We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Highlands Inn(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park On Main Hotel(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$311/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Chandler Inn(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Main Street Inn Highlands(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
200 Main(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highlands Inn Lodge(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, Inc.(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Old Edwards Inn and Spa(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$401
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
146
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscocktail hourfireplace suitebed and breakfastother guestswonderful hostsb b'sthe stuffed french toastdecorated beautifullybreakfast was deliciouseach eveningshort stayget awaylocation is greatshort drivetop notchgas fireplaceraleigh
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Highlands House Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully furnished secluded spot in an amazing area of the North Carolina mountains. Our suite was very roomy with a spa-like bath and fireplace. Large windows throughout the house enhanced the beauty of our October get-away. We enjoyed a relaxed gourmet breakfast each morning prepared by our hosts and served on lovely china. Happy Hour at 6PM each evening was served in the very large living room that features a fireplace, beautiful view and beautiful furnishings. This bed and breakfast is the perfect spot to come home to after a day of hiking, shopping, and just enjoying everything that Highlands has to offer. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a suite on the main floor. Very quiet and private.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

So glad to read that you enjoyed our new Beardsley Suite, Bill and Kathy! We just added a new gas fireplace in that suite yesterday! Also happy that you got to Scudder's auction
and got to see Mr. Scudder in action.
Looking forward to your return to Highlands House B&B! Raleigh and Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We planned an October 2017 Western North Carolina wedding at the Pretty Place chapel followed by a reception at Brevard College and we desired another location in the mountains to ESCAPE to for a few days afterward, for a honeymoon that we called a "mini-moon." We found the perfect lodging in the Highlands House. We checked into the Terrace Suite, flipped the fireplace on with the click of a remote control, put our leftover wedding cake into the refrigerator, and happily relaxed into the couches to tell each other the story of our wedding events. We loved that the Highlands House offers an 8am to 10am seated (and luxurious) breakfast and a 6pm cocktail hour. These bookended our days of adventure down the Highlands Main Street and through the Panthertown Valley nature area. Whether it is the elevation, shopping, restaurants, waterfalls, or the mysterious feeling of wandering off into the woods for a few hours, I highly recommend the Highlands House be where you set your base camp. We'll return and maybe see you there!

Room Tip: We loved having a fireplace!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susandonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

John and Susan - so glad you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us!You are a wonderful couple and we wish you both a long happy life together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Quiet, dog friendly, secluded... What more could you want? Just a little ways out of the center of town lies this beautiful B & B. Colin and Raleigh are fantastic hosts. The place is decorated beautifully and our hosts made sure we were comfortable. We were in an upstairs room that was newly renovated.. it was amazing! The one down side is that my wife liked the shower so much that I now have to redo our bathroom.
Colin knew so much about the area, even knew the opening and closing times for the shops in town which made my wife very happy. If you are in the area, the Highlands House B & B is a great and relaxing place to spend some time. My only regret is not being able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dj4258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thanks Dave and Linda for the great review! Hope you all got home safely to Delaware!
Please pat Arlo for us - a great dog! Hope to see all 3 of you back at Highlands House very soon! Raleigh and Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Colin and Raleigh are the most gracious hosts and the reason we returned for our third stay with them. This time we stayed in the newly renovated and enlarged Beardsley Suite. It was delightful. The Breakfast each morning and the cocktail hour each evening were a special time to visit with our hosts and to get acquainted with the other guests. It was so nice to see Raleigh on the mend after a short stay in the hospital. We have been to many B&B's over the years, but this one is special!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WallyGHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

It was so good to have you back at Highlands House, Bob and Pat! We enjoy your company so much! Hope the possum dinner at the farm was a "triumph"! Sorry to hear about your knee injury - hope nothing serious!
Look forward to having you both back at Highlands House next year! Working on a new recipe for "give up the ghost" Pancakes! Best Wishes! Raleigh and Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
124
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

This place is perfect and now our 'go to' place in Highlands. It's beautifully decorated and the hosts go above and beyond to make your stay perfect!! We loved the fireplace in our room, along with the large walk-shower and comfortable seating. We could have been happy just staying in the suite! The evening wine is served in Waterford!! Breakfasts are delicious and served on fine china! What a treat!! We highly recommend this if you want relaxed luxury, comfort, and hospitality.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thanks Don and Pat for your great review! Very much enjoyed having you stay with us and sharing your interesting life and travels! Will look forward to seeing you again at highlands House! Best Wishes! Raleigh and Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews