We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
49
46
24
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
46
24
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an extended stay hotel office park lake norman birkdale village canadian bacon walking distance breakfast each morning showing its age nice area full size refrigerator room was super clean bathroom sink room suite beer and wine oatmeal hot breakfast the noise level
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Hotel is located more in an office park location which allows for a more quiet location with less traffic. We had a 1BR suite, which was a good amount of room for our stay. The room could use some updates - it seems to be showing its age, but that did not detract from the comfort of our stay. Hotel staff was extremely friendly, which is always an added bonus, and the complimentary breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: We had pets, so a 1st floor room near an exit was great!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren S, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

We greatly appreciate your feedback from your recent stay with us StevenVA! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the accommodations and location, and we hope to see you back if you return to the Lake Norman area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

The hotel is in a great, easy location. It was clean, the staff nice, room was comfortable, BUT it was so cheaply constructed that the sound proofing was non-existent. You could hear arguments from the room below, foot steps from the room above, sounds from adjacent rooms, and as you walked through the halls you could hear conversations. It was very annoying. I would not stay there again. There are plenty of other hotels to choose from, maybe not as conveniently located but still in the area. Also, the internet wasn't super speedy. Adequate, but not super. The hot breakfast looked fine, but I didn't eat there, so can't comment on the quality.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toujoursparis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren S, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Thank you toujoursparis1 for your review of your recent stay. We appreciate the honest feedback and are disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience. We will pass along your feedback to our corporate team to see what resolution we may be able to come up with regarding the issues with sound and noise from other rooms. Again, we are sorry to hear that you won't be back but appreciate your loyalty to Marriott!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom suite for almost 3 weeks in July while waiting to close on our new home. Having spent long periods of time in extended stay hotels previously, I must say this was one of the nicest we've experienced. The staff was pleasant and attentive. Special shout out to Evan, the grill master, Juan, who seemed to be everywhere doing everything, Minnie and Cynthia who were in charge of the breakfasts and the social gatherings (3 nights per week), and Tina at the front desk who was always helpful. The housekeeping staff and maintenance staff was awesome as well. My only complaint was that the utility closet was located in the bedroom and every time the air-conditioning kicked on, there was a loud noise. We asked to have it checked and were told that the machinery was just like that and there was nothing they could do. I can't say I ever got used to the noise but I still feel the hotel rates five stars. The hotel was located near Lake Norman, and there were lots of shops nearby. The kitchenette was nice to have to prepare meals and snacks; a grill was available for use also. All in all, we enjoyed out stay but it is nice to have moved into our new home.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren S, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you Melinda156 for your glowing review of your stay with us over the summer! We are happy you chose us to be your home away home during your move. We hope the transition to the Lake Norman area has been smooth and you are enjoying your new home! If you have friends or family come to visit, we will be happy to host them here! Hope to see you around soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

What was once a great property is now a very average hotel. The old design concept needs to be updated. Not everyone travels with one bag. There is no overhang to give guests protection during inclement weather - this is especially difficult for those with mobility issues. There are better options in the area.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank TripTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 August 2017

Dear Trip Tech,
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and value your feedback. We recently completed a full renovation and are very excited with the new updated look. We apologize for any issues you experienced and will look into the items you mentioned to see how we can better accommodate our guests in those areas. We hope that you will give us another chance when you return to the Lake Norman area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

A clean, well appointed hotel in a great location for access to Lake Norman and Birkdale Village. The rooms were comfortable, the wi-fi fast and available throughout the hotel. The woman who worked in the breakfast area took pride in providing the best breakfast and making sure her guests were happy. The hotel also had a pizza and wine night weekly which was a wonderful surprise when we came back to the hotel after a long day and could not decide what to do for dinner. The staff was pleasant and helpful. You will receive everything you pay for and expect at this residence Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbernst106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 August 2017

Thank you mbernst106 for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the many amenities we have to offer and appreciate the kind words regarding our breakfast attendant and other staff you encountered! We hope to see you again when you return to the Lake Norman area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews