We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fabulous cabin beautiful location”
#17 The French Girl's Lair / 1BR / Pet Friendly
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
#17 The French Girl's Lair / 1BR / Pet Friendly
Kitchen, living area. Sofa can be open as sofa bed if needed. Cozy gas fireplace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
#17 The French Girl's Lair / 1BR / Pet Friendly
Kitchen, living area. Sofa can be open as sofa bed if needed.
Cozy gas fireplace.
Cozy gas fireplace.
Full fridge and gas cooking stove.
Queen bed in the 1BR
Full bathroom with bath and shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo G
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“fabulous cabin beautiful location”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We wanted to get away from it all and this was the perfect spot. Superb cabin very high tech and modern but with a lovely country feel. Logs left for us to chop and use which was fun. The weather was hot and sunny and lovely lakes nearby to swim in. Local restaurant was great. Sadly we live in the Uk so regular visits out of the question. If we lived nearer would use again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle B
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Like a Home away from Home”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This cottage was Great! It was clean and well stocked with everything a person would need to spend a few days away. Fully equipped kitchen like mine at home, even a few spices in the cupboard. Bring some food to cook and your toothbrush and you're good to go. Good wifi and even a few dvd's to watch if you want. Handsome Dan tried to think of everything here. I was looking for a few days of peace and quiet surrounded by the beauty of nature....Dan delivered. Really easy to book and quick responses to any enquiries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Place was new and very clean and comfortable
Liked least: No cell service up here (maybe a good thing though) Make sure you can email from here (smartphone or tablet) as you need to contact Dan when you arrive or use a pay phone a couple blocks away
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Your happiness means return guest, that is our goal!
Thank you for sharing :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luluja201...
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best way to spend some days in Port Renfrew!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in a cottage in Port Renfrew and we really recommend it. The cottage have everything you will need. And the outdoors fireplace is amazing for relaxing at the end of the day.
There was some dust in our arrival...

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Port Renfrew ... a hidden gem!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in the Port O'Pierre cottage and it was wonderful. An amazing cottage, that when rented with the bunk house, fit my husband and I, as well as my parents and our 3 pre-teen boys. The cottage had everything you could want/need and we didn't lack for anything. We stayed 7 nights, eight days and would have been happy staying forever! The outside was just as nice as the inside, with a deck and a fire pit and more than enough wood for s ‘mores every night! We spent tons of time on the beach at the ocean and even went swimming several times. A beautiful little fresh water lake is Lizard Lake and the boys spent hours there, two days of our trip. We also hiked Avatar Grove and the Botanical Beach loop trail. Everything was just heaven on earth. The locals at Tomi's and Trailhead were amazing and friendly, and Bob Fassl over at the little gift shop spoiled our boys with paintings that they thought were just too cool. We bought fresh caught salmon down at the marina by the Port Renfrew hotel and have never tasted salmon like this!

Just a couple of things we would mention to guests planning a trip to Port Renfrew:
1) Allow yourself ample time if you are traveling from Sooke to Port Renfrew. The road is (obviously) very twisty and slows to 20, or 40km in several places. Being that we have never been, we didn't really think about this, and didn't account for the extra time it would take. We saw two vehicles in the ditch, one with the boat attached completely smashed. The police pulled us over at the second vehicle and reminded us that the road is not for the faint of heart and we need to be very cautious at all times. My husband, who is a great driver, said he was exhausted after it.
2) Our son fell out of the top bunk on our second to last night’s stay. It is high, very, very high. Although I was concerned at first look as there is no railing at all, he has never fallen out of bed so I sort of let it go. But he was pretty banged up when he did fall and would only sleep on the floor the last night. He is a trooper and although he doesn't complain at all, both my husband and I, and my parents agreed he could have been much more seriously hurt. The owners might want to think about installing even a half railing on the top bunk for the little guests who stay at their cottage. Just a thought :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of nature surrounding us was just spectacular and the cozy cottage combined with that was awesome!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Thanks Amanda for sharing your great experience in Port Renfrew. I will be sure to share your comments with Tomi's. Trail head and Bob Fassel.
I will also relay to the owner of Port O' Pierre's cottage the message about putting a half railing on the tops bunk beds.
Thanks
France
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LianeArc
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Blondie's Hideaway- Amazing self-catered holiday rental”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Of all the rental's we've stayed in over the world, this is the only one so far to have decent knives. Everything you could want is there. (coffee press, slow cooker, all pans, baking things etc.) Many basic groceries (coffee, tea, salt, herbs, sugar) there as well. Interesting books, great cd's. Home clean, efficient, but space a little tight for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Pull-out bed had a nice mattress, but would say the only negative is the quilt they have for it was very hot for summer. A few blankets as substitutes would be perfect. Photos are accurate, outside space is wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
Hi Leanne, I just received your review that you posted on FlipKey/Trip Advisor. Many thanks for your time, it is grandly appreciated. I relayed the info to the owner of "Blondie's Hideaway" cottage and she was very pleased. You made her day :)
Thank you
France
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing