We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great”

Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe
Ranked #11 of 91 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At Lone Cedar Café, we specialize in fresh and local Outer Banks seafood. If you're craving the freshest fish, clams, crab, shrimp and oysters from local North Carolina waters, you'll find them at the Lone Cedar Café.
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Based on many visits over the past 20+ years, they are as good a seafood restaurant as any I've been to in 70 years. Great service, excellent food sourced locally, wonderful ambience. Fried oysters are a favorite, but are only available when the local waters are cold enough. Wanchese clam chowder is excellent. Cornbread is a favorite. I've never had a bad meal there.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june39, Owner at Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Rick,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe! We appreciate your continued support, and we look forward to serving you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 131 of 1 632 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

After church, go to Lone Cedar for lunch. It’s a little pricey and you might blow away from the wind blowing across the causeway on the way in and out, but you get a beautiful view of the Sound, friendly waitstaff, and good food. Nice to walk around the gardens on site as well.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank litw8ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june39, Owner at Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Many thanks for joining us for Sunday Brunch! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Great seafood restaurant with a beautiful view. Highly recommended! Loved the broiled seafood platter.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june39, Owner at Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Thank you so much for dining with us! We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We went for Sunday Brunch. I was going to have grilled pork chops I was told they had them it turned out they did not. My parents wanted turkey also gone they had clamless clam chowder. The only good thing was she crab soup. We have been going here for years. but it has gone Way Downhill!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marcdjung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june39, Owner at Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Thank you for dining with us. We apologize for not having the dishes you requested. We are open for just 4 days per week right now, and, since we serve fresh food, sometimes we don't have enough for more diners than expected. We do hope you'll give us another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

We have been to Bassnights many times over the past 10 years, and increasingly disappointed. The seasonal menu has good variety, but the quality of the food & service continue to disappoint. 3 of us had scallops tonight - they were small and over cooked. The grit cake was good, but that was the highlight. Our water tasted like dishwasher. It's disappointing - especially for the price!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank shb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june39, Owner at Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

We thank you for dining with us, and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will certainly adddress them with our staff. We hope you'll choose to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing