We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
100
4
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
100
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooling system asilia camps evening breeze guest tents the camp manager local school children outdoor shower safari experience boat safari national park local communities lake cruise power outlets air conditioning singing and dancing game drives asante sana
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2019

Incredible, really personal, in the middle of wildlife, staff lovely food amazing and the guides are really knowledgeable nice and polite. Wildlife was incredible, lions elaphants and giraffe 10/10, nothing could compare

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Georgi_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Roho ya Selous, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Dear Georgi

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and share your Roho ya Selous experience.

We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time with us and enjoyed everything we have to offer.

It was our pleasure making your stay a memorable one, the best holiday you have ever had, and we look forward to hopefully welcome you back in the not too distant future!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Roho ya Selous Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

We had a fantastic stay at Roho. Our 'tent' was brilliant, right in the thick of it - waking up to bird song, going to sleep to hippos wrestling and even spotting an elephant chewing its way through the trees.
The guiding was brilliant - Felix was very knowledgable and entertaining. We learned and laughed a lot.
The service and food was far beyond what we expected at a camp and we enjoyed the camp fires too.
I'd highly recommend spending at least two nights here if you visit Tanzania.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank emilyhorswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Roho ya Selous, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Dear Emily

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We sincerely appreciate your kind recommendation.

It was our pleasure hosting you and making your stay a memorable one.

Do come back soon, the birdsong serenade and our friendly team will be waiting!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Roho ya Selous Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2019

We had the pleasure of staying at Roho ya Selous in September 2019 - its an amazing tented camp! The accommodation is glamping at its best! That cool air system over the bed works a treat - nights were never uncomfy! The staff are great - the guides are brilliant! Thank you to Mashaka for your expert guiding, driving, knowledge and hospitality. The wildlife is plentiful - there is always something to see - and the terrain in September was dry enough to allow us to travel easily around the national park.
A great place to stay, good location, lovely staff, GREAT food! and the best possible mix of animals/wildlife on your doorstep - highly recommended!

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank DAJ162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Roho ya Selous, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2019

Hello,

Thank you for this wonderful review and sharing your Roho ya Selous experience.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we are thrilled that we were able to offer you the safari experience you have hoped for.

We appreciate your compliments and kind recommendation with such pride and look forward to hopefully welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Roho ya Selous Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2019

We had the most fantastic stay for our hnoeymoon at Roho ya Selous! Having never been on Safari before we had nothing to compare the experience with but it far surpassed all our expectations. The room was absolutely fantastic and much more luxurious than we could ever have imagined, we loved the outdoor shower (although there was the option of an indoor shower too). The atmosphere and communal areas on the camp were warm and friendly with a real family feel, we loved that even when undercover or indoors you still had great views and felt like you were in the middle of the bush. The staff were all marvelous and a delight to be around, Sabass and his team couldn't do enough for us, a particular highlight was a special honeymoon candlelit meal they perpared for us at the pool. The rest of the food was varied, delicious and plentiful!

We appreciated the variety of the safari experiences, talking advantage of the jeep, river and walking safaris. Our guide Rama was very knowledgable, skilled and good company, he really knew how to handle a jeep! We also had a great mornng on the walking safari with Kivayo where we learnt a loads about wildlife from a different perspective.

Overall we can't fault the experience and loved every minute, we were particularly impressed to hear about the Asilia company values and the kind of conservation and community projects they are implementing, for example sharing the safari experience with local school children.

We would highly recommend a stay at the wonderful Roho ya Selous

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrajpeirce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Roho ya Selous, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2019

Dear Sandra

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and share your Roho ya Selous experience.

It was our pleasure making your honeymoon a memorable one and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. What a wonderful time you had in every way.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and compliments to the team, we take such pride in what we do.

We hope to welcome you back soon, perhaps your anniversary?

Until then, hold on to the fond memories!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Roho ya Selous Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2019

Welcome to Paradise was the greeting when we arrived - and it was really true. Fantastic atmosphere, genuinely friendly and caring staff combined with superb accomodation Roho really is a very special place to stay.
Our lodge overlooked the river and at night we could hear hippo and possibly warthog snuffling around. Each lodge has the luxury of an "evening breeze" air conditioning system which was such a luxury given the temperatures and each was very well equipped even including yoga mats and weights!
A particular thanks to Felex, our guide during the stay. His depth of knowledge, ability to spot amazing animals and sense of fun was so appreciated.
Thanks to Diane and all the Asilia team for such a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank OnAir618602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Roho ya Selous, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Hello,

What a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for sharing your Roho ya Selous experience.

We are thrilled that we were able to offer you the safari experience you have hope for.

The team truly appreciate your compliments with such pride and thank you for your kind words.

Do come back soon, the hippo serenade will be waiting.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Roho ya Selous Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews