We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Brookstown Inn(Winston Salem)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$151
US$129
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$141
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$119
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graylyn Estate(Winston Salem)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
16
3
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
3
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitreception areaawesome hotelhanes mallwafflesone nightfront deskwake forestroom was cleannetflixtoiletrieskitchenettetvwedding
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I stayed there one night while my husband was in the hospital. It was fabulous. Everything was perfect. Room, help, everything. Went back a week later before another procedure and it was a disaster. We checked in at 8 pm and the person at the desk had a long line and was dealing with an issue with a guest. Took us at least 20 minutes to get to the desk to check in. No carts because there were so many of us waiting. She was only one working at the hotel - which is rediculous!
Asked for a quiet room. Seemed easy enough.
Got to our room and unpacked and started hearing either a herd of kids with cement shoes or little elephants stomping above us. Called front desk. They called the room. No response. She went there (leaving desk un-manned) and they said they would quiet down. Didn't happen. Called her as we were trying to go to bed. Still hearing them do aerobics or something. She said that she'd go up there again but would move us. (after we'd unpacked and gone to bed, seemed unreasonable).
I had already emailed the general manager that we were unhappy - no response.
First thing we heard in the am when we got up was these people again.
Our under the door invoice was for full rate! no discount for complaints!
Went to front desk, talked to manager. Apologized for noise, but said they could not do anything because they didn't hear the noise (but they never came to our room to hear it).
Manager offered us signifigant discount on stay but really soured me on the hotel. As someone who will likely have to travel to Winston often in the future, I'll probably find another options.

So rooms are great - spacious, nice finishes, shower is great. BUT, only high floors are sure to be quiet enough to get a good nights rest.

Room Tip: fourth floor only
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kristi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kowee T, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hello Kristi B,
Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. I first want to apologize for your second stay with us. No one should have to endure any excessive noise when staying in a hotel. Since our conversation we have put protocols in place to make sure this never happens again. Please accept my sincerest apology.

Kowee Truesdale
Area / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We were here 2 nights, as we had a wedding in town and extended our stay a bit (arrived earlier). We stayed at another hotel downtown afterward because the rest of the bridal party was there, but in the future, this hotel will be our first choice! The rooms are really well laid-out, with full kitchens and a comfortable little living room/office area.

Room was spotless when we arrived, and we didn't need housekeeping the next day (we just asked for a few new towels & toiletries when she showed up). Provided toiletries were Paul Mitchell - face bar, body bar, shampoo & conditioner. They smelled great and were really nice & moisturizing. Breakfast was good. The patio area, with the pool and fire pit, was really nice and I wish we had had time to take advantage of the great weather and sit next to the fire! The desk area in the room was really comfortable, and the price to upgrade to "premium" WiFi so I could do some work was only $5 for 24hrs, which is totally worth it. We had a view of the pool/patio and surrounding shopping area. Not particularly scenic but not terrible either - Just a normal view.

I think the only thing I'd complain about is missing a spot to lay my suitcase, like a luggage rack or bench. Such a small complaint - there are drawers to put your stuff if that's your thing, and we just rested our luggage on the sofa and moved them off (there's space under the tv stand for them) when family visited.

Family that visited us in our room commented that the next time they are in town, they will stay here as well!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kowee T, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hello Emily T,
Thanks for taking the time to gives feed back. We here you loud and clear about the luggage racks. Again thanks for the great response.

Kowee Truesdale
Area / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is great , it was new and clean and room was spacious, the staff members were so friendly and helpful and willing to do anything to make you feel at home , the best residence inn I've ever stayed in

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Miss_Najla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kowee T, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Hello Miss_Najla,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We want to continue to be the best. We want to also give a big thanks for allowing us to exceed your expectations during your stay.

Kōwee Truesdale Sr.
Area / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

What can I say. The front desk staff were fantastic. Very friendly and accommodating
Our room was clean. Very spacious. The bed was oh so comfy and the bathroom was new and and clean. The hotel itself was very quiet. The breakfast was the average breakfast but enough for us. Residence inn hotels are our fav and this one did not dissapoint.

Room Tip: Go for it. Worth the $
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bluetopaz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kowee T, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Hello bluetopaz60,
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We also have made sure we added to our breakfast to make sure that it's the best hotel and breakfast at Hanes Mall.
Thanks again
Kowee Truesdake Area/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

As this was a brand new hotel, we specifically elected to stay here. While the property is very nice & well maintained, we did encounter several issues (mainly housekeeping) related. So if you are planning to stay here, please be mindful of the following:
1. Real challenge finding the hotel if you are dependent on your GPS. Being a brand new hotel, there are no signs on Hanes Mall Boulevard and the GPS does not direct you to the property.
2. After a 11 hour drive we walked into our room only to find that the room we were given was not ready. The front desk agent was very apologetic and immediately switched our rooms. Upon arrival to our new home, we experienced another disappointment. House keeping had left all their cleaning rags and equipment in the room. Had to call the Front desk once again.
3. While our room said to be serviced the next day, the bathroom was not cleaned, no toiletries for the next day, ....... The Front desk was very apologetic and promptly sent the required including towels which to our disappointment had hair all over it.
So while the hotel is all new, they certainly need to address some housekeeping challenges. For the price point, I would expect a lot more from Residence Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rajiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kowee T, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Hello Rajiv,
Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. We have made immediate changes since your stay because our guest are everything to us. Thanks for letting us get through the opening jitters. I can promise your return visit will exceed your expectations. We strive to be the greatest hotel in Winston-Salem. I can't thank you enough for your feedback.
Thanks! Thanks! Thanks!

Kowee Truesdale
Area/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews