We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“look no further, this is the place”
other travellers have booked this property
Rustic Mountain Living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rustic Mountain Living
Map of Location & Surrounding Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Rustic Mountain Living
Map of Location & Surrounding Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Burnsville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CarolVero
Zebulon
1 review
“look no further, this is the place”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My mom and I spent 5 wonderful relaxing days here. As soon as we walked in we were impressed at how clean everything was. I'm a bit of a germaphobe so i was happy to see how nice and clean the bathroom was. Rick was out of town, and Annette was there to meet us, she is one of the nicest people you'll ever meet, just genuinely a very sweet lady. She was helpful in telling us about the area and suggesting places to go.

The cabin had everything we needed and we really only had to bring groceries.

we drove up to Asheville and spend a day, it was about a 50 minute ride, but we spent most of our time just relaxing at the cabin which is just what we needed. We highly recommend you stay here. We can't wait to go back. 5 stars aren't enough, I would give it 10 stars if I could.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view from the cabin
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2015
CarolVero,
We hope you will return! I enjoyed your visit as well!
Thank you for writing this review!
Rick and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim Y
Bettendorf
2 reviews
“Pet friendly”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

If you are looking for peace and quiet with a beautiful view, this is it. It was very pet friendly. Everything we needed was supplied.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2015
Kim,
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit!
Thanks for your review!
Rick and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
641Marily...
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
“Ashville has its Biltmore House.....Yancey has its palace........”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This home away from home was just what we needed. A peaceful, serene haven with all important amenities were inside this family owned farm house. With songs from nature flowing from the creek into the original spring house, we were lulled to sleep each and every night. The modest, little home was spotless. The claw foot tub was icing on the cake. Annette and Rick were very accommodating, friendly, and respectful to our privacy. We plan to return again the fall and winter. I would highly recommend you consider this home for your next vacation!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's peaceful surroundings and rustic feel.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2015
Thank you for your review! We hope you will come again!
Rick and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly S
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A quaint, hidden treasure!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were looking for a last minute end of the week getaway! We sent the King's a message and they replied right away. My in-laws are here visiting from South America and we were looking for something fun to do before they return home.
They are very affordable and pet-friendly. Our pooches and daughter LOVED running around their property and playing in the creek! We visited two good restaurants in town, Rio (Mexican) and Bubba's (BBQ), both were very tasty and affordable. We also took a drive up to Mount Mitchell, which is just under an hour away.
Neither of my two GPSs could find the location, but Mr. and Mrs. King gave us great directions! I would def recommend this place to anyone! The King's are super nice and accommodating! The cabin is quaint and the views are spectacular! We can not wait to visit again!! Next time, we want to find a place that offers tubing!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Listening to the creek and the views
Liked least: We couldn't figure out how to work the TV in the master bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2015
Holly we are glad you and family ejoyed your visit! Thank you for your
reviews"
Rick and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeme12
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
“Stop searching, stay here!!!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

First, I cannot do the spectacular mountainous view justice in photos or with words. I can only say, if you are looking for a semi-secluded cabin that is appropriately placed at the mouth of a valley and beneath the clearest star-lite night sky, this is the ideal place. PURE SERENITY. In the morning we would watch the white fog cascade over the ridges, exposing the most beautiful view of nature I have ever experienced.

Rick was prompt in greeting us upon arrival and made the transition seamless and convenient. The deposit you pay, initially, is applied to the cost of your stay, so you only have to pay what is remaining of the invoice.

Our pets loved it here. We traveled with our dog and cat (who are deaf) and we were able to let them out into the huge yard without worrying for their safety.Rick owns a lot of the land surrounding the property, so on numerous occasions me and the dog would trek through the woods just exploring the untamed forest.

The inside of the cabin is adequately stocked with everything you would have in your own home. The kitchen is huge with seating for about 4 people and the living room also can accommodate roughly 4 people as well. There is a remote controlled fire place that can heat the cabin in literally 10 minutes. All I would recommend you bring are your clothes and grocery and you are set.

It would be unfair of me to write this review without touching on some of the not so spectacular points of our stay. The internet connection is slightly weak. I work as a website developer for college university's and at times it was hard for me to get my I pad or Mac book connected to the WiFi. (Verizon phone service does work when standing outside in the yard) The internet provided to the cabin is not an independent source but instead it is an "extension connection" from Rick's home which is directly across the street. Also, it would not hurt to have a better arrangement of couch seating in the living room. There is seating for two people on one couch and a single chair for one other guest.

What is there to do here? The Blue Ridge Parkway is conveniently located just south of the cabin. We drove for 1-hour on the Parkway to Mt. Michelle for the unbelievable views of mountain ranges. Zip lining at Navitat is a must on the to-do-list. I am terrified of heights, however, this was the highlight of our trip. Relax, the best thing to do while staying at the Yancey Palace is RELAX. The sound of the motivated creek near the back deck lends itself well to the picturesque views of the terrain.

Final note: Stay here!!! I looked for weeks at all kinds of websites for an escape from our city life and here we found it at an affordable price without trading in luxurious accommodations. Rick you were great and your place has become our annual getaway location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coming
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Please come stay again!
Rick and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing