We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great OBX find!”

Old Nags Head Cafe'
Ranked #20 of 92 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Old Nags Head Cafe continues the Roderer family tradition of the great food and Outer Banks North Carolina hospitality we've been offering Nags Head restaurant diners since 1985. Housed in the historic Harris Grocery store on the beach road that served vacationers up until the late 70s, our café's easy-going, beachy atmosphere provides the perfect setting for a gathering of friends or a quiet evening. We like how one of our guests described us, "The restaurant/bar has a very neighborhood feel but is classier than your standard beach seafood shack. Lots of wood paneling and a tasteful amount of local flavor make it a great place for a low key night or casual date." We do strive to make you feel like you're a long-time local, even if it's your first visit, with our friendly servers and easy-going style. That's the way a Nags Head restaurant should be! Complementing our surroundings is a menu that's setting a standard for Nags Head restaurants. Enjoy traditional and contemporary Southern dishes as well as the best in fresh local seafood, chicken, chops, hand-cut Angus beef, pasta, soups, salads, sandwiches, daily specials and homemade desserts. We've been told you can't come to this place without experiencing fried green tomatoes or shrimp and grits! While you're dining, your view is of Nags Head's row of unpainted aristocratic cottages, summer homes that were the first to establish the Outer Banks of North Carolina as a vacation destination. You're also across from the iconic Jockey's Ridge. Old Nags Head Cafe also has a full-service bar with an extensive beer and wine list, and we're happy to accommodate your take-out order.
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

We had dinner here and it was a great find. The waitress was super friendly, the food was all good—especially the fried green tomatoes. Older building, but very clean inside—very. We’ll go back again!

Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Old Nags Head Cafe', responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thanks so much Ellen...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2018

We stop in for breakfast on occasion since we are OBX monthly. Have always found their breakfasts to be very good. I particularly like the fried potatoes. One word of caution. They are already salted, and just right for me. The white toast appears to be sour dough. It was still warm enough to melt butter when it arrived. Great taste! And they have gravitated away from serving coffee in tea cups. It's now in a mug. Much better. The service is ample and friendly.

When we arrived, the only available two top was under a wall air conditioner. It was too cold just below, and the hostess very graciously assigned us to a 6 top instead. We were thankful. I suggested that they put an extended shelf out from the wall, just below the unit, to deflect the cold air horizontally over the diners at that table. We shall see if they get around to it this season.

One minor downside. The wine queen ordered the Cajun omelette. She says it was very good. But there were just three small pieces of shrimp in it, not even three whole shrimp. They could do better. But overall, it's a good place for breakfast.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Big-Deeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Old Nags Head Cafe', responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

The Old Nags Head Cafe is on the Beach Road with a view of the traditional cedar shingle houses and the dunes across the street. The staff is friendly, the food is great and the prices are good. Come on in for a calm, comfortable meal.

Thank tim0thymk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch today , after seeing a picture of this delicious looking pretzel on their facebook page , I got it ( new to the menu this year) by far the tastiest, most satisfying appetizer ( which could easily be a meal on its own) split perfectly with my honey and I. He got the fish tacos!!!! ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!!!! Cannot wait to be back here again in June!! (Last year we stopped for breakfast & will be back once a trip for the rest of our lives!)

Thank lkrull92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Old Nags Head Cafe', responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you so much for your patronage, we truly do appreciate it and also for the kind words and compliments. We look forward to seeing you and providing you with great food and service during all of your visits. Thank you once again from all of us at Old Nags Head Cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Our waitress has been there 23 years! In today’s world, that says something! Mahi-Mahi tacos were good. Small local place. Feels like a clean little beach restaurant!

Thank 50statetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Nags Head Cafe' also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Old Nags Head Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing