We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite OBX restaurant !”

Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe
Ranked #13 of 92 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At Lone Cedar Café, we specialize in fresh and local Outer Banks seafood. If you're craving the freshest fish, clams, crab, shrimp and oysters from local North Carolina waters, you'll find them at the Lone Cedar Café.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Best seafood in the Outer Banks! The food is always fresh and delicious! And the wait staff are courteous, friendly and knowledgeable. We make a point to visit at least once (and usually more often) every time we visit the OBX.

Thank robinbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june39, Owner at Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you very much for making us a part of your Outer Banks visits! It makes us very happy to know you always enjoy dining with us! We are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 73 of 1 619 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

My wife and I have become fans of this restaurant ever since our first visit in May 2017. The food and service are always excellent. The dining area is not only comfortable but provides a beautiful view of the water. There is an osprey nest within a short distance from the back windows which allows the guests an up close view of an osprey family.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JJJJJtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june39, Owner at Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you so much for your five-star review! We love our fans! We appreciate you, and we hope you'll dine with us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

I’ve been here several time and quality of food is superb! This experience was different, due to I was bringing 33 children and chaperones. Same superb and fresh quality of food and service was still excellent! Our group had a very enjoyable dining experience! We did make a reservation and this helped the staff to be ready to accommodate a large party. Whenever I am in the OBX area (with a group or by myself), I will return to eat at this phenomenal establishment!

Thank BigStomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june39, Owner at Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

We just love being your "Great Choice"! Thank you for dining with us whenever you are visiting the Outer Banks. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Took the family here for Father’s day second year in a row. We really enjoyed the food. Most like the crab dip, but for me it was the blacked Mahi and the FRIED SHRIMP - dang they are the best!!!!!!! My mouth is watering now just thinking about them. On the list for next year!!

Thank BillReel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june39, Owner at Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for spending Father's Day with us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our buffet...especially the blackened Mahi and fried shrimp! We are looking forward to seeing you next year...if not before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Went to basnights twice the week of June 17th. As always the food was exceptional. Night one service was great. Night two the service was slower and the waiter didn't seem very interested in being there. Repeatedly took 15 + minutes to get drinks and did bring our exact order. We are treating this as one off as 5 of 6 visists over past few years were exceptional. Very highly recommend, fresh seafood!

Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june39, Owner at Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Many thanks for making us a part of your Outer Banks visit! We love hearing how much you enjoyed our fresh local food, but we are sorry the service did not meet expectations during your second visit of the week. We will certainly address this with our staff. We hope you'll dine with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing