We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy cottage, very clean, perfect for a week's...”
A true beach cottage!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A true beach cottage!
Open and sunny Blue couch opens into a bed with a gel mattress
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
A true beach cottage!
Open and sunny
Blue couch opens into a bed with a gel mattress
New leather living room furniture Dec 2016
50' flat TV with cable. Leather recliner.
New kitchen dinette Dec 2016
View from back bedroom to side screen door.
Super comfy back bedroom bed
Back bedroom full bath
Kitchen with full appliances including stacked washer/dryer
Kitchen towels, spices, paper products, D/W detergent, laundry supplies, plus more
Full appliances including stacked W/D
Lavender front bedroom with very comfortable queen bed.
Front bedroom window. Hear the waves at night.
Plenty of great books to read on the beach
Front full bath.
Partial ocean view, beach access directly across the street
Livingroom opens up to porch with large picture windows
Best 'room' in the house
Fall asleep on the porch in the chaise lounge
High up on a dune.
Enjoy the new board game table on the porch
Gas grill right off kitchen
Beach access tunnel of live oaks
Our Stairway to Heaven
Lucky guest caught some nice fish off the beach, our stairs in the backround
Southern view from stairs at high tide
Back yard & lower deck
Back deck to outside shower with hot & cold water
Nice sized semi-secluded back yard to walk the dogs
Cottage layout - not-to-scale
Miles of running/walking/biking sidewalks just out front
Public boat launch 2 miles away
Surf City intercoastal boardwalk 2 miles away for sunsets, fishing, picnics, sightseeing and more!
Surf City playground and band shell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Surf City, Topsail Island, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Cozy cottage, very clean, perfect for a week's stay”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

First let me say that I really appreciated the ease of renting. The agreement was very clear cut and there were no hidden charges. When we arrived the cottage was clean and it was obvious that it is meticulously maintained. The kitchen was stocked with everything you'll need for cooking and cleaning and even had laundry detergent. You'll just need to supply your food for the week. My husband really appreciated the chilled glasses waiting for him in the freezer and I thought the welcome note on the kitchen table was a nice touch.
The only suggestion I would have is to add some lattice or an additional support beam to the bottom area of the screened in porch. We had a couple of very rambunctious 1 year olds with us that we were afraid would plummet right through the bottom. Nothing we couldn't work with, we just kept the kids off the porch.
The area itself is lovely, not a busy beach town but enough to keep you busy. We got to witness a sea turtle nest being dug up after it had hatched and the kids really enjoyed that. The beach access was directly across from the house. It was less than a 2 minute walk to the beach and most of that was just walking over the dune to get there. The adults would sit on the porch at night and enjoy the sounds of the ocean, it felt like we were right on the beach. The beach wasn't crowded at all and is very clean. The water was clear and warm when we were there. Overall, I would highly recommend this house and the owner was very easy to work with and made planning our trip a breeze. We hope to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cute cottage, great location, great beach, great owner!”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We fell in love with Topsail Island! This cottage was clean as a whistle and had all the amenities of home. The owner provided a great experience, and it was nice to find the place "as described." The beach is right across the street, and this beach is awesome....super clean, not crowded like Myrtle or OBX. This beach really is beautiful and it is nice to not have to walk through a crowd looking for a spot to make your camp. The water is so clear/green here! The sound is amazingly beautiful as well. We rented a boat and went down to the south end of the Island and anchored to a secluded beach...we felt like we were in the Caribbean! Something hard to believe since we were only 4.5 hours from home in NC! The water was so clear. We really enjoyed the Restaurants and shops just to the South, vs. the busier area up near the bridge. We enjoyed Beach Shop & Grill (wonderful food, we went back our last night for a 2nd time), and Breezeway (doesn't look like much from the outside, but has stood the test of time), good food, (a little cheaper than Beach Shop & Grill). Personally, we recommend avoiding the Crab Pot Restaurant as you come across the bridge...we wish we spent that money at one of the other two restaurants previously mentioned...but the market out back does offer wonderful fresh selections if you prefer to cook at the cottage. If you are up for a short drive down to Smith Ave or Scott Ave and cut right over to the Sound, there are two little public beaches on the Sound...highly recommended (we went there two days due to the recent shark activity and lack of waves for our 1.5 yr old daughter). We did not have enough time here...a week is not enough! The cottage was just perfect for myself, my wife and our 1.5 yr old daughter. We also loved this place because we could bring our dog! This cottage is very conveniently located, and with the beach being such a short walk, my wife and I could take turns spending time at the beach during nap time for our little one. We will be back! If you are a first time visitor to Topsail like we were and you are debating where to stay...look no further! This place rocks and we just cannot say enough good things about it! :) The price was very reasonable in comparison as well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
Thank you for the wonderful review and the great information on all your island finds! We didn't even know about the public sound side beaches. That is a nice way to stay cool and swim with zero shark fears. We are also convinced that we MUST rent a boat...we've been talking about it ever since the boat and jet ski business opened just over the bridge. Hope to see you again soon! Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
“The comfort of home, just steps from the beach.”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Seagull's Landing, and would definitely return. It seemed that every comfort of home had been thought of and provided. The biggest plus for us was being able to bring our dog to enjoy the week with us. The 2 bedroom residence was clean, and comfortable. We also loved having great wifi to stay in touch with friends and family. Having a grill was terrific as well - we grilled almost every evening. Finally, Susan was incredibly responsive, provided excellent service, and always seemed to go the extra mile to be sure we enjoyed our stay. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelemc...
1 review
“homey”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

my family and I loved this little place! we are definitely coming back next year, the location was convenient, the beach was beautiful looking forward to next year my kids and I were sad to leave! !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy G
Conover, North Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful cottage; cozy and comfortable; perfect for moms & kids trip!”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was our 2nd annual moms & kids trip to Seagulls Landing and we were again delighted! Susan and Kimberly go above and beyond to ensure their guests have a wonderful experience while in Surf City. The small things are what matter most and we always feel like guests instead of customers when we stay! Lovely cottage; relaxing screened porch, cozy bedrooms with comfortable beds, 2 full bathrooms, large living room, fully furnished kitchen with washer/dryer! You won't be disappointed if you choose to stay at Seagulls Landing :)

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing