We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Romantic Spot”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wilmington Town Beach Little Peak Chalet Fire Pit
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Wilmington Town Beach
Little Peak Chalet Fire Pit
View of Whiteface near Little Peak Chalet
Little Peak Chalet in Winter
Loft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Wilmington, New York

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
John N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Romantic Spot”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Place was clean, cozy, romantic and had everything you would need. Owner even included soap which none of the other places have which shows they care and want you to have a great stay without having to go an grab anything. BBQ worked great, nice fire pit area outside, gas wood stove heated the place quickly on cold days, wifi an dvd included. Plenty of games for kids and a gate. Great view of Whiteface mountain which is just down the street.

Only cons were no washer and dryer or bath tub which would have been nice after 5 days of hiking.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdorn1025
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little Peak Chalet”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Little Peak Chalet was a charming accommodation. We felt it was perfect for our time in the Adirondacks. We appreciated that is was close to Whiteface Mtn, Lake Placid and various destinations.

Thank you, we will visit Little Peak Chalet again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ginamarie...
Johnstown, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This property is maintained on behalf of the Owners, who live out of state; as such, the level of maintenance is poor. Many many lights blown out -- including nearly every single exterior light and no replacement bulbs on hand; broken front window taped up with black electrical tape; broken and missing blind slats on both front windows, resulting in no privacy; dust-clogged vent plate in the bathroom; bathroom GFI continually popped throughout our stay. Musty smell upon arrival, one partial (smallish) roll of toilet paper was mounted but no replacement roll provided. We found this unit to be much smaller than expected given the perspective of the photos.

The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, utensils and cooking tools and an abundance of dish towels. Lower bedroom bed was very soft and not particularly comfortable. Furnishing a bit sparse and not terribly comfortable. TERRIBLE TV reception; TV too small; took hours and multiple phone calls just to be able to play some DVDs we had thankfully brought along -- network TV was out of the question.

Overall a very disappointing stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2015
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay we answered our phone's every time your husband called even on Christmas day. We did apologize the Cable did not work well but in the adirondack's if the weather is slightly bad the cable tends not to come in good, there is not much we can do about that and we did walk your husband through on how to use the DVD player right away. We stock the Chalet with a lot of DVD's in case the cable is not working good. We are also very sorry you did not like the size of the Chalet we are called LITTLE Peak Chalet because it's not a large cabin and as for the furniture the couch and chair are pretty brand new the couch is only 6 months old and the chair is a year old. We are also very sorry about the crack in the front window Wilmington just had a storm and a branch fell and cracked the window and it takes time for someone to go out and get the window fixed I know it probably does not look great but it's the best we can do until we can get someone to fix it. and Lastly, we are sorry about all the light's going out we may have had a power surge because normally our Chalet is very well light and that many bulbs do not normally all go out at the same time. All bulbs have been replaced and the Chalet is very well light again. We are very sorry the Chalet was not what you expected upon arrival and you were very unhappy right from the start but almost all of our renters are very happy with Little Peak Chalet and we have returning renters every year because they love our Chalet and our hospitality.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas j
Derby, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic retreat”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This Chalet is fantastic. The pictures do not do it justice.
My wife and I recently stayed here to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary and had an awesome time!
The chalet is well taken care of and has some nice updates. The spiral staircase leading to the loft adds a nice touch. The propane stove is warm and looks beautiful without the work of a wood stove. The bathroom has been recently remodeled and the kitchen is ready to entertain. The living room has all you need to relax and still be "connected" if you want to be.

Overall we absolutely loved it and would stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spiral staircase and propane stove! Newly remodeled shower was nice also.
Liked least: Loved everything!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect little cabin in the Adirondacks!”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay here! We visited as a couple in the fall to enjoy the colours and hike the many trails around the Lake Placid area. I spent many summers in the area as a child and I wanted to show my husband this beautiful part of the world. The chalet was perfect! Beautifully maintained, incredibly clean and well stocked. Great location is at once secluded and still close to the main road. There is a breathtaking view of Whiteface Mt from the deck, a fire pit to roast hot dogs or s'mores, and a wonderful loft bedroom with a spiral staircase climb. There is also a bedroom downstairs and a pull out couch if you have more people with you. Brand new beautiful bathroom. We did not want to leave! We will definitely return for a visit (s).

As an adage , the owners are wonderful, easy to deal with and everything was a smooth transaction. Everything was exactly as pictured/described and in excellent working order. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing