We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary”

Risto's Place Food & Spirits
Reserve with OpenTable
Risto's Place Food & Spirits is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 177 Restaurants in Statesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Risto's Place has the feel of fine dining in the neighborhood. Sheryl and Risto Toukola purchased the restaurant in 1999 and operated it as Mayo's Ristorante. In 2007, Risto accidentally lost his life and Sheryl recently renamed the restaurant "Risto's Place" in his honor. Risto left his mark on Sheryl's life and he continues to be with her in the form of a yellow butterfly. Sounds crazy? It's not. On a warm winter day in January 2008, Sheryl was having lunch at an outside café when a yellow butterfly landed on the railing beside her. It just sat there while she ate. Who's ever heard of a butterfly in January? Since then, the yellow butterfly continued to appear to her many times in many places. When Sheryl's granddaughter sees a yellow butterfly, she shouts with joy, There's Papa Risto!" This phenomenon is the impetus that led to the creation of the butterfly in Risto's Place logo, and the reason Sheryl wears a butterfly necklace every day. Corny, maybe, but true. It is said that every restaurant must have a specialty. Sheryl's specialty is fresh food, made from scratch with produce and fruits from the local farmers' market. Herbs are home-grown, desserts homemade daily, soups and sauces simmer long hours on the stove, not heated from a can. Sheryl serves only fresh fish caught in the wild in American waters. Sausages, salamis and cheeses are still sent to Sheryl from specialty stores in her hometown of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. (Go Steelers!) Coffee, however, is shipped in from her favorite roastery in Seattle, Washington. She is all about "Buy American". Her dishes are from an American manufacturer as is her silverware and glassware. She gets canned tomatoes from a California grower and cannery. She purchases every item she can American- made. Prosciutto, however, would not be the same unless it was aged in Italy. Many of Risto's Place customers are travelers on their way to Myrtle Beach, Hilton Head, Savannah, Charleston, Atlanta and Florida. They seek refuge from the fast-food and chain options available just off interstates 40 and 77. Risto's is just one mile from either of these exits. It is amazing that most of those who dine at Risto's going, also time their drive to dine at Risto's when returning. Risto's Place also offers a complete lounge menu for those seeking a less than a full meal, although full meals may be ordered in the lounge. Complete bar and wine services are available and live entertainment can be enjoyed on Tuesday, Thursday, Friday and some Saturdays. Open Mic is held every Tuesday at 7:30pm. Solo acts perform on Thursdays at 7:30pm and Bands play on Fridays at 8:00pm. The lounge atmosphere is akin to the television bar affectionately known as "Cheers". Risto's Place lounge and dining room are located at 123 North Center Street, Statesville, North Carolina and are open Tuesday through Saturday beginning at 5:00 pm. Dress code is casual. Lunch is available Tuesday through Friday from 11:30 am until 2:00 pm. Reservations are not required, but are recommended so that staffing is adequate for the crowd. 704-872-5557.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Barbara and the group made our anniversary a wonderful experience. The food was fantastic. What a treasure we have in Risto’s. Highly recommend.

Thank statesvilleresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorie R, General Manager at Risto's Place Food & Spirits, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Happy anniversary again and thanks for your review! It makes us very proud to know we helped you have a great experience. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We are back at our favorate restaurant. Ristos Place. Pork chop tonight and drink. Everyone missed us and we got our hugs when we walked in. Just love everyone here. And we recommend Ristos Place very highly. This is a must even If you are traveling through our town of Statesville.

Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorie R, General Manager at Risto's Place Food & Spirits, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

We love being your favorite restaurant and really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We do love our customers here and pride ourselves on great food and superb service. Thank you for giving our staff feedback... we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent customer service from Mary and a great dinner! No complaints at all on either of these points. My husband and I are disappointed however in that the owner came into the restaurant after we’d begun eating dinner and made a point of speaking to all the other 5 occupied tables in the dining room - except for ours. The restaurant was not full. Maybe all the other tables were “regulars” but why not make the new kid feel welcome, especially after passing our table 3 tines? Even though another restaurant had been recommended we chose this one. Makes me question our dining decision, especially after an $80 dinner tab. Not looking for special treatment here, but the complete avoidance was blatantly obvious. Maybe our patronage will be appreciated somewhere else next time. Mary - you rocked and we give you a 5 - thanks for making our dinner enjoyable!!

Thank kimratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorie R, General Manager at Risto's Place Food & Spirits, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

First, thank you for your review and candor. We are certainly happy that your food and service met your expectations, and will share your feedback with our staff. Mary does an excellent job and we are very proud of her, and our kitchen works diligently to assure fresh and delicious food for all our guests. We really are happy that you chose Risto's Place and want to sincerely apologize for our unintentional oversight. The owner does try to make a point to speak to each table when possible and the fact that she missed your table was not at all on purpose. We want everyone here to feel welcomed and at home so we are very sorry if you felt otherwise. Please consider coming to see us again...we promise we do appreciate you VERY much! Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Had dinner at Risto's Place last night. What a delightful evening from start to finish. The food was delicious and the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more accommodating. Mary, our waitress was great. We will definitely be back and will bring friends.

1  Thank bdi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorie R, General Manager at Risto's Place Food & Spirits, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

It is so nice to read such a good review. We are so happy that you had a good experience while here, and that your food & service were good. We hope you will come see us again soon! Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Everyone was extremely friendly courteous especially our waitress Mary.Great atmosphere n location,It seemed to be a little pricey but we would definitely stop again due to the total experience being outstanding..Check it out!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gld00798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorie R, General Manager at Risto's Place Food & Spirits, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

We are so happy you had such a great experience at Risto's Place. Mary does a wonderful job for us and we'll be sure to share your feedback with her. Have a super week and come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Risto's Place Food & Spirits also viewed

 

Been to Risto's Place Food & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing