We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Al Minar(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beyt Al Salaam(Stone Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Al Johari(Stone Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tausi Palace Hotel(Stone Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dhow Palace Hotel(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1 092)
Filter reviews
1 092 results
Traveller rating
373
439
185
70
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
439
185
70
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno alcoholswimming poollovely poolfreddie mercuryoverlooking the beachprison islandfamily roomfantastic locationantique furnitureold world charmthe hotel managernight marketcentral locationcharming hotelindian oceandouble roomforodhani gardens
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1 092 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018

A great location in Stone Town Zanzibar with immaculate rooms with enviable charachter and ambience. The breakfast was a spread of Western and Zanzibari dishes. Manager Yaqub was a local guy - he was helpful and took great care for our comfort.

Stayed: February 2018
2  Thank MamboJamboToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

What a wonderful, atmospheric hotel, in a fabulous location.
Right on the beach, you could spend hours just staring at the authentic and ever-changing views.
The skies, the sea, the boats, the people!

Tembo staff were warm, welcoming and very helpful whenever needed.
Breakfasts were plentiful and we loved that the hotel did not serve liquor because it guaranteed quiet evenings, which made sitting outside and star-gazing very appealing.

And a great beachfront restaurant/lounge called Livingston's was next door, so a cold beer and a nice glass of wine were always available.
And it was a great place to watch the sun set each evening.

Our room was extremely comfortable with an interesting mix of original furniture.
Good AC was always appreciated after long walks in the Zanzibar heat.

And we were an easy walk to everything we wanted to experience in Stonetown.
Sites, restaurants, shops, the market, and just strolling the maze of atmospheric, narrow streets where a photo op awaited around every corner.

Tembo was the perfect choice for our 3 night stay in Stonetown.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ritajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Tembo Hotel for two days. The hotel is situated right next to the beach and has got very interesting rooms and furnitures all over. A splendid breskfast and a nice restaurant.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. We were allowed a later checkout due to flighscedule and were offered a room to change clothes and shower before leaving.
We will return if possibel!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank vagnp2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

The location of the hotel is spot on....walking distance to everything. The hospitality that we received from the moment we checked-in right until we left, was impeccable. I couldn't have asked for a better room...best ever. Breakfast was good....Hotel menu was excellent & food was devine. Imraan ( I'm not sure of his position there ) always had a smile. His friendliness & that of the rest of the staff made our stay a very enjoyable & memorable one. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to visit Zanzibar.
Clean, neat, a/c + fans in rooms, good food, on the beach affordable, etc,etc

Room Tip: Clean, neat, a/c + fans in rooms, good food, on the beach affordable, Location is the best
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Nishana_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Location was great, breakfast was really good with many options and the room service was affordable. Definitely recommend! We were very happy with our choicend and would stay here again!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Asma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews