We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing cabin, Amazing views, Amazing...”
other travellers have booked this property
'BE' WITH MOUNTAINS
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'BE' WITH MOUNTAINS
NATURE'S MAGNIFICENCE IN YOUR OWN BACKYARD
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
'BE' WITH MOUNTAINS
NATURE'S MAGNIFICENCE
IN YOUR OWN BACKYARD
PERCHED HIGH AND PRIVATE!
YET EASILY ACCESSIBLE
CEDAR LOGS & STONE
MAKE SMILES
SERENE AND COMFORTABLE
NO ONE NEAR
STEP INSIDE
LOTS TO SEE
INSIDE AND OUT
COZY UP
FULL KITCHEN
WELL APPOINTED
UPPER KING SUITE
LOWER KING SUITE
SHUFFLEBOARD, 3D, AND SLEEPER SOFAS
FULL LAUNDRY
JACUZZI FOR SIX
LOTS OF RAINBOWS
MAGICAL CLOUDS
CLOUD SEA
DANCING
INTO THE SUNSETS
CANTILEVERED DECK
SWING WITH THE WIND
FIRE PIT AT THE EDGE
JUNE 2015 GUEST FIRE PIT PHOTO
LOTS OF FUN FOR KIDS
PICK FROM JOANIE'S GARDEN
RELAX INTO FALL
HOW ABOUT WINTER
PEACEFUL IN THE FOREST
NO PROBLEM GETTING AROUND
BE PART OF IT
AND IT PART OF YOU
THERE'S WARM IN WINTER
AND SOMETIMES CRYSTALLINE
THEN EARLY SPRING
AND REFRESHING MORNINGS
GREEN FILLS THE VALLEYS
AND THERE ARE INTIMATE WEDDINGS
MOMENTS WITH DAD
NEW BLESSINGS
JOURNEY FOR A LIFETIME
IT'S ALL NEARBY ON OUR RIDGE
'WE'D LOVE TO WELCOME YOU'
Joanie & Gary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Boone, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AkronTrav...
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Amazing cabin, Amazing views, Amazing accomodations”
Reviewed 23 February 2013 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I originally wrote this review back in August and for some reason had issues with it posting. Here we go again:

My husband and I have been visiting the Boone/Blowing Rock area for about 12 years and have stayed in various wonderful rental properties.This is by far the best for a variety of reasons. And, since we had such a wonderful experience, we are returning this September with my parents. I can't wait to share this cabin with them.

What makes the property stand out, is you feel as if you are in the middle of nowhere, with an incredible long range view, but yet you are so close to Boone and Blowing Rock. The property is right off the Blue Ridge Parkway in Bamboo Gap, about a 10 minute drive to grocery stores, dining, shopping, hiking, etc.
I’ll be honest, when we first drove up to the property we had our concerns regarding the view. Why? Because we came from downtown Boone and never realized how close you could be to Boone, yet have the beautiful long range view of the mountains without all the commercial development in site. How wrong we were!

The property is gorgeous, 22 acres of beautiful mountains and landscaping. Pockets of flowers and gardens throughout the property. You are encourage to walk around explore the property. Between the “cottage” and “cabin” there's a scenic “play” area for all guest to enjoy. It has a beautiful deck with chairs, horse pit, hammock, fire pit and swing set. Perfect for anyone to enjoy – couples, friends and families.

Staying here is unique and different than any other experience I've had. To me it’s a cross between the privacy of a private home & and the personal touch of a bed and breakfast, it really is like no other.

The Kilkelly’s are amazing, accommodating, wonderful people, and go out of their way to make your experience memorable. I had a good feeling about them during my first phone conversation with Joanie, since I had questions on both properties. Since they live on the property they are there if you need them, but yet, you still have your own privacy and feel like you are all alone. I found their presence enjoyable, safe, and comforting.

Other personal touches which make this feel more like a home than a rental:
• Our first night in the Cottage there was a homemade breakfast swiss cheese quiche in the refrigerator. And then we switched accommodation to the Cabin, we were welcomed to homemade chocolate (zucchini ) bread. Both were yummy.
• They also have OJ/milk/cereals as well. What a nice touch, so you don’t have to go to the grocery store your first night if you don’t want too (although it’s only about 10 minutes away)
• A huge selection of wine and beer at retail price. It’s all the honor system. Again, if you don’t want to run to the store, or if you ran out, you are in luck.
• Soaps/shampoo/lotions – similar when you stay in a resort.
• PIZZA!!! As an additional service, The Kilkelly’s make a killer homemade hand tossed pizza. Just let them know what you want (they have a form) and give them some time to make as the dough needs to rise. We ordered one on our first night and loved it. If you like pizza, this is a must.
• We were told we could pick from the vegetable garden as needed. I had no clue I would need another green pepper for dinner one night – so I walked over to the garden and picked a green pepper!
• The Kilkelly’s have thought of every detail. The beds are very comfy, the towels and linens are top notch. High end luxurious furnishings, appliances, accessories and technology. TV’s and wi-fi connection is everywhere. All bedrooms, living areas, and entertainment gaming areas.
• Something I notice with the Kilkelly's is their eye for details and the little things. All bathrooms have grab bars, even in the showers. . Also, the walk in showers have small seats. Perfect for those who are older, and perfect for us ladies who needed to shave.
• The Kilkelly's love what I call “layers” of light. They have put an abundance of lighting in which you can switch on and off to your desired light level/mood.
• There is a gate at the top of any stair, so no need to worry about little ones falling down the stairs.

Two types of accommodations exist on the property. The “West Wing Cottage” and “Cabin”. We had the opportunity to enjoy both. Both accommodations are unique and have their advantages.

The "Cabin" is more secluded, has an incredible long range view, has a hot tub, and in my option is better for larger groups of people, as it has a larger kitchen and living/sitting area on the first floor. It has a smaller gaming area than the "Cottage" with a shuffleboard, but also has a sitting area for watching TV as well.

The "Cottage" has both sunrise (rear) and sunset (front), seems to collect more butterflies and small birds on the rear porch, has a pool table and larger gaming area. You get the same long range view as the Cabin, however you are set back more and this unit is attached to the main house. No worries, it is still private and secluded.

Like I said, this is truly an amazing property and the Kilkelly's are wonderful people, we are looking forward to our trip in September.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Long range views, upscale cabin, and warm hospitality
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagley15
Winter Garden, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed 23 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We wanted our daughter to see snow for the first time so we rented Kilkelly's Cabin hoping for snow. It was better than we could have ever imagined! It was a Winter Wonderland! The cabin is exquisite - EVERYTHING you could possibly want and more in an elegant, yet rustic setting. The views and the property itself are amazing! Joanie and Gary are the most gracious hosts and add so many special little touches to your stay. From the mouth of our 8 year old - Joanie and Gary Kilkelly make the world a better place! Thank you so much for making our adventure our best vacation yet! We cannot wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cabin, Property, Sunrises, The Kilkelly's & their sledding hill :)
Liked least: Nothing - Everything was WONDERFUL!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
“A Little Slice of Paradise...”
Reviewed 23 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This cabin is fabulous! A perfect place to visit for our Anniversary. Parked the car and didn't get back in it for 2 days. The amenities were first class and the views were spectacular. Joanie and Gary are the perfect hosts. And, they have left no "stone" unturned. We feel like family and can't wait for our next visit! Thank you for sharing this wonderful hideaway!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin S
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA
2 reviews
“Perfect Honeymoon”
Reviewed 7 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Absolutely perfect place to stay for our Blowing Rock wedding and Honeymoon. The Cabin is beautiful and the views are breath taking. Joanie and Gary are wonderful. Cant wait to come back and stay again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cabin amenities and views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville SC
Reviewed 2 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing