alex - he greeted us whenever we ran into one another around the lodge, offering us tips on kayaking and the best trips to take and giving us the history of the lodge and sharing insight into its management and philosophy. Most of all, he seemed genuinely interested in us and our trip there. We truly enjoyed our visit and will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

Beautiful hideaway made very special by the caring staff, with lots of lovely memories. The owner Alex Strachan takes great pride in ensuring his guests leave relaxed and refreshed. Mackenzie is one of the many lovely cottages with a stunning large bathtub overlooking the beautiful cove. Each cottage is remote, private with breakfast delivered to your cottage door each morning. Romantic.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MuseofMarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

I have stayed in the Lodge at Pine Cove twice in the shoulder season for a writing retreat they co-sponsor and have also visited for lunch (and a boat tour) in the height of summer. This is a unique resort experience, combining rustic Canadiana charm with luxury. The beautifully maintained cabins (each named for an early Canadian explorer or painter, including two women) are set into the landscape in such a way that they feel completely isolated (in a good way!), and the views of the main river channel and a secluded bay are all stunning. A highpoint of a morning at Pine Cove is lighting a fire in your wood stove and enjoying a breakfast basket filled with jars and thermoses of homemade granola, fruit salad, cold orange juice and warm croissants. There are great hiking trails, all kinds of kayaks and canoes, guided expeditions on the river, and superb lunches and dinners in the dining hall. One of the nicest places I've ever stayed!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAlward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Owner at The Lodge at Pine Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Hi Laura,

Thanks so much for the lovely comments about LPC.

Re cottages named after women who helped build Canada, there are actually three;
Marie-Anne Gaboury (an incredible woman), Frances Simpson (nee Ramsay) and Frances Anne Hopkins. Look them up and see how they helped Canada become one of the great nations of the earth.

We now have a competition running for anyone to enter. Send us your suggestion for the name of a cottage, a woman, preferably pre-confederation (1867) who helped build Canada. The prize for the winning entry is;
A three night stay in the cottage, inclusive of all meals.

Thank-you Laura, for supporting a business that is truly trying to be sustainable, transparent, pay fair wages to local people and to be "human." We will never commoditize a guest or their stay - we love our guests and the many, many who come back time and again. 19 years and we are dong well, thanks to you and others like you.

All the best,
Alex Strachan and Daniel Viirtela, Innkeepers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews