We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bear Cub Chalet

Bear Cub front with mature trees
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bear Cub front with mature trees
View of Candy Mountain View from deck, church and  Candy mountain
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
114 reviews
Bear Cub front with mature trees
View of Candy Mountain
View from deck, church and  Candy mountain
Fall view from covered porch
Living area
Bear Cub front deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Murphy, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 114 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fb1005494...
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
“excellent place”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Very cozy, spotless and excellent place. You can find everything you need and we enjoyed the breathtaking view around especially this time of the year. We are very much looking forward to next time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
It was nice of you to take tome to post this great review!

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kweaver30
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
“AWESOME”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Bear Cub Chalet is a beautiful cabin nestled in the woods with an awesome view. It has all the amenities you need for your perfect stay, very convenient location & very peaceful, relaxing atmosphere. Owners Greg & Paula are friendly wonderful hosts and make you feel at home. Also, cabin is pet friendly which is a HUGE PLUS because I take my little baby "Molly" with me wherever I go. She thoroughly enjoyed the layout of the cabin & especially the fenced portion of the yard with access to the porches so she run free without being leashed.
We had a wonderful vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout of property & cabin
Liked least: Charcoal grill, would have preferred gas grill
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Thanks for this awesome review! We loved hosting your party and Molly.

Paula & Greg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin itself plus the location and the super hosts.
Liked least: There really wasn't a least like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Sep 2016
Thanks for this awesome testimony! We strive to make our cabins your home away from home.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John L
2 reviews
“Wonder week in Heaven”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We really enjoyed our week in this cabin. It was very clean and conveniently located for lots of activities. We also enjoyed the fishing pond.
The cabin has a large parking area which is level for the most part. We brought our motorcycle and the cabin was very easy to access on the motorcycle with ample parking for our truck and trailer.
Greg and Paula have several nice cabins and this one rates right at the top.
They live adjacent to the cabin and Greg walked over to introduce himself to my wife and I.
He let us know they were nearby if we needed anything but were in no way intrusive.
We will be booking again for next year.
Thanks Greg and Paula for a great, relaxing week.
John and Joy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and conventiently located. Easy access
Liked least: Having to leave after staying only one week.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
Thanks John and Joy for this wonderful review! Looking forward to your stay for September 2017. Our properties are filling up already for next year.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kysdaddy
Murphy, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best I Have Found”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Paula and Greg are wonderful as is Bear Cub. The Lawrences have thought of everything to make their guests comfortable- this year they had done tons of little touches. It is first and foremost METICULOUSLY clean. You will not find a cleaner place to stay anywhere. Next, is how well stocked it is from kitchen utensils to towels to sheets. Then, Greg and Paula afford you privacy and quiet. We honestly would love to see more of them because they are great people, but they are protective of your vacation time and your privacy. This is getting lengthy, so I will wind down. This IS the place to stay! You will love it! Rodney Field-Okeechobee, Florida

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
WOW!!! Thanks for this outstanding testimony. We love you guys come back every year. See Y'all in 2017.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing