We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming Getaway Cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
Hello?
Is it Birdsong Cottage you're looking for?
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hello?
Is it Birdsong Cottage you're looking for?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Hello?
Is it Birdsong Cottage you're looking for?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Southport, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Extraordi...
1 review
“Charming Getaway Cottage!”
Reviewed 28 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The previous reviews were spot on with how clean, private, quiet and charming this cottage is! We had a very relaxing stay and happily recommend it. The proprietors are so welcoming and knowledgeable of the area. A lovely vacation spot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2018
Thank you for writing a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Birdsong! Please come back and visit us again!
~Kelly and Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missadven...
Grindelwald, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Perfect location, Perfect stay”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

I can’t say enough great things about this amazing cottage. From the minute you arrive, you know you’ve made a good decision. It’s safe and private, has an adorable little garden, and is walking distance to everything! You have everything you could possibly want - a very comfy couch, a ridiculously snuggly bed, great wifi, a user-friendly kitchen, and a feeling of hominess.
The hosts Kelly and Robert are just lovely, too. They are so accommodating, and make sure everything is just fine, but respect your privacy.
I’m already booked for next summer! Get in while you can. This hidden gem won’t be a secret for long!
Mary

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2018
Thank you for the review Mary!
We really loved talking to you about your travels and we are so glad you got out and did so much fun stuff in around Southport!
We look forward to having you back next summer!

Kelly & Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
555JLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great low key location”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. Nicely secluded within walking distance to historic Southport.
Was met at location by Kelly once we arrived, went over the details of the cottage and she even had made dinner reservations for us; very kind and great hostess.

Some suggestions to the owners about the property:

Offer satellite or cable instead of just a Roku, where you have to have a subscription to Netflix, Hulu etc. to use.
Have a small ottoman for a visitor to rest their legs in living room.
Have an bedside table on each side of bed.
Relocate armoire to a different location and put in a King Size bed.

We had a great time visiting numerous stores and Resturaunt, visited a number of beaches on the Brunswick Island chain. This is a fantastic location you can stay at that is so close to everything you want to see; we will be reserving again when we go back to the area!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2018
Hi Jon,
It was great meeting you and Carol, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay!
We have considered switching up to Cable, but have found that a lot of people have HULU, Netflix, Amazon and they don't watch a lot of TV during their vacation weekends.
Not sure about the King bed. We may remove the armoire and replace with a smaller dresser. We do have a second bedside table coming.
The bench at the foot of the bed can be moved into the living room to serve as an Ottoman if desired. I will point that out to the next guests!
Thanks for the suggestions, and I am so glad you are planning to return. Oh...and thanks for sending that other couple from New York to us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 May 2018
Hi Tim,

Because of your comment about the couch and bed firmness, we added extra support to both. Now they are both quite firm.

Our previous guests told us that both couch and bed were extremely comfortable, but their preferences were probably for soft rather than support.

Thanks for that insight!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kiagia
Marlton,NJ
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“A great place to visit and you’d even wanna live there.”
Reviewed 27 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My husband, daughter and I stayed in this adorable, well-appointed, comfy cottage. The living room doubled as a second bedroom and the kitchen has everything you’d need on vacay. Kelly & Robert know everything there is to do in the area and graciously share their info. Kelly will even point you in the direction of Venus flytraps and orchids in one of the beautiful nearby state parks if you ask her. The best part was waking up to the melodious BIRDSONG!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2018
Thank you for choosing Birdsong cottage for your stay. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time here and got to see the Venus Flytraps!
Warm regards,
~Kelly and Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing