We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Di C
Kent, United Kingdom

SUPERB SERVICE & LOCATION (But beware of mosquitoes!)

Review of Hotel Valdarno
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 09 Apr 2024via mobile
Staff and service are overall superb, with friendly and timely attention that seems like they cannot do enough for their guests.
Wifi is mostly stable and enough to complete work and watch shows.
Breakfast is a diverse array of continental style offerings - fruit, yoghurt and eggs for the gluten-free options.
Morning coffee is made and presented with great enthusiasm - as it should be for such a delicious experience!
Sound-proofing in rooms is excellent and the beds are more comfortable than most hotels.
The lift also worked very efficiently, even during busy periods.
There is a small fitness area in the underground level which could, perhaps, benefit from the addition of a rowing machine.
A complete set of billiard balls would be appreciated (perhaps kept at reception with a small bond to ensure their return?).
The turn-down and laundry service was quick and done to a high standard - the availability of a “Do Not Disturb” light, rather than a door sign (which inevitably falls off) was appreciated.
We understand that Italy has come under restrictive rules about climate control due to a reliability on Natural Gas energy shortages. Unfortunately, we could not use the air con to cool our room down enough and were advised to open a window. Whilst the cool, Tuscan breeze did the job most of the time, we were unfortunately subjected to a squadron of mosquitoes plus a rude awakening by roosters and early morning deliveries at the nearby supermarket. Solutions could be to provide pedestal fans in rooms, for a little extra respite, and have bug mesh on the windows to keep the mosquitoes out. This really is the only reason we can’t give five stars and we hope that other solutions will become the norm in the future.
The local area is brimming with delicious eateries and is very walkable.
Taxis are easy to come by and trains to bigger cities are reliable.
The Artisan markets on the last Sunday of each month are well worth it!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Agriturismo Villa Le Vigne
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.8 km from Hotel Valdarno
Free Wifi
Free parking
Palazzo Mari suite & rooms b&b
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Hotel Valdarno
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.4 km from Hotel Valdarno
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Hotel Valdarno
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rendola's Farmhouse
  • eDreams
3.4 km from Hotel Valdarno
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.1 km from Hotel Valdarno
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
7.0 km from Hotel Valdarno
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
4.7 km from Hotel Valdarno
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
4.4 km from Hotel Valdarno
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Montevarchi
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
170
134
43
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
170
134
43
7
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2022

Plugs all broken. Telly broken. Can’t use kettle and can’t charge my phone.
Maid took my second towel and never replaced it. Woman in the canteen is very unfriendly and border line aggressive.
Last time I came, the floor was dirty and contact lenses from last person there on floor.
The man on the front desk could not speak English.

Room tip: Make sure you get a room with plug sockets that work. Report the rude lady who works in the restaurant
Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Safari62459991142
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2022

The hotel has a 1970s ambience to British eyes, with brown wooden fittings and beige walls. Everything was smart and clean. The staff were friend,y and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with ample offerings of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, pastries, bread, juices, cheese and ham. Coffee was served by a very friendly waitress.

We had a junior suite to gives us more room as we were staying 7 nights. Room was very comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities and cold bottled water available. Bathroom was excellent, though there was a large step down getting out of the shower.

Air conditioning worked very well in the middle of a heatwave.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leederm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2022 via mobile

This is a 4 stars hotel from the 80’, now it’s just a 2 stars! The rooms are outdated, the beds are very hard, the breakfast is very basic. This is not a hotel where you will stay for more than 2 days. When they can upgrade the building and rooms; maybe it will be beter.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank FilipVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2019

friendly staff and friendly place to stay, plenty parking in front of the hotel, rooms clean and comfortable, bathrooms with plenty towels and decent amenities, shower little small but ok, for the price they charge you a good deal

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank winecliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2019

The Valdarno Hotel is a hotel stuck in the 1970's when it was built and furnished. It needs a complete renovation to modernize. The rooms are also outdated. Beware of the heat. Even if you turn the thermostat lower, you will swelter in heat during the night. Service is mixed. Check-in and check-out are quick. The chambermaids clean well. However, breakfast is chaotic no matter what time you arrive from 7 am to 9 am. The owner's wife and her assistant run around like "chickens with their heads cut off" never completely satisfying all in terms of replenishing depleted food and beverages as well as personally provided hot beverages to guests. As with many things in Italy, the simple things take on a complicated life. Why not allow guests to serve their own tea as most hotels do. And why do we have to wait for you to fill the water pitchers or juice containers. Why not leave multiple bottles for us to serve ourselves? I could go on. Breakfast is not pleasant for service as well as the mediocre offerings. Luckily, I brought my own oatmeal to eat.

The primary positive about the Valdarno Hotel is the location convenient to downtown Montevarchi as well as the highway.

Would I stay here again? No. Would I recommend it to others? No. Try the new hotel downtown Vassari which is modern. You don't have to worry about breakfast because you are given coupons to go to the nearby coffee bar to choose what you want and are served quickly without chaos.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarcoPro2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews