We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great vacation”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Corolla, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dalewhite...
Radford, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great potential, but poor maintenance.”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is the most expensive place that we have stayed in the last 15 years and has the potential for being a great place. There is lots of space and nice features, but the owners don't take care of the place. There were spider webs all over the outside and inside of the cottage. We killed several spiders inside and there were webs everywhere inside.. There were six different wasp nests on the decks outside. The landscaping is terrible and not maintained. The light switches outside didn't work. We had no lights in the outside showers and the switches to the pool lights didn't work so they stayed on the whole time we were there. Outer Banks Blue was pretty responsive to our calls and texts and hired KICZ Maintenance to unclog the kitchen sink. Those guys worked hard and didn't quit until they had the problem fixed. If someone did a better job of maintaining the place, I would highly recommend it, but until then I would say find somewhere else to stay.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen S
Burke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vacation”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at dozens of OBX properties over the years. This home is above average in several ways but it does show wear and tear. The positives- lovely, bright family room with gorgeous views in all directions, comfortable beds and sofas, pool and hot tub were perfect with late afternoon shade, nice layout of bedrooms, new flat screen TVs. Negatives - decking is worn, sliding doors/back doors getting very old, no screen porch, older appliances especially the ovens. For parents there is no safety fence around pool so you have to be careful. For us the positives far outweighed the negatives at this property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CME221
Union Bridge, Maryland
1 review
“Potential for greatness”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This house has the potential for greatness due to its layout, amenities and proximity to the beach. However, many of the recent reviews submitted this summer (2013) I am afraid are true. Within 2 days of arrival the pool started to get cloudly and green. A call was put in the next day but it took over 24 hours and 2-3 more calls to have someone come out to address it. Bottom line is we lost use of the pool for 48 hours, but I will say that the person that did come was very friendly and did correct the problem and continued to check on the pool several times a day for the remainder of our stay. The other issues with the house have to do with lack of maintaining the home and really isn't something that can be addressed by the rental company during a stay. It's been stated many times that this is a very popular rental, however the owner should seriously consider continued improvements for this property to reach its full potential. The decor, bedding and the main living area furniture did seem to be new/updated for the better from the pictures on the rental site. The problems we experienced with the grill not working properly, ants in the kitchen, standing water in the tubs/showers, potential water issues in the upstairs master bathroom were all things one may expect to see with a rental, but the pool issue on top of all of the smaller issues is what tipped the scales to the negative side of our experience in this house. The responses to the reviews continue to highlight the positive fact that the house is located so close to the beach and that it is one of the most popular rentals but that will never outweigh the negative experiences continually reported with this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location to the beach
Liked least: losing use of the pool for 2 days, upkeep of the house
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corolla hotels

Mark S
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“House is tired and needs repairs and updating”
Reviewed 14 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We have been staying in Corolla for years and consider Pine Island one of the nicest areas. This house however was a big disappointment. There were so many things broken and in disrepair, the owners obviously haven't kept up with the wear and tear of an OBX rental property.

We called the rental management company about the main issues and some were handled in a few days, others never done.

The carpets were stained/dirty, food still under furniture. Master shower was full of hair and was moldy. Basketball hoop was literally missing. Most of the hottub (tub was dirty) controls were broken. Old mattress left next to outside showers, which had not be cleaned. 2 TV Remotes didn't work. Cabinets in kitchen were loose and about to fall. Screens left lying next to windows. Outside was littered with trash. 2 of 4 pool cues were broken.

Owners need to step up, clean and fix house and update past 1987 decor.

Outer Banks Blue was fairly responsive, but should have walked the house, noted broken items and fixed them before our stay. We literally spent the first 2 hours cleaning and repairing what we could.

On the plus side, the house is convienent to the ocean and we had fun neighbors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Overall condition of property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing