We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location”
Photo courtesy of a guest in our home during the 2017 eclipse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Photo courtesy of a guest in our home during the 2017 eclipse
View from hall of the great room/sunroom.  Woodburning fireplace.  Fully equipped kitchen that is open to the eating/living/sunroom areas.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Photo courtesy of a guest in our home during the 2017 eclipse
View from hall of the great room/sunroom.  Woodburning fireplace.
Fully equipped kitchen that is open to the eating/living/sunroom areas.
Open kitchen and living area as seen from the sunroom.
Jaccuzi tub/shower in hall bathroom.
Loft access from sunroom via spiral staircase.
Loft sitting area with large windows on front of house.
Loft area on back of house with overflow sleeping.
View from loft to sunroom below and one of the two sets of french doors leading to covered deck.
Entrance from carport  into mudroom/laundry room.
Bedroom no 3--antique double bed.
Master BR with king pillow top
Master bath with oversize tiled shower.
Master bath shower.
2nd bedroom-- 2 double beds.
Street view with overflow parking in foreground.
View from deck of driveway to street below.
New in 2017....our covered deck.
April 2017 completion of roof extension to cover the deck.
Plenty of seating on covered deck for rainy day enjoyment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Highlands, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BeachAB14
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This house was perfect for our group in town for a wedding! We were so happy to find the fridge lightly stocked when we arrived and that the home included everything we needed...even a book on nearby hikes which we put to good use!

Lisa was great and very prompt during the booking process.

Will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Could use a half bath
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill S
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
1 review
“"Walk to Town" was perfect for our whirlwind wedding weekend!”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Heading anywhere with a family of 6 is sometimes a challenge in making the right accommodations. We had never been to Highlands, NC, but were attending a family wedding at the Old Edwards Inn & Spa. Our only option (we waited a bit late to book) was 2 rooms that were not quite close together. With 4 young children that was not an option for us to split up the family.

We looked at many rental homes and settled on the "Walk toTown" for it's convenience to the wedding festivities. We've rented many cabin type places in Gatlinburg over the years, but this was by far the quaintest, cleanest, most convenient location for our family. The accommodations were just right. The kids could kick back the little time we were there and relax. My sister-in-law was a last minute show to the wedding and was able to stay with us as well and we didn't feel cramped in the least.

The owners were such a delight as well. They obviously love their home and it shows. It was well kept, very clean and so very comfortable. We usually go to Gatlinburg, but I think the Highlands will be our new "go to" place with it's beautiful mountain setting, lots of outdoor activities and the beautifully quaint town with wonderful shopping! We can't wait to see this place in the Spring and the Fall!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience to town and all activities
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCMan
Central, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Felt Like Home”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this home in late July and early August, 2015 and found the accommodations to be at least as good or better than described on the internet. The house was tastefully decorated in a style that was warm and made you feel at home. We particularly enjoyed having a king sized bed and walk-in shower. The kitchen, living area was spacious and user friendly and we enjoyed the sunroom area for reading. There were only two of us, but with three bedrooms and a loft, the house could certainly accommodate more people. We rented in this area to escape the Florida heat for awhile and it was a welcome relief. The outside deck was nice for relaxing and reading.
Downtown Highlands is a short walk and I did it several times. A mild warning, if you walk, getting back requires going up a slight hill and a very steep driveway. We drove to the bottom of the hill several times and walked from there because it is much flatter. Once in town there are a number of restaurants. We tried many of them and found each to be very good. There are also a number of specialty shops with a variety of places to shop. We focused on the two Christmas shops, but there are many other choices.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Warmth and comfort of the home. Good choice of restaurants
Liked least: Steep driveway
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla R
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
“We spent quality family time in this house.”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our family enjoyed eating a leisurely breakfast around the spacious dining table, playing games, and dancing/shagging in the family room. Even though the internet was temporarily unavailable (no fault of the owners), we had fun WITHOUT the electronic gizmos and gadgets.
This is a wonderful place to stay!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles S
Easley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house...better than advertized!!”
Reviewed 5 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Lisa is the best to deal with. The house was more than expected. Very clean, very roomy, very beautiful place. As the title says..."Walk to town!!" We will definitely return for more visits!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$300
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing