We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
93
48
24
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
48
24
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar diner restaurant attached to the hotel only thing i can fault small balconies flamingo hotel minutes walk from the main small hotel pool area is small weeks break the main strip mini bar short cut cheap as chips toilet roll half board basis last minute deal walk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We have just returned from a weeks stay at Hotel Lira Bulgaria. (June 2018). To be honest Bulgaria was not on my " places to visit " list and we wanted to book a last minute deal with Tui and this hotel was available at a really good price so off to Bulgaria we went.

I read the reviews prior to booking and they were a mixed bag but overall most people seemed pleased and I have to say it was better than I expected. The hotel is fairly small and has that family run feel about it which is what I prefer. It's a 10 minute walk to the beach ( if that ) so the location is lovely and quiet. It's around a 15 minute walk to the main strip, flower street. The bus stop is a few minutes away, where you can get to Nessebar for 1.30 lev. Nessebar is well worth a visit with its cobbled streets.
The rooms are on the basic side but were clean. The room had a small fridge which had drinks in should you wish to purchase them. There isn't much room to put your own items in it and it does state that items will be removed if you use it but we had water in there and it wasn't taken out. Rooms are cleaned daily, towels changed every 3 days and bedding once a week. The shower was wet room style, it was powerful and we always had hot water day and night. The room had aircon which was free and worked fantastically. Wifi is free and available in the reception area I believe but I didn't use it as my network is free internet whilst abroad anyway.

Breakfast had the usual choices, in my opinion it wasn't the best but bearing in mind you pay 5 lev per person which is around £2.50 you can't complain as a coffee costs that much in England.
The hotel has its own restaurant and the food was fantastic and so cheap. We ate our evening meal there every night and we never had a meal disappoint us. Three course meal for two with drinks was approximately £12.00. You must eat there if you go to Sunny Beach, try their dish called Sach it was lovely, also their Shashlick, infact all the food was lovely so try it all. The restaurant was always busy as people staying in other hotels came to eat there so that says it all really. A pint of their local beer is 1 lev (49p) and Stella Artois was 2 lev. Amazing prices! The staff were also fantastic, both in the restaurant and in the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble, they were always polite and friendly and they really help make the hotel a lovely place to stay.

We rarely re-visit places as there are so many other places to see, but I will make an exception in this case as we enjoyed our stay so much that we will return to see more of Bulgaria and Hotel Lira will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lainey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

First trip to Bulgaria didn't know what to expect but what a little gem of a hotel we found. The staff from the staff were all amazing nothing was too much trouble .The position of the hotel couldn't be better 10/15 minute walk to the beach and about 5 mins to the bus stops that took you to Nezabar etc for under 2levs!!! The hotel restaurant serves the best food and is always buzzing with people desparate to get a table. We eat at other restaurants but the Lira beat them all for quality and excellent standard of service.Elena on reception and the young lad who
worked with her were extremely helpful and always had a lovely smile as did the young girl who also helped. We will be going back!

Stayed: June 2018
2  Thank GeoffnGinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

much better hotel after refurb, good shower red hot water.breakfast much improved, decent selection
,rooms nice & clean. towels changed daily except cleaners day off,lovely l
ady cleaner on 3rd floor, bar in hotel cheapest in sunny beach 50p pint local beer. 15 minute walk to flower street. two minus points some plates & bowls in dining room badly chipped,& hotel advertised late check out for 15 lev,s yet charged 10 lev,s per hour. for the extra time, needs sorting out quickly.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was nice & quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Hotel Lira is about 15 minutes walk from the main strip, a lovely quiet location and a short walk to the excitement of the beach. This is a nice friendly and clean hotel, all the staff are lovely especially Stiliana who was on reception, nothing was too much trouble for her, she was always smiling. All of the staff were lovely from the waiting staff in the restaurant to the cleaning staff especially the lovely Maria. At first we were surprised to see there was no kitchen facilities, we went bed and breakfast but sometimes like to sit on the balcony at lunch time and have a snack. This was rectified because we bought two cheap plastic plates. There was a small fridge in the room but only for drinks which are replenished daily, so no where to store anything else. The restaurant attached to the hotel was fantastic and people came from all the other hotels to our hotel to eat, the food was very reasonably priced and very good. The air conditioning was free as was the TV, we were on the side of the hotel, not much of a view and only got sun from about 3.30 to 7.p.m. in part of the balcony. There is a small quiet pool area and also a very welcome lift. There is free wi fi in the reception area but we managed to pick up wi fi on the balcony from a neighbouring hotel. I loved Sunny Beach and I loved this hotel, I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: rooms looking onto the pool have more sun but rooms on the side are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank seajoy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

This place is clean tidy spacious, air con works amazing, bathrooms are amazing with a powerful shower, restraunt next door is so cheap with amazing food also, staff are very friendly and helpful we have been here a few days now stopping in 106 so already decided we will be back in September to this hotel it's a 5 min walk to beach front probably 10 - 15 to the centre of the beach front !

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Karl986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews