We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My only WS hotel!!”
Review of Brookstown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brookstown Inn
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

I love this Inn! It is the only place I stay in Winston! The rooms are each unique and quaint. The staff is so helpful! I walk across the street to Willow's for an amazing dinner and always enjoy a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: Select a 2 story room for sure!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSU_Michele1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

I have admired these restored historic mill buildings in Winston-Salem for some time and recently had an opportunity to stay at the Brookstown Inn. If you are used to a flashy hotel entrance, you may miss it because it's nestled into the midst of other activities in the complex and there is no large sign "Hotel" on the street, but there is ample reserved parking in the lot and access to the Inn under a clearly-marked attractive canopy. Staff are very helpful in all the usual ways, and went out of their way twice to show me where recommended restaurants were located (including going outside to point out landmarks). The room and the bathroom were large and very comfortable. Because this is the refitting of an industrial space with lots of red brick and very high wood beam ceilings, lighting is a challenge. The chandelier and table lamps (as well as the rest of the furnishings) were period reproductions appropriate to Old Salem decor and provided adequate illumination, though the comfy arm chair lacked a reading lamp (there appears to be a dearth of electrical outlets), but bed and desk lighting were OK. There was an easily accessible charging station with two extra AC outlets and USB ports which mitigated the outlet availability problem somewhat. WiFi was available, but rather slow. Breakfast is provided and billed as "full Southern." I think that means you can choose biscuits and sausage gravy or have grits with your eggs and bacon or sausage patty, but it was tasty nonetheless. The breakfast room is on the small side (rated capacity 34), but I never had trouble finding a table. Overall the building and the area are quiet and safe to walk around; it is about equidistant from Old Salem (certainly worth a visit) and the downtown area, with lots of restaurant and brewery choices on Fourth Street and elsewhere. I would highly recommend this unique gem.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bkaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Several months ago, we booked an overnight 56th high school reunion for 26, which included 12 rooms. When we arrived around 2pm, the tv in the bar off the lobby was not working, and the 2 staff on duty were completely distracted by that fact. As a result, we couldn't watch the game and received little attention when we were trying to check in. I understood the rooms were to be ready by 3pm; at 4:30pm my husband was tired of waiting and upgraded us to a suite that was ready. I overheard the desk staff on the phone to housekeeping saying "hurry up because you're making us look bad." The tv's in several guest rooms didn't work; there was no help in fixing them.
- Our wine/cheese reception was scheduled to begin in the bar downstairs at 4pm. When I went down at 4:10, one man was folding napkins at the bar. When I asked when the bar would be open, he said it usually didn't open until 5pm but he knew it was supposed to open at 4pm that day. When I again asked when it would be open, he replied that he was waiting for his manager. When I asked where the manager was, he said she was in her office and was on the way. Ten minutes later she still had not appeared. When she did finally rush in, she was saying "I know, I know! Four o'clock! Four o'clock!" She asked one of my group what he wanted to drink; when he responded Scotch, she replied rudely that his guest coupon could not be used to pay for it. She did not go behind the bar to serve; instead, she and the man went into the kitchen. I had to open the kitchen door to get them to come out and wait on us. The only white wine available was a pinot grigio. When I said I would pay for a chardonnay, she said there wasn't any. I find it difficult to understand why the most frequently requested type of white wine was unavailable. The cheese and crackers and grapes appeared about 4:45pm.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N2357KMannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This hotel just blew us away! was going on a college tour of Wake Forest (About 15 min away) the next day so we just stayed the night, The front desk upgraded our room (without us even saying anything), gave us some coupons for the wine & cheese happy hour, had milk & cookies for the children later on that night & had a wonderful buffet breakfast the next morning. Thesuite was extremely spacious & bathroom very clean. Beds were very comfortable too. Parking wasn’t a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnneMWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Friendly staff. Wonderful breakfast. super wine and cheese reception and cookies and milk before bedtime. A great place to stay. would rebook in a heart beat! Easy walk to Old Salem. would recommend to friend and family

Room Tip: Room 209 is a big room with a large bath. Needs more room darkening curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ccurtis2824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
4.6 km away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
598 reviews
0.9 km away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#6 of 38 in Winston Salem
235 reviews
10.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
11.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
8.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
#7 of 38 in Winston Salem
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookstown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookstown Inn

Address: 200 Brookstown Ave, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5209
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: R1 784 - R2 851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Brookstown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rate includes hot breakfast, complimentary wine and cheese reception in the evenings, cookies and milk at bedtime. The Brookstown Inn was built in 1837. The Inn has the charm and ambiance of old-world architecture with all the conveniences of a modern conference facility. Its hallmarks of exposed brick walls and wooden beams enhance its Early American decor and help you escape to the charm of yesteryear. We are within a short walk of the restored 1766 Moravian village of Old Salem and convenient to the Winston-Salem business district, North Carolina School of the Arts, the Southeastern Center for Contemporary Arts (SECCA), Winston Salem State University, Wake Forest University, and Salem College. The property is also only a short distance from Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center and Forsyth Memorial Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Brookstown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookstown Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing