We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place on the river”
other travellers have booked this property
a few steps from parking lot at Dry Falls
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
a few steps from parking lot at Dry Falls
Picnic tables, benches, fire pit by the river
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
a few steps from parking lot at Dry Falls
Picnic tables, benches, fire pit by the river
birdhouse in the front
BBQ, view and listen to the river on the deck
bbq on covered private deck
hummingbirds keep coming
fireplace an TV (Dish Network with many channels) in the living room
living room has a sofa and a love seat
dishwasher
Back bedroom with a big window, river view
bath attach to the back bedroom
Front bedroom
washer and dryer
Blue berry bushes are flowering in the spring
Canada geese in the river
Kwanzan cherry tree is blooming in the backyard in the spring
Tubes and floats are provided.  Put in upstream, float to property.
from our back yard
fall color in the backyard
walk under Dry Falls
walk under Dry Falls nearby
bridal veil falls right on rte 28/64
Fall Colors peak soon
cullasaja falls is very near
Dollywood Splash Country Water Park only 45 scenic miles away!  
Save big on rates here.
Scenic hwy to most visited national park nearby
Nearby Highlands Aerial Park Zip Lines!
Ask us about this special place
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Franklin, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Todd v
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
“Great place on the river”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved our stay at Riverwatch. The upstairs was a great bargain and very clean and well kept. Plenty of things to do, great roads and things to see. Beautiful area with friendly folks. The kids really enjoyed being able to float down tubes on the river. There is a small drop off point about a mile upstream and you can simply float back to the house in a half hour to 45 minutes. Overall it was a great vacation and the place did not disappoint. Thanks!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel B
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, decent rental”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Ok, first thing and the only reason it's not a 5 is the pricing on the website Flipkey. It said it was $90 per night (now advertising for $75 per night) They charged $211 for 2 nights, plus $17 in taxes and $60 for a cleaning fee. There is also a deposit which I do expect to get back. So it is more economical to stay additional nights since there is the $60 cleaning fee. For the 2 nights we stayed our cost was $144 per night or $288 after we get the deposit back.

As far as the place goes - awesome location! The river behind is just deep enough to tube. We looked on a the map and drove around the road looking for spots to drop tubes in. We finally found a mobile home park on 64 that had a area with a low enough slope to get tubes to the water. My boys all tubed back to the rental and we took them back up river several times. The last ride they made was in the pouring rain but they had a blast and it wasn't thundering or anything like that. Each trip took about 45 minutes. A nice mountain drive on 64 and you hit the first waterfall in about 15 minutes! from there, we saw several more on the way to Highlands to zipline.

The house/duplex/lodge was clean. We opened every window in the place since it was only 74 outside so I don't know if the ac works or not but I assume it does. The beds were comfortable. There were plenty of supplies you might need. We brought so much with us and really wouldn't have needed any of it. It has silverware, dishes, spatulas etc. The bathrooms are both inside a bedroom so if you do have 6 people those sleeping on the couch bed in the living room will have to go through a bedroom to get to the bathroom, not a big deal for us.

It rained both days we were there. There is a TV in the living room with satellite. It worked well. The TV in the front bed room didn't appear to be connected to satellite. The back bedroom had something called SMART TV XBMC. It took me a while to figure out how to find the shows but once I did I never could get any shows to play. It always it failed to load. Again not a big deal for us because we can watch tv at our own house but my husband is used to watching something on tv while going to sleep and we couldn't do that. I recommend the owner update or check on the system before winter because it probably would be annoying if the weather was too cold to sit on the back porch.

The place has several blueberry bushes and there were wild blackberries in several places. I loved snacking on nature's candy.

The cabinets are mix/mashed, some of the stuff is dated but it was clean, comfortable and definitely a decent place to stay in a good location. We are actually considering booking for a week next summer. I'd recommend. It beat my popup camper, tent or single room cabin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location! Loved sitting on the deck watching the river
Liked least: Lack of working Smart TV in the bedroom - just put satellite in there.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2015
It is common for all listings to say "from $.." or "as low as", then quote the winter rate. Our rates are said to be 24% lower than similar properties in this prime location.
All earnings from this property have went to improvements, and adding new amenities.
The new TV and Smart TV box for the bed room was just added, and has not been fully configured yet.
We thank her for the review, and welcome her back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
225betty2...
Ridgeley, West Virginia
1 review
“home a way from home!”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

nice place to spend a week. the house was just the right size for my family [my daughter, grandson and myself]. there were thunder storms through out the week so we spent a lot of time in the house. there was only one tv that worked and there was not much on it to watch, i am spoiled by cable, that gave us time to play with my 18 month old grandson. the water falls in the area are beautiful, took a lot of photos...

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexetta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved chasing the waterfalls!”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our lodge. It was very accommodating & the view was awesome! The owner's even came over to check on us & gave us a gift. We really enjoyed our vacation at Riverdance Lodge!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hiking and Gemming”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our short stay in Franklin was great. The property was adjacent to a creek and the view from the upper half of the duplex as pleasant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing