We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very cool and wonderful hosts.”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen diner
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen diner
Marilyn Monroe Main Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Kitchen diner
Marilyn Monroe Main Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Hydrotherapy Spa Bath
lounge area
Lounge/diner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nuriootpa, Barossa Valley, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tanya M
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very cool and wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

It was a fun place to stay, with so much attention to detail for the theme of the B&B. It was immaculate. Our hosts were very accommodating, loads of local knowledge and tips. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a ball and very much enjoyed their company.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Funky and different.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
It was great to meet you and Ashleigh.. It was our pleasure to have you stay.
We look forward to your return one day.
Regards Jannine & Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPrincip...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved It !!!!”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Great Fun Place to Stay.
All New Furniture, Kitchen, Bathroom, Appliances. Etc
It is Spotlessly Clean.
Stay there you won't regret it. Even a pinball machine and old record player to keep you entertained for hours.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2015
Thank you Rita and guests, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to meet with you on your return.
Jannine & Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoolMum64
Mount Gambier
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Hits the right note”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We chose to stay at this property for a special occasion weekend with our adult sons. It was a very good choice for all of us and we all enjoyed the many special touches and authentic decorations from the era. The beds were quite comfortable, bathrooms were well appointed and kitchen nicely laid out. The breakfast provisions were satisfactory and provided a range of choices but maybe didn't quite match the high end nature of this property - a square white loaf from a city bakery for toasting?? I thought some local artisan bread would have been more in keeping with the nature and price of this property. A surprisingly nice property which is well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really nice bathroom!
Liked least: No thrill factor in the breakfast provisions.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we will take your suggestions on board.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie I
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fun step back in time!”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

You may suspect that this little B&B would be super kitsch but you would be wrong! Despite being decked out in 1950's memorabilia, it was not over the top. We could not stop oohing and ahhing as we walked through the door and can totally understand why it's not a place to take kids - you just want to touch and play with everything!

The record player was so much fun. As was the pinball machine. The rooms were super comfy and the bathrooms had every modern convenience.

Our hosts Jannine and Mark invited us into Mark's mini retro museum (complete with XU1 Torana) and we stayed for 3 bottles of wine! The conversation was just wonderful and we had so much fun.

Mark was our host the next day for a private wine tour which he arranged beforehand in consultation with us. We had a fantastic day and he was full of local knowledge of the area and the wineries. By the end of the day, he had the 80s rock cranked up for us and we were singing at the top of our lungs!

The memories from this weekend will be with us for a long time. Thanks Jannine and Mark, for a wonderfully crazy weekend.

Recommend this B&B 100%.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
It was great to meet with you all.. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and Mark also had a great time with the singalong on the wine tour.Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyGirr...
Hornsby, NSW
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FABULOUS EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I've read all the other reviews on this accommodation and wonder what I can add that others haven't already spoken of in glowing terms, but in case you've been asleep, here goes. This is the BEST accommodation in the Barossa. It is unique, beautifully planned and maintained and run by 2 of the nicest and most hospitable and helpful people you could ever meet. The retro style is fun with touches of luxury everywhere, including an amazing spa with room for your champagne and a tv to watch as you enjoy the bubbles-both kinds!
They have just started a wine tour - Barossa Cruisin' in their comfortable air conditioned vehicle during which Mark will accommodate your preferences or design a trip which you will love-especially the Chateau Tanunda and a lovely platter lunch at Schild Cellar door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people, the property and the great location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2014
Thank you for all your kind words. It was our pleasure and we thoroughly enjoyed your company.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing