We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
118
21
9
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
21
9
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house complimentary port great hosts cooked breakfast guest rooms sumptuous breakfast treat their guests relaxing stay rooms are beautiful honesty bar fabulous place r r spa bath bed was very comfortable glass of wine jane property
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2018

We had a very pleasant stay at Abbotsford and we enjoyed pleasant surroundings and conversations with the ownersover breakfast. The rooms were pleasant and large, however we were disappointed to learn that because we booked via an agent, that the room would not be serviced throughout our stay. OK, so this could be a cost cutting exercise to minimise overheads on a discounted stay (it still wasn't cheap) HOWEVER, when tea/coffee/port is provided in the rooms and there are clearly no washing up facilities in the guest rooms, would it really be too much to ask to have the glasses and crockery washed and replaced daily? Having to try to rinse these items ourselves in the bathroom sink, with no cleaning materials was very disappointing. If it hadn't been for this false economy on the part of the hosts, I would have rated this place very good.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank electroshock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Jane and Julian are simply put one of the most inspiring, hard working and wonderful people we have ever met. I speak on behalf of myself and 3 of my mates that stayed at Abbotsford for 3 weeks, doing voluntarily work. The family provided us with everything we needed and even more so. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and home and we quickly noticed how well they treat their guests. They are very just and respectful. It does not take much to see how important it is for them to provide the best conditions for their guests. The rooms are beautiful and perfect if you want to get away from your usual working day and simply relax.

Jane is the best chef hands down. We still miss the view, the food and last but not least this amazing family. Therefore we recommend Abbotsford with all our hearts.
We could write at least a 1000 good things about the hosts and the place but doubt Tripadvisor would let us. Stay here and we're sure you wont regret it!

/4 Danish guys :)

Room tip: Rooms close to the big house
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 980alihana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Spent the weekend at this fabulous place in the Barossa. Accommodation fabulous, owners friendly and accommodating to all our needs. The location itself peaceful and relaxing. I highly recommend this place to visitors to the valley.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

We loved the Abbotsford Country House. The Hosts Jane and Julian are very welcoming and their communication with us in the lead up to our stay was excellent. Our room was just lovely with a beautiful view and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Thank you for the complimentary port!! The main house which we had access to 24/7 was very relaxing and cosy.

Julian made us and outstanding cooked breakfast!!

The only downside of the location is that it is a drive into Lyndoch village(small) as well as Tanunda (great restaurants and coffee). Which is not far away but not within walking distance.

We would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thejuddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Abbotsford house reminded me of going home to your mothers or grandmothers. Comfortable but slightly old-fashioned. Cosy but not 100% clean and tidy. A few cobwebs a bit of dust and A few repairs needed to be done.
This was not a four-star 4 to5 star hotel experience. It was more a homely stay in somebody’s home. You are made to feel welcome and the food was tasty.

A nice experience but nothing exceptional.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank AdelaideLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews