We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect beach get away”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Long Beach, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FrequentF...
1 review
“Perfect beach get away”
Reviewed 9 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We loved our stay at the wooden whale. We had never been to oak island before and is now a new favorite location. It was quiet and not crowded at all, plenty of room to yourself. There are plenty of great food locations with gorgeous views.

The house is a quick drive to the beach. We would run down to the beach at sunset. The house is a dream. Its even better than the pictures. It was comfortable, cozy and spotless. Everything is brand new and clean. I enjoyed having my coffee in the hammock swing on the porch and taking out door showers after a day at the beach. It was easy to relax and feel on vacation.

The owners were extremely accommodating and helpful. They would respond quickly and answered any questions we had. They have thought of everything you could need during your stay and then some! The house was decorated beautifully and has great curb appeal. My husband and I will definitely be back! Next time we will invite friends to join with us because there is plenty of extra space to share. We highly recommend staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany...
1 review
“Perfect Beach Vacation House!”
Reviewed 19 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

My husband and I stayed at the Wooden Whale for a couple of nights during our family vacation. The house was super clean and cozy! You can definitely tell that David and Jeff put a lot of thought and consideration into making their guests feel welcome and comfortable. The house is absolutely beautiful and we especially loved the screened in porch on the back. It was perfect for spending the nights outside reading a book or enjoying a glass of wine. We look forward to booking again in the future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancyandt...
Willow Spring, North Carolina
1 review
“Beautiful and Comfortable!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We visited The Wooden Whale in July of this year with our family and four grandchildren for a family vacation. It is beautiful, comfortable, has every you need in the kitchen as well as linens, beach chairs, umbrellas, etc. We especially enjoyed the front porch and the screened-in porch on the back. We will be booking further vacations at The Wooden Whale!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
919dale
Snellville, Georgia
1 review
“Cute and Comfortable”
Reviewed 26 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This is the perfect place to escape the everyday craziness of life. The beds are comfortable and the showers are great. The fully equipped kitchen has everything needed to prepare a great meal. The screened-in porch is a great place for morning coffee or evening refreshments. There is also a patio and an outdoor shower. Access to the uncrowded beach is quick and easy and the point is a perfect place to relax and enjoy beautiful sunsets. Southport is nearby and has several good restaurants and lots of amazing shops.

We can’t wait for our next visit!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShannonH...
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Ideal Location, Excellent Amenities, Beautiful Beach House”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My partner and I stayed at the Wooden Whale for a quick weekend getaway in May and could not have been more impressed. David & Jeff have really thought of everything--the kitchen was fully stocked with all of the essentials (cookware, appliances, etc.), the beds were comfortable and clean, and the outdoor shower was a dream (especially after a long day on the beach). The house itself is beautiful; they really outdid themselves with the decor and every inch of the space feels intentional and efficiently utilized.

We enjoyed using the two provided bicycles to ride to the beach and returned home every night to relax with a bottle of wine on the screened in back porch. We had one stormy night on the island, but there were tons of games, Netflix, and magazines provided to keep us occupied!

We can't wait to return to the Wooden Whale and explore all that Oak Island has to offer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing