We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Straight out of a fairytale!”
Outside Chalet Switz at the top of Grassy Mountain Road just a mile up from the Switzerland Inn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside Chalet Switz at the top of Grassy Mountain Road just a mile up from the Switzerland Inn
The front of Chalet Switz The all-wood dining area in Chalet Switz
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Outside Chalet Switz at the top of Grassy Mountain Road just a mile up from the Switzerland Inn
The front of Chalet Switz
The all-wood dining area in Chalet Switz
The inglenook with its stone wood-burning fireplace
Close up of Fireplace
Kitchen with range/oven out of view behind the fireplace chimney
Spiral Stair to Loft
Sunny upstairs bedroom loft
Bedroom Loft with Kohler Greek Tub
Yard with New Dawn Climber, ten new Rose Bushes and Berry Bushes
Sunrise on walk to the village center along Grassy Mountain Road
An evening mood along Grassy Mountain Road
Fall leaf change along Grassy Mountain Road
A neighbor's home at the beginning of Grassy Mountain Road
Dusting of snow on our road
Our old artesian well house and stream along Grassy Mountain Road
Stairs built almost a century ago leading off of Grassy Mountain Road
The nearby Switzerland Inn-- a great place for meals and to take in the views
Ice Cream Shop across from the Switzerland Inn
Another excellent place to dine in the village, next to rare and used bookstore
Below the Switzerland Inn on the hike to Grassy Falls
Another building on walk to Grassy Falls
Nearing the falls
Grassy Falls, a two-mile hike from Chalet Switz
Chalet Switz as a Tower in 1932 with NC Supreme Court Justice Heriot Clarkson
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Little Switzerland, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kelly M
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Straight out of a fairytale!”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was by far THE COOLEST place I've ever stayed! I really felt like I was walking into a cottage that should be in a Disney movie between the gorgeous scenery and the huge wooden front door that opens to reveal the most charming living space. It really felt like time didn't exist here. I loved the cozy eating area and the beautiful stone fireplace! I also loved the lofted bedroom, it made the whole space seem huge since the space was open all the way to the peak of the roof when you walked in. This was the best place for couples to stay, I really can't say enough good things about it! Bettie was also so amazing and so nice, she gave us tons of suggestions on what to see and where to eat while we were staying and was in touch with us the whole time! I can't wait to stay here again in the future and would highly recommend Chalet Switz to anyone looking to get away!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jteague1
Burlington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great couple get away!”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect little place for a couple to get away! It's small but all you need? Watching the sun rise over the mountains from the bedroom was amazing! It was very clean and I had no complaints at all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birder700...
Titusville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little heaven, cant wait!”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed an extended weekend several times in this little gem. You will not be disappointed with the quaintness of this cabin. Fireplace to snuggle in front of. Meadow across the street to set and take in the calmness of the mountain. Take a short hike around the loop(road) and enjoy the nature and scene. Day trip to many sites along the Blue Ridge Pkwy. Go into town for some of the best smoked trout you will ever have, along with the other items they offer on the menu OR stay in and cook a meal at the cabin and dine at the unique table with a view out in to the grounds. I had my family which included three young ladies who enjoyed the fact they got to sleep on the bed in front of the fireplace. It is still a topic of discussion years later.
Which is why Im writting a review now as I am researching the days I wish to book for another trip this fall, cant wait!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peacefulness and ambiance.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max L
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A charming place on top of the mountain”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My wife and I have totally enjoyed a weekend there. It is a very charming historic place with a European layout. I was in particular fond of custom woodwork. The place has everything two people may need. Loved the fireplace in the middle but didn't get a chance to use it... it was warm enough already. We are seriously thinking of coming back again in the winter to get it going.
The best part was communicating with the owner and caretaker. Their responses were very quick and instructions on payment, use of the property as well as directions were very detailed and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout, remoteness, communication with owners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsciarp4
DeBary, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top of the Mountain Chalet”
Reviewed 25 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

At the top of the mountains, above the clouds and away from everything for peace and quiet. This is it! 4,000ft high and in the clouds when one drives back to the Chalet at night.... Warm fire, music , home baked food and reading.
During the day the Linville falls and Gorge hiking trails are a must, with Sugar Mountain skiing and Hawknest Ridge Tubing only an hour away... The nature of North Carolina takes ones breath away.
We travelled with a 5 yr, and 9yr old and found the pull out couch perfect for the children and kitchen equipped with everything necessary... A microwave could make things easier, but reheating was easy with the old saucepan and oven for quickness.
Definitely worth the privacy.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing