We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Slow Pace Cottage far exceeded all our...”
other travellers have booked this property
Porch swing on great front porch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Porch swing on great front porch
Dining room, with shelves for books, games and puzzles Well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Porch swing on great front porch
Dining room, with shelves for books, games and puzzles
Well equipped kitchen
What a way to babysit
Back yard pavilion lit up at night
Full size bed
Cottage sign, and sweet grandson
Chalk board wall, all ages have enjoyed
Back yard hammock
Relax in great back yard
Master bedroom with queen size bed
Living room with 50' flat screen
Front porch swing
Front of house
Fenced in back yard
Darts anyone?
Pavilion in back yard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Black Mountain, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ronalda71...
Sarasota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow Pace Cottage far exceeded all our expectations!”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Loved this place! For a stone cottage built in 1928, it still has all the charm of a trip back to Granny's House, but with all the modern upgrades you could ask for. The owner has thought of everything! We were so spoiled right from the start, we didn't want to leave. But after all, we were on vacation. We found excellent golf very close by and beautiful "leaf peepin" as it was in season. A trip into town was unforgettable. There are great shops and restaurants and everyone was so friendly and helpful. We had a fantastic vacation in Black Mountain that all started when we "discovered" Slow Pace Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was so clean and fully equipped. There is a big front porch, large fenced in yard and a wonderful pravillion out back for a party, pit fire, or just relaxing in the comfortable chairs.
Liked least: The street out front is rather busy in the daytime, but quiets right down at dark, but we sure cant blame the owner for that!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Was so nice to have you stay. Anytime you come this way, would love to have you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne D. A
2 reviews
“Loved it and want to come back!”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This house is charming,very clean, decorated beautifully and had everything provided that we could possibly need. We had a nice bottle of wine provided, coffee, tea, games for all ages, wi-fi, wonderful luxurious blankets and towels. Outside fenced area was impressive as well with a covered deck with table, chairs, grill and fire pit. We roasted marshmallows - something I haven't done in a very long time. The people at the country store next door were very friendly and helpful. We definitely want to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the house and location, close to everything we needed
Liked least: Traffic was just a little busy on the street, but did not really affect us
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Comfy, cozy, cute and convenient”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We throughly enjoyed our stay here. This adorable little cottage is well located with all the comforts of home. Belinda is so easy to work with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa S
Concord, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nicely Appointed”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Slow Pace Cottage is perfect for two couples or a family of 4 (if the kids are young enough to share a double bed). The beds are very comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked with plenty of dishes, silverware, cookware, etc...The owner, Belinda is generous with towels, that are fluffy and smell like clean cotton! In the dining area, there is an assortment of tea cups and saucers and a choice of teas from a local tea shop. We also enjoyed a nice bottle of Chardonnay that the owners had placed in the cottage for us to partake. The outside area is covered and is decorated with white (Christmas-like) lights and included a picnic table, an outdoor fire place, with bench seating and Adirondack chairs. The house was built in 1928 and it has a few quirks, but it has been nicely renovated and the quirks add to it's charm. We were in town for a family wedding at Gaither Chapel in Montreat. Belinda was very flexible with us and helped us in many ways. I believe that she is the owner of the store beside the cottage. This is where renters check in and out. The staff there were extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to shower us with gracious hospitality. If you are in town for the weekend and would like to attend a Church Service, I highly recommend Gaither Chapel. After church, you can walk around the beautiful area. Black Mountain is a fabulous little town, with nice little shops and restaurants, and friendly people! This is also a nice central location for visiting Asheville and Mount Mitchell.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fresh Linens
Liked least: Couldn't Stay Longer
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acudoc018
Jacksonville, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute cottage in town with great outdoor space to enjoy.”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Enjoyed this clean neat little cabin in the town of Black Mountain. Had a nice patio out front. Was a liitle noisy at at times with cars going by. The back patio was a big covered area with tables, chairs, charcoal grill and a fire pit. We cooked out there a lot. Location in town was convenient to everything in Black Mountain. Owner very thoughtful leaving us a bottle of wine. Had everything you needed and was comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: outdoor space
Liked least: Living room furniture not real comfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing