We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cabin + setup + hosts!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bear Cub Chalet

Bear Cub front with mature trees
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bear Cub front with mature trees
View of Candy Mountain View from deck, church and  Candy mountain
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
117 reviews
Bear Cub front with mature trees
View of Candy Mountain
View from deck, church and  Candy mountain
Fall view from covered porch
Living area
Bear Cub front deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Murphy, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 117 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
1 review
“Great cabin + setup + hosts!”
Reviewed 17 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We had a great time at the bear cub cabin! The hosts were thoroughly informative about all details and a delight to coordinate with. The property was absolutely perfect for us - fenced in yard and deck was PERFECT for our pups, the screened in porch was lovely, and the interior of the home was cozy and homey, offering everything we needed and more. Thank you for providing a wonderful getaway - - we will most certainly be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2018
Thanks for this wonderful review!

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AAADADDY
Prospect, Ohio
1 review
“A very nice secluded home.”
Reviewed 17 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This home is far enough away from Murphy but still close enough to enjoy the nearby attractions. You feel very comfortable here, almost like it is your own. I would recommend this place to anyone. My girls and I enjoyed the area very much. We did not have a long enough time here as far as I was concerned. My next trip here will be longer for sure. There is much to do and places to go visit. You will need nothing other than a trip to the local grocery store.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2018
Thanks for the great review! Quiet but very safe. Owners live close by.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ss05whitl...
Zebulon, North Carolina
1 review
“Bear cub chalet”
Reviewed 23 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We had a wonderful experience at our rental.The place was peaceful and clean.Thanks for the souvenir mugs, very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2018
Thanks for posting your kind words.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kysdaddy
Murphy, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect as Always”
Reviewed 18 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Another great month de stressing from teaching at Greg and Paula’s aka Bear Cub. Place is immaculate upon arrival- all the little touches are seen to by Greg and Paula. Oh, and this year I hit a pot hole, blew out tire, couldn’t get wrecker-I call Greg who is there to help in minutes. Honestly, you can look, but you can’t find a nicer place or better people than the Lawrences. Since this is supposed to be a review let me review: Bear Cub is spacious and kept in tip top shape. You won’t have to worry about bringing much other than clothes. Kitchen is loaded out. Privacy is great as two bedrooms down and one up. Two large porches on separate sides to insure some solitude when needed. Google “Things to do in Murphy NC” for keeping busy, or be bums like we are. (I do highly recommend Hiawassee Health Club to swim and work out-close, clean, cheap). We have been coming here to Bear Cub for 10 years if that tells you anything. Close enough to everything to keep busy if you want or to read, rest, relax, and recuperate from our hectic society if that’s your desire. Bear Cub is a jewel!
Rodney, Joy, Ky Field
Okeechobee, Florida

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2018
WOW!!! What an awesome review! We love hosting Y'all!!!

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo P
1 review
“Great Cabin”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We loved staying at Bear Cub, the place was so clean and neat, with a beautiful decoration, Greg and Paula are great hosts , me and my family had an amazing experience, we highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2018
Thanks for this wonderful review! It was nice meeting your lovely family.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing