We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 07:00 - 22:00
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome Wildlife

Paulo & Hellen are excellent, they run a very well organised tour to the Pantanal. They are both... read more

Reviewed 17 November 2019
Outtherestuart
,
Brighton, United Kingdom
Best Guide Ever

We spent the first two weeks of September 2019 with Paulo and Hellen. The tour could not have been... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 27 September 2019
cpberg1950
Read all 19 reviews
  
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
19
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his wife other companies howler monkeys giant anteaters an amazing experience south america the river paulo interfering naturalist tamandua birders individuals truck joffre viewing accommodations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Our visit to the Pantanal was totally amazing- Paulo was an excellent guide, knowledgeable, dedicated and professional. We were able to experience the most incredible views of jaguar, tapir, foxes, capybara, otters, caimans, deer, coati and ocelots. We also saw the most amazing birds toucan, potto, hyacinth macaws, agami heron and a wonderful kingfisher that landed on our boat and took a fish from my hand - it doesn’t get much better ! Paulo was able to judge the animals movements and behaviours enabling us to get really close to the wildlife without interfering with their movements.
Highly recommend

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank kimbingham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

I made the right choice with Paulo and the team here as they provided the best wildlife experience I had in the 6 months I spent travelling in South America.

When you head into the remote parts of Brazil chasing wildlife you really do have to rely on your guides, there is no public transport to speak of, crime can still be high, and the the areas are so remote that you really do have to put yourself in a guides hands for the duration of your stay. So you need to be able to really trust your guiding team, and luckily with P&RE I chose very well.

Initially the prices can look high per day, but when you realise that you are getting picked up at the airport, driven hundreds of km's in remote and possibly dodgy areas, on bad roads, guided from 5am until midnight, and dropped off at the hotel/airport at the other end you realise that they are worth it.

In terms of the wildlife I saw in the Pantanal the numbers and variety were amazing, the birds were plentiful even around the lodges, and the mammals were surprisingly numerous. There are a lot of pictures on this page, and I have not posted any myself, but I took thousands on my travels in the Pantanal and some of them ended up poster size on my wall I was so happy with them.

With Pantanal & RFE Paulo and the team did a great job and gave me an unforgettable wildlife experience. His knowledge as a guide is second to none, it was like travelling with a Portuguese David Attenborough, I asked hundreds of questions and he knew the answers to almost all of them.

I hope to return one day to see the Pantanal and the Amazon in a different season and when I do I will use the same guys again.

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank TJB2095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

A trip to the Pantanal is by itself an amazing experience. Working with Paulo and Hellen from Pantanal and Rainforests Expeditions made our visit an unforgettable lifetime event. Every aspect of our tour was expertly planned with full attention to our needs. Paulo's encyclopedic knowledge of the wildlife and the Pantanal is nothing short of mind-boggling. It's impressive enough that Paulo was able to spot wildlife that we would have easily passed by. He was then able to identify the specific type of bird or animal and then give us many details including the natural habitats, the scientific name, the migration patterns, and many other bits of information that added greatly to our experience. Who needs National Geographic when we had Paulo? Hellen and Paulo addressed every detail and contingency such that all we had to do was enjoy the beauty and wonder that is the Pantanal. In our minds Paulo and Hellen will forever be linked to our wonderful memories of the Pantanal.

Date of experience: September 2017
3  Thank snoho98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellen S, Proprietário at Pantanal & Rainforests Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words!

It has been nothing but great fun all the time that we spent together in Pantanal. We are so pleased to have met you! Thanks for all your support and good humor! We regard you and your lovely wife Wendy as our dearest guests. We hope to see each other again.

Art & Wendy are some of nicest persons that we`ve ever encounter in our lives and they have honored us with their friendship. There should be a website where companies advice each other on their very best guests/costumers, making it mandatory to give them the sweetest deals possible.
Hellen & Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellen S, Proprietário at Pantanal & Rainforests Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews