We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Fun at its Best”
other travellers have booked this property
Sweetwater Trout Camp sits directly on the Thompson River.  Large waterfalls accessible from cabin.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sweetwater Trout Camp sits directly on the Thompson River.  Large waterfalls accessible from cabin.
Pool and small water fall feet from the cabin's porch.  'White Owl Falls' a short hike up river. 'White Owl Falls', a thirty foot waterfall accessible directly from our properties hiking trails.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
Sweetwater Trout Camp sits directly on the Thompson River.  Large waterfalls accessible from cabin.
Pool and small water fall feet from the cabin's porch.  'White Owl Falls' a short hike up river.
'White Owl Falls', a thirty foot waterfall accessible directly from our properties hiking trails.
'Tall Falls' very near the property.  Can be hiked to from property, directions provided when rented
Back deck overlooking Thompson River and USFS forest.
Back porch's fire pit.  Pavilion in the background.
Sweetwater Fish Camp
River front pavilion with adirondack chairs and fire pit.
Mountain meadow, nine acres of land surrounded by USFS land in all directions.
Back porch and screened in porch, just up the hill from the river.
Dining area.
Master bedroom, three new windows above bed be installed winter 2017.
Kids bunk room and adjoining bathroom.
Bathroom off master bedroom.
Lower level bunk bed area.  Adjoining bathroom.
Second living area downstairs.
Meditation bench at the end of one of our trails with waterfall on Gumbottom creek below.
Gumbottom creek meets Thompson River on the property.
Thompson River.
Front porch.
Rocking chairs on front porch.
Sign from prior existence as a trout club.
Screened in porch attached to kitchen.
'White Water Falls', a few miles south of the property.  Largest waterfall east of the Mississippi.
Rainbow Falls, trailhead located in Gorges State Park a few miles north of the cabin.
'Turtle Falls', located via hiking trail in Gorges State Park.  Is swimmable weather permitting.
Top of White Owl Falls.
Trout/swimming hole on property.
Otherside of trout/swimming hole.
Hiking trail on property to White Owl Falls.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sapphire, Jackson County, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lanier P
United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Fun at its Best”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I were fortunate enough to secure this great secluded riverside mountain cabin for a family vacation with our two sons and their families. Needless the say, for adventurous grandchildren a "real mountain cabin" steps away from a "real mountain" river and within hiking distance to waterfalls is as good as it gets. We found the cabin to be clean, generously equipped and well maintained Situated in the middle of 9 acres which in turn are surrounded by the Nantahala National Forest it is both secluded and serene. A wonderful place to relax, enjoy nature...and the family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Candidly, your review is what is wonderful about our cabin distilled in a paragraph. Thanks for the lovely words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwjohnson...
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private and Relaxing”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The property is exactly as advertised. It was private, beautiful and relaxing. If you're looking to escape the monotony of work and urban life, this is the place. It is the perfect combination of roughing it and comfort. We hiked, fished (tried) and enjoyed explored this beautiful property. Its everything you need and nothing you don't. I look forward to visiting Andrew's property again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenery
Liked least: No Hot Tub
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2016
Thank you Mr. Johnson, we look forward to having you and your family again.

Drew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margareth...
Augusta
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot with a cozy cabin”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Nestled in the western North Carolina mountains' Sapphire Valley between Cashiers and Lake Toxaway we rally enjoyed our stay in this cozy cabin on the banks of the Thomson River. Surrounded by Natinal Park the kids had fun hiking and fishing in the woods and in the nearby parks. Whitewater Falls is minutes from the cabin as well as the lovely Gorges Park. Evening cookouts on the river bank complete with s'mores were a hit. We highly recommend this mountain retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
Thank you for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing