We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We enjoyed our stay here!”
other travellers have booked this property
7 bedroom beach house, five minute walk to the beach, golf, gym, marina and tennis privileges
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
7 bedroom beach house, five minute walk to the beach, golf, gym, marina and tennis privileges
Private 8' x 14' Amish-built Pirate Ship. A great playset for the little ones. Private Pool and Hot Tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
7 bedroom beach house, five minute walk to the beach, golf, gym, marina and tennis privileges
Private 8' x 14' Amish-built Pirate Ship. A great playset for the little ones.
Private Pool and Hot Tub
Sit at the counter or around the large dining table that seats a crowd
Wicker seating area
Living room with new couch, new tile, LCD TV, TIVO, Netflix, Blu-Ray, 600 DVDs, and Onkyo 5.1 Stereo
Fully appointed kitchen - New for 2018: Granite countertops and stainless steel appliances
Golf Privileges at the nearby Kilmarlic Country Club
BR 1-Captain's Quarters, King bed, Jacuzzi, LCD TV, 475 channels, Blu-Ray, DVR, NetFlix, Deck Access
BR 2 - Surf Shack, Queen bed, LCD TV, 475 channels, DVR, Blu-Ray, NetFlix, Deck Access
BR 3 - Beachcomber, Queen bed, LCD TV, 475 channels, Blu-Ray, NetFlix, Deck Access
BR 4 - Adirondack -
 Queen bed, LCD TV, 475 channels, DVR, Blu-Ray, NetFlix
BR 5 - Crew's Quarters -
 Two bunk bed set, LCD TV, 475 channels, DVR, Blu-Ray, NetFlix
BR 6 - Pyramid Room -
 One bunk bed set (twin/full), LCD TV, 475 channels, DVR, Blu-Ray, NetFlix
BR 7 - Garden Room -
 Two twins, LCD TV, 475 channels, DVR, Blu-Ray, NetFlix
Discount adventure sports (Hang Gliding Lessons, Wright Flyer) through K-Club
Free Tennis Privileges (2 courts, backboard, and shaded Gazebo)
Game room fridge, microwave, sink, iPhone/iPod compatible stereo
Wall art in the game room
Dog kennel under live oak tree (dog welcome inside house), one mature dog allowed w/ $75 fee
Horizon Ocean Views
Decks face East and South
Volleyball court - Kids love it as their own giant sand box
Marina Privileges
Marina Privileges - great sunsets
Walk to the Ocean
Manicured lawn, palm trees, w/ basketball hoop
Dolphin Inn - Great Getaway
Wall art in entryway
BR 1 - Captain's Quarters Detail
BR 2 - Surf Shack Detail
BR 2 - Surf Shack Detail
BR 3 - Beachcomber Detail
Hallway detail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Southern Shores, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LAHazen
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay here!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Back in October 2013 we reserved the house for a July family getaway with our children and grandchildren ages 1-9 years old. We specifically wanted a house that was close to or on the beach and it had to have a pool. This house has a pretty well-equipped kitchen with everything from a food processor to waffle iron. The only things we didn't find enough or any of really are hot pads and more kitchen towels. We didn't think to bring those so that was lacking.

The house had everything else we needed from loads of DVDs to novels to board games, etc. The pool was a big hit with everyone and we had fun there almost every day of our week-long stay. The only things lacking at the pool were some umbrellas and more outdoor seating on the decks around the house to eat outside. The chaise cushions need replacing and the beach umbrellas are pretty well-used and broken so you should bring your own. The play area was great, the kennel area for our daughter's dog and the sand volleyball area were great.

The living space is rather small on the third floor of the house. It is a living, dining and kitchen space all in one with the master bedroom off of it. While it sleeps 17, it would be difficult having 17 people together in that space. We managed with 7 adults and 5 children. The play area downstairs has a small kitchen, but just some bean bag chairs which were great for the kids playing their games. Adults would have a hard time using that space.

What was most pleasing about this experience was dealing with the owner Jorge Herrada. He couldn't have been nicer and more thoughtful of every situation we had. He called us several times while on his own vacation in Colombia, SA to make sure everything was fine. Hurricane Arthur had just hit OBX a day before our arrival and he was in touch keeping us posted on the conditions at the house. We all breathed a sigh of relief that we were able to go! We in touch several times by email before our visit and every question we had he cheerfully answered. Wonderful guy!

I'm not sure we would return to OBX partly because of the traffic on and off the barrier islands. Check-in day is a nightmare if you get there at check-in time at 4:00. I would recommend getting there super early or later the day of arrival. Traffic started to thin out about 7:00 P.M. Had we been warned about it, we would have avoided the significant and frustrating jam into Southern Shores. We were told after the fact that check-in days are bad. We left super early on check-out to avoid the traffic.

All-in-all it was a very good experience and I'm glad we went! Everyone had a great time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the well-equipped kitchen
Liked least: The traffic and pool area equipment
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PA
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephens City
Reviewed 22 March 2014 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VA
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing