We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but limited gluten free”

Rizzo's Bakery and Bistro
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

The food was fresh and tasted good, but gluten free options are limited to salad, a single soup, and bunless sandwiches. Again, the food was better than average, but if they offered sandwiches on a quality gluten free bread like Canyon Bakehouse (which can be kept frozen), they would have repeat business from those of us with food allergies or those with gluten intolerance.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Got off in Franklin looking for breakfast and found Rizzo’s - open at 8 am - mistake - they actually open at 11. But they were so sweet at 10 that they let us in and were so gracious even though they were trying to get out a big order. The apple turnover, cookies and cupcakes we bought were all fabulous. Thanks for turning our mistake into a blessing! If you get a chance give this lovely place a try. (BTW even the bathroom was elegant.)

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank NancyJDurrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

My husband and I dine out frequently. We had enjoyed a previous dinner at Rizzo's and looked forward to a similar experience. We made 7:30 pm Saturday night reservations.

We were seated at a small table in the front and ordered a bottle of wine, followed by appetizers. We were enjoying our evening, except that the hurried staff was sweeping up around the 3 tables of patrons who were also at various stages of their meals. At 8:10 we were told that the kitchen would be closing at 8:30 so we placed our order -- we were still enjoying our appetizers.

Our main courses arrived quickly but as we were still working on our appetizers the server placed our entrees on an empty table nearby and left them sitting there rather than returning them to the warmer in the kitchen. Naturally, when we were ready for our main courses, they were very cold.

While we were eating our cold meals, the servers were spraying cleansers on adjacent tables. We were offered to-go boxes, but no dessert of coffee. We expected that we wouldn't be offered coffee since we watched the staff dump it shortly after 8 pm, while there were still at least 8 diners.

Another group of 4 patrons arrived at 8:15 for coffee and dessert. They were treated very rudely by the staff. Since all but one cup of regular coffee had been dumped, they drank water with their dessert. No one even considered making a fresh pot!

Apparently, when the kitchen closes at 8:30, the staff gets to leave, so they rush paying customers through their meals.

We will not return to Rizzo's.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Quaint, small lunch/dinner/bakery; upscale, fabulous food at a very reasonable price. Excellent service.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank coralreef37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Do not miss this local favorite! You will not be disappointed! Friendly service, carefully prepared food and very reasonable pricing makes Rizzo's our family favorite for any occasion! They do carry out too if you want to dine along the Greenway!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wunder3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rizzo's Bakery and Bistro also viewed

Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Rizzo's Bakery and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing