We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$46
View deal
Booking.com
US$55
View deal
Agoda.com
US$55
US$39
View deal
SAVE US$16
PricelineUS$55
StayForLongUS$51
eDreamsUS$55
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
10
20
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
10
20
6
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here last week with my husband. We were in Varna for a wedding. My first impression on arrival was how unfriendly the lady was at reception. The room was clean a bit out dated and chintzy. The hotel was bed and breakfast. When we arrived next morning in the dining room there was no welcome or staff explaining where you can sit. The breakfast was pretty dire cold eggs, sausages cut up for you! You made your own toast. A meagre bowl if fruit and muesli that could only be described like saw dust. The breakfast staff not friendly either. If you said "Good morning" there was no reply. Mostly Russians staying at the hotel and they were just down right rude. The pool area looked nice we didn't use the facility as we had family staying in nearby apartments and we used their pool. To be fair it wasn't just the hotel staff, in general the Bulgarian people seemed quite miserable. Would not be in a rush to visit Varna and would definitely not go back to the Kristel. Would say Bulgaria about 30 years behind Spain!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 785lynnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Check in was fine. The room was clean and tidy with a decent bathroom complete with toiletries. Shower only but that was fine for our needs. Small balcony with room for only one chair. Very intimately shared with neighbours who unfortunately chain smoked.
First day there was no water till evening time so could not shower our use the loo. Seems a fairly common hazard in the area.
Free breakfast was poor with cold fried egg and cold German sausage. Coffee machine was ok if you were happy with half a cup. Service was very poor with staff being very dour and miserable.
Went to bar once in the evening. Reception guy had to serve us as no one else around. Struggled to make us two nescafes which tasted dreadful and coffee us 6.50 levs!
Area a little rough with poor restaurants in the area but a couple of bars about 15 minutes away close to the beach which was beautiful.
Generally seemed about 30 years behind western European standard and would not return to this area

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike1957_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Lovely small hotel. Loved almost everything. Small downside was that the pool is shared with neighboring apartment house and was sometimes hard to get a sunning bed. Breakfast was also not so great. Everything else was excellent.
Black Sea beach is around 600-700 meters from the hotel beside a great place to eat (The Beach).
Would recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Quiet hotel with excellent service.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Priit Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Nice, Hotel, clean and not too busy however, it was March when I stayed. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The food was always freshly cooked. I would definitely stay here again. My trip was incorporated with dental treatment in Bulgaria. I'm going back in September for further treatment. I will be staying at this Hotel again, that's for sure.

Room tip: balcony's are too close to your adjoining neighbour - a little intrusive
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dilly2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Moved here when I had decided other accomodation was not for me. Friendly and accomodating staff. Good food in the restaurant, freshly cooked. Obviously the resort is very quiet during the early part of the year. Room is large and spacious with comfortable beds. Free WiFi is good, so streaming not a problem. No tea and coffee making facilities in room though. All in all, highly recommend!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews