We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible Mountain Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
View from loft bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from loft bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
View from loft bedroom
Fireplace in great room
Upstairs bedroom king bed
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
Shower in Master Bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Maggie Valley, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Larry0402
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A beautiful cabin, but I would not recommend the location for anyone due to the condition of the roadways"”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We loved the cabin. It was clean and beautiful, as advertised. It is high up in the mountains and the views from the back porch are outstanding However, we could not get up the route we were given by the owner with our front wheel drive Honda mini van. Our trip was during the summer months, in July. The caretaker of the property had someone take their four wheeler, and show us a different path. Most of the roads were unpaved, and only one lane. Every trip out and back to the cabin was treacherous, and the roads are very dangerous. Because of the road conditions, I would not recommend this rental. Perhaps if you have a four wheel drive, it would be easier. However, the one way road is still very dangerous, with mirrors placed in various corners to presumably protect against head on collisions, and boulders placed along the edges. Carefully review the lease terms, particularly about the no refund policy if you cannot get to the cabin due to road conditions.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
We try to ensure that our guests are warned in advance that 4-wheel drive is strongly recommended. This is the first guest in 15 years of rentals that says they could not get up the road during summer months. Prior experience with mountain roads is strongly recommended and I will update my description to reflect this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M
Crivitz, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible Mountain Retreat”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If you wish to get away from the tourist hustle, then this is the place for you. Resting high above Maggie Valley, this place is exactly as the pictures indicate: quaint, comfortable, quiet, picturesque, and remote. A four wheel drive is recommended as the gravel road is quite steep, but once you are there, what a treat awaits. Rest in a rocking chair, play a game with family, cook on the grill, sit in the hot tub, make s'mores by the fire pit, swing with your grandchild on the swing, eat out on the incredible deck, at the breakfast island or at the dining room table. This place feels as if your best friends are letting you stay in their vacation home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners did an incredible job of creating a comfortable space.
Liked least: The drive up can be daunting.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIJ64
Oviedo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Price is Right.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Very very nice place. Well equiped and comfortable.
Kitchen is well stocked with appliances and everthing in good order.
Owners are very friendly and great to work with, and are open to constructive comments. They are also very helpfull with any questions or concerns and were will to make suggestions regarding the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition of the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ma
Reviewed 28 June 2013 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FL
Reviewed 28 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing