We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel & Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel beautifully furnished & reasonably priced. Experienced incomplete turndown service leaving my wife and myself with limited towels and face cloths. Front desk corrected issue promptly after I called.
Breakfast in restaurant was very good, especially chicken & waffles. Wait service was excellent but hostess was not very helpful as she denied us requested table although no one came to be seated there.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre W, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Cardinal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Jim C. Thank you for the amazing review. We would like to apologize for the issues you experienced regarding turn down service and at the restaurant. We have alerted the proper departments and are working to make sure these are not repeat issues.

The chicken and waffles at the restaurant is one of our favorite dishes as well. We will make sure to have a plate waiting for you the next time you come back.

Cheers,

Andre W.
Front Office Supervisor
The Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
51 East Fourth Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

They need to keep the halls clean of dishes. We stayed 3 days and there were always dishes that needed to be picked up.. the bedding was very nice....the shower is the biggest shower I have ever seen, with two separate showers. Amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre W, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Cardinal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the review Judy D.

We are in love with the showers here as well. You said it best, they are 'Amazing'. We have alerted the proper department regarding the dishes and passed on the information you have given us. Can't wait to see you on your next visit.

Cheers,

Andre W.
Front Office Supervisor
The Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
51 East Fourth Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel has the fabulous Art Deco feel of the old RJReynolds Building, but with a Euro feel. The room was quiet except for the occasional train whistles from the tracks nearby, but overall very nice room. The basement is a wonderful indoor playground complete with bowling alley. There are also bikes to borrow to cruise downtown. Valley parking is available for about $20, but if you want to walk a half block, there are several decks that can save some money. Dinner at the Katherine was exceptional. Outstanding food and service. It's a bit loud in the restaurant, but to annoyingly so. If you travel with pets, they are very accommodating.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AmyJoKnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCHFO, Manager at Kimpton Cardinal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Great review AmyJoKnows!

So you enjoyed our Great Gatsby vibe? Happy you had time to enjoy our rec space. Did you go down the slide? It's kind of mandatory. We can't wait to see you on your next visit.

Cheers,

Andre W.
Front Office Supervisor
The Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
51 East Fourth Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27105

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Booked a Delux King. Seems to be the starting point of the room class.
No bath just a shower
No tea or coffee making facilities. If you ask they will be delivered to the room... a little strange perhaps.
Staff friendly and generally polite.
The room we felt could have been cleaner and was not quite furnished with all the things one should expect for this price point. Cups/ glasses that kind of thing, enough shelves, clean drawers etc.
Valet parking was efficient, although bearing in mind we were there for 5 nights would have been nice not to have been asked every time we took the car out whether or not we were checking out! They had our room number so should have known when we were leaving.
Would have dined in Catherine the restaurant, but after having had breakfast there felt the bench seats were too low and difficult to attain the right height to eat from the table comfortably... did someone make a boo boo ?
Also the bar airco was so efficient (cold) you needed a jumper to enjoy an aperitif! The place has a good vibe and tries hard to be a great hotel, yet on balance seems to lack a little direction/ management.
Something's missing.
Will be visiting Winston Salem again shortly.
Would still be on the list for consideration.


Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Wales107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCHFO, Manager at Kimpton Cardinal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for the review Wales107.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the staff during your time with us. We will definitely take note of the issues with the room, valet and The Katharine and make sure the appropriate departments get to hear this information. Hopefully on your next visit to Winston-Salem we will be able make it up to you.

Cheers,

Andre W.
Front Office Supervisor
The Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
51 East Fourth Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27105

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night along with our two dogs at the Cardinal in Winston Salem as the last stop-over on a one week doggie road trip. We loved everything about this hotel. It is an adaptive re-use of the RJ Reynolds office building so it has classic bones and a vintage Art Deco style. We were in a one bedroom suite with plenty of space and a wonderfully appointed spa bath. The icing on the cake was the incredible amenities located on the basement level. Bowling alley, basketball court and every table game imaginable. Way cool. The service of course was excellent and the hotel restaurant was terrific as well. We had all of our meals there which normally never happens with us. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CASE-JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCHFO, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Cardinal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review CASE-JC!

We are so happy to hear you and the pups enjoyed your stay with us. We sure do love our four legged furry friends!

Hope to see you again soon,
Amanda D.
Front Office Supervisor

The Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
51 E. Fourth Street, Winston-Salem, NC 27101

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
4.2 km away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
598 reviews
0.9 km away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#3 of 38 in Winston Salem
658 reviews
10.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
0.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
0.3 km away
Winston-Salem Marriott
Winston-Salem Marriott
#17 of 38 in Winston Salem
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Cardinal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Cardinal Hotel

Address: 51 East 4th St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-3804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range: R2 219 - R4 719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4,5 star — Kimpton Cardinal Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel, this historic landmark welcomes you with modern flair. Our lushly designed living room beckons with social seating areas and Sweet Tea Hour. Savor locally sourced dishes at The Katharine, our own American brasserie. Swanky ballrooms and gathering spaces host memorable meetings, events and weddings. All in a glamorous ambience of Art Deco flourishes, metallic finishes and cardinal-red details in unexpected places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Kimpton Cardinal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing