We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging(Buxton)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Gull Motel(Hatteras Island)
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Breakwater Inn(Hatteras Island)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
195
94
29
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
94
29
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrocery storeold gray housethe outer bankshatteras islandhardwood floorsice machineroom was largepet friendly roomshort drivenice poolorange blossomking bedsmall fridgepicnic tablesa great place to staycoffee potfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Cape Pines is a vintage motel of the 1960s. Imagine well-maintained accommodations with a pool out front and you’ve got the Cape Pines. Our room was clean and the beds comfortable. In the bathroom the spotless yellow tiles and pink stucco walls were right out of the 60s. Best of all, Regina at the front desk welcomed us with delightful southern charm and warmth. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Anne-Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, Anne-Marie! Regina will be thrilled to read this, so we'll be sure to share this with her.

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Cape Pines Motel is a wonderful place to stay and enjoy the beauty of the OBX. The rooms are miraculously clean and the pool was a delight. The location of this little gem is perfect with a grocery store within a short walking distance and many great restaurants a short drive away, The owners Bill and Angie are on site and treat you like family, I truly enjoyed talking to Bill on a daily basis as I would see him out tending to his property like a proud homeowner. The motel is very pet friendly with a fenced in area behind the motel for letting your dog run and play in a very clean and safe environment. Do yourself a favor and give this place a try, I promise you won't be disappointed. This was our second time staying here and I couldn't be happier with my decision. Thank you Bill and Angie for making our vacation so special !

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank russellroutt92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

You're very welcome -- thank you for staying with us! Glad you felt right at home with us as you got to enjoy your second trip out here.

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

this is a traditional style motel; spotlessly clean and with spacious rooms; the management were informative and helpful and it was good vale for money. located on the main (only) road, it is a good place to be based to experience the outer banks

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stuart q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Stuart, we have to thank you for staying with us while in Buxton! We do our best to make sure every room is spick-and-span, so we're glad that could shine through.

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

The motel is older but clean and comfortable. The room was large with two beds, a microwave, and small fridge. The staff was friendly. The motel also offers a guest freezer for fishermen to store their catch. I can recommend this motel

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Glad we could earn your recommendation, Lee! Seems like our accommodations were perfect for your stay -- hope to see you again next time you're in the area.

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

The Cape Pines Motel is a hidden gem. The rooms were immaculate and the staff excellent. They were helpful and friendly and even changed our room to a first floor room because of my knee problem. The only complaint I have is the bed squeaked quite a bit and was not very comfortable. However, the quaintness and cleanliness definitely were top notch and the location was perfect. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeri1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Now this is a review we'll treasure, Jeri! We appreciate the feedback on our bed -- we certainly want guests to sleep comfortably, so we'd be happy to take a look. Give us a call back and let us know which room you stayed in. And, for future reference, if there is an issue with your bed next time, we can do our best and move you to a vacant room to accomodate.

That being said, we're glad to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back next time you're in the area.

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews