We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the area for a wedding ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We were able to use mobile check in which is always a plus. This is a brand new hotel. Maybe a month old. Brand new staff. So you should expect and need to be ready for growing pains. We arrived around 1:00 pm and were greeted cheerfully at the front desk. We were quickly checked in used their carts to unload. We had a ground floor room with two Queen beds. We really thought the decor was very fun and contemporary. The tv offered pandora, Netflix, and others. We were able to use our account from home to watch top notch movies. Beds were comfortable and good linen. The bathroom was furnished with good absorbent towels and top quality toiletries. There is a galley kitchen that ha everything you need to make your own dinner, if you wish. They have a little market area in the lobby with TV dinner type food as well as snacks and drinks. This keeps you from having to go to the store. There is an ample working desk with plug ins, etc. A nice sofa is there to offer a seating area to visit or watch tv. They offer a complimentary breakfast in the lobby area. I was not happy with the quality of the eggs and sausage. The cold cereal and coffee is what I settled on. They have a pool and exercise room. Free parking is a plus. Overall this is a very nice hotel. I wish the breakfast was better quality. The staff was helpful and professional. They will learn and do better as time goes by. A new staff and hotel always has growing pains. Please do yourself a favor and give them a try.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RalphCIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kowee T, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hello RalphCIII,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback. When reading your response it almost made me want to book a room at our hotel. (You have a future career in written visuals)
Thanks again and we await your return to Residence Inn Hanes Mall.

Kowee Truesdale
Area / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

I stayed there one night while my husband was in the hospital. It was fabulous. Everything was perfect. Room, help, everything. Went back a week later before another procedure and it was a disaster. We checked in at 8 pm and the person at the desk had a long line and was dealing with an issue with a guest. Took us at least 20 minutes to get to the desk to check in. No carts because there were so many of us waiting. She was only one working at the hotel - which is rediculous!
Asked for a quiet room. Seemed easy enough.
Got to our room and unpacked and started hearing either a herd of kids with cement shoes or little elephants stomping above us. Called front desk. They called the room. No response. She went there (leaving desk un-manned) and they said they would quiet down. Didn't happen. Called her as we were trying to go to bed. Still hearing them do aerobics or something. She said that she'd go up there again but would move us. (after we'd unpacked and gone to bed, seemed unreasonable).
I had already emailed the general manager that we were unhappy - no response.
First thing we heard in the am when we got up was these people again.
Our under the door invoice was for full rate! no discount for complaints!
Went to front desk, talked to manager. Apologized for noise, but said they could not do anything because they didn't hear the noise (but they never came to our room to hear it).
Manager offered us signifigant discount on stay but really soured me on the hotel. As someone who will likely have to travel to Winston often in the future, I'll probably find another options.

So rooms are great - spacious, nice finishes, shower is great. BUT, only high floors are sure to be quiet enough to get a good nights rest.

Room Tip: fourth floor only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kristi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kowee T, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hello Kristi B,
Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. I first want to apologize for your second stay with us. No one should have to endure any excessive noise when staying in a hotel. Since our conversation we have put protocols in place to make sure this never happens again. Please accept my sincerest apology.

Kowee Truesdale
Area / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We were here 2 nights, as we had a wedding in town and extended our stay a bit (arrived earlier). We stayed at another hotel downtown afterward because the rest of the bridal party was there, but in the future, this hotel will be our first choice! The rooms are really well laid-out, with full kitchens and a comfortable little living room/office area.

Room was spotless when we arrived, and we didn't need housekeeping the next day (we just asked for a few new towels & toiletries when she showed up). Provided toiletries were Paul Mitchell - face bar, body bar, shampoo & conditioner. They smelled great and were really nice & moisturizing. Breakfast was good. The patio area, with the pool and fire pit, was really nice and I wish we had had time to take advantage of the great weather and sit next to the fire! The desk area in the room was really comfortable, and the price to upgrade to "premium" WiFi so I could do some work was only $5 for 24hrs, which is totally worth it. We had a view of the pool/patio and surrounding shopping area. Not particularly scenic but not terrible either - Just a normal view.

I think the only thing I'd complain about is missing a spot to lay my suitcase, like a luggage rack or bench. Such a small complaint - there are drawers to put your stuff if that's your thing, and we just rested our luggage on the sofa and moved them off (there's space under the tv stand for them) when family visited.

Family that visited us in our room commented that the next time they are in town, they will stay here as well!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kowee T, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hello Emily T,
Thanks for taking the time to gives feed back. We here you loud and clear about the luggage racks. Again thanks for the great response.

Kowee Truesdale
Area / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is great , it was new and clean and room was spacious, the staff members were so friendly and helpful and willing to do anything to make you feel at home , the best residence inn I've ever stayed in

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Miss_Najla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kowee T, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Hello Miss_Najla,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We want to continue to be the best. We want to also give a big thanks for allowing us to exceed your expectations during your stay.

Kōwee Truesdale Sr.
Area / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

What can I say. The front desk staff were fantastic. Very friendly and accommodating
Our room was clean. Very spacious. The bed was oh so comfy and the bathroom was new and and clean. The hotel itself was very quiet. The breakfast was the average breakfast but enough for us. Residence inn hotels are our fav and this one did not dissapoint.

Room Tip: Go for it. Worth the $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bluetopaz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kowee T, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Hello bluetopaz60,
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We also have made sure we added to our breakfast to make sure that it's the best hotel and breakfast at Hanes Mall.
Thanks again
Kowee Truesdake Area/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
#7 of 38 in Winston Salem
537 reviews
1.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
2.6 km away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
2.6 km away
Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hanes Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hanes Mall

Address: 3885 Oxford Station Way, Winston Salem, NC 27103
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range: R1 517 - R2 331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hanes Mall 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hanes Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing