We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maru Maru Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$198
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$159
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$87
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$200
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beyt Al Salaam(Stone Town)
US$124
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kisiwa House(Stone Town)
US$282
US$261
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$169
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$443
US$410
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveller rating
288
219
51
22
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
219
51
22
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantindian foodcomfortable hotelwatching the sunsetmodern amenitiesair conditioningthird floorperfect locationhotel is locatedpleasant staystone town zanzibarforodhani parknarrow streetsprison islandspice tourheartstonetown
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights with our infant during the Spring holiday. The staff here were wonderful in every way.

Hitesh, the resident driver for the hotel, picked us up form the airport and gave us a short but informative sight seeing tour on the way to the hotel, which set us up nicely for places to visit from the off. He also drove us to our next hotel and was very knowledgeable, answering any questions we had about Zanzibar.

The room was very comfortable and modern with good coffee and tea facilities. The bed was big and comfortable, with the bathroom being of a very high standard, more so than I expected.

The breakfast at the hotel was OK, there was a variety of food for different tastes.

Location was great, close to historical sights and amongst the markets for shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Srow2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maru Maru H, Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Srow ,

Greetings from Hotel Maru Maru!

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Maru Maru. Your feedback is valuable to us and we ensure that we offer best of our services and hospitality to all our guests.

At Hotel Maru Maru we ensure our guests leave the hotel with memories and stories to rejoice with. We hope to see you back soon.

For any assistance please feel free to contact the undersigned.

Yours Thankfully
Ashwin Krishnamoorthi
Sales and Marketing Manager
marketing@marumaruzanzibar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This hotel is so distinctive and is located where all the action is happening! We were offered fresh Strawberry juice when we checked in... super yum after an eventful boat ride into the island! Check out was such a breeze too...
I love the way the rooms are decorated. The staff are also very friendly and always happy to help - even at very odd hours!
We enjoyed the rooftop bar and restaurant. They had jazz night when we were there - we danced the night away.
Stay here to seal the deal on a fulfilling Zanzibar experience!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sibahle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maru Maru H, Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Sibahle ,

Greetings from Hotel Maru Maru!

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Maru Maru. Your feedback is valuable to us and we ensure that we offer best of our services and hospitality to all our guests.

At Hotel Maru Maru we ensure our guests leave the hotel with memories and stories to rejoice with. We hope to see you back soon.

For any assistance please feel free to contact the undersigned.

Yours Thankfully
Ashwin Krishnamoorthi
Sales and Marketing Manager
marketing@marumaruzanzibar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Had a very pleasant meal with a live group playing some well known tunes. Food quality good, just unfortuatley served starters and main course all at once which was overfacing. Im sure a mistake. Staff service was good.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maru Maru H, Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Bryan ,
Greetings from Hotel Maru Maru!

Thank you for dinning with us at Terrace Rooftop restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed your time, and allowed us to offer you the best of our hospitality and services.

At Hotel Maru Maru we ensure our guests leave the hotel with memories and stories to rejoice with. We hope to see you back soon.

For any assistance please feel free to contact the undersigned.

Yours Thankfully
Ashwin Krishnamoorthi
Sales and Marketing Manager
marketing@marumaruzanzibar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We stayed there for 3 days right after arriving in Zanzibar. The hotel offered us free pick up and all went very smoothly even if we had a midnight flight. The hotel was recently renovated and it looks Persian-like, very cozy yet modern and the design is the perfect combination between tradition and modernism. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is very clean. Cleaner than many Western hotels I ended up in at the same price per night. So disregard all comments/reviews from past years. The hotel is located right in the center next to forodhani gardens and you get the vide of the city as locals experience it while it is still 2 min located from the main touristic area. 5 min walking to the beach as well. We could not have chosen better. The rooms are also wonderfully designed and have all amenities necessary. A huge bathroom with sitting shower. Loved it! The only downside to the room is poor internet access but hey, as long as you are on a holiday you should keep your phone away. And keeping the best to the last, the rooftop is TOP and their cocktails are cheap if you want to enjoy a nice live music evening on the rooftop. Breakfast could be improved with more local food and choices on the menu. Overall, very very good choice :)

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maru Maru H, Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Alexandra ,
Greetings from Hotel Maru Maru!

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Maru Maru. Your feedback is valuable to us and we ensure that we offer best of our services and hospitality to all our guests.

At Hotel Maru Maru we ensure our guests leave the hotel with memories and stories to rejoice with. We hope to see you back soon.

For any assistance please feel free to contact the undersigned.

Yours Thankfully
Ashwin Krishnamoorthi
Sales and Marketing Manager
marketing@marumaruzanzibar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Great hotel in a good location. Comfortable room with good air conditioning. Central but noise wasn’t too bad. Welcoming staff and decent breakfast at the rooftop restaurant with a view above Stonetown.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maru Maru H, Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Doug ,

Greetings from Hotel Maru Maru!

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Maru Maru. Your feedback is valuable to us and we ensure that we offer best of our services and hospitality to all our guests.

At Hotel Maru Maru we ensure our guests leave the hotel with memories and stories to rejoice with. We hope to see you back soon.

For any assistance please feel free to contact the undersigned.

Yours Thankfully
Ashwin Krishnamoorthi
Sales and Marketing Manager
marketing@marumaruzanzibar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews