We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Snaptravel
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
85
30
8
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
85
30
8
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steep climb hot water stayed nights huts park drive guide sink landscape
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2020

We have stayed 3 nights in the Hilltop lodge of which we have 2 full days of gamedrives, The cottage was simple, but well equipped. The food was very good and the staff was very friendly. The view from the terrace is overwhelming, untouched nature as far as the eye can see.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erik v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2019

Great Food and wonderful location reasonably near the Ruaha National Park Gate!
The rooms has great beds, shower with hot and cold waters. Internet is available in the reception area and the restaurant only. Staff is very service minded and helpful. Wonderful view over the landscape from rooms and the restaurant. Guided tours in Ruaha National Park is available. Well worth the money spent. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan-Olof O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2019

Not sure if there are other camps on the mountain, but the views from this one are absolutely amazing. You can see and hear all the guests approaching as they drive up to the lodge. In the evening everyone gathers on the common terrace/restaurant with their safari stories, the guns have been replace with canons (and nikons) but the wilderness adventurous setting is there. Huts are very nice and comfortable, with hot water and charging possibilities. Natural air conditioning keeps them cool, just open the right windows for the wind to freshen up the night. Food very good and staff friendly.

Room tip: I think the huts are equal, views are best from restaurant not huts
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 763j_rie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2019

We had stayed at Hilltop Lodge in 2011 and had enjoyed it. This year we decided to go back for four nights.
When we arrived, we remarked how tired it now looked. All the chalets require a steep climb to reach them, but, this time the issues were much more worrying. We had no hot water to our sink during our stay, and, only occasionally to our shower. The electricity supply was uncertain, and the chalet had deteriorated during the last 8 years. If doors swell in the heat, they become ill fitting, and this invites spiders and bugs into your room.
Whilst the staff were helpful and friendly, they seemed poorly managed. Towels were not changed daily, and the dinner menu changed very little in the four days of our stay. Of course, the views over the park are still as stunning as ever, but this potentially lovely place needs investment urgently! In 2019, is it really acceptable to provide wifi "only if not too many people are using it"? I have awarded two points in this review.....one because the view is superb, and the second one because, in my heart, I know that it COULD be so good!

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank Cricketmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2019

From the moment you arrive with the double hand waving Alyois you feel the warm friendly welcome of an amazing location to visit Ruaha. We stayed here for three nights while we visited the national park, and I can not recommend the hotel more. The service is outstanding and the views are spectacular. I am not sure if I will get the opportunity to return to this area again, but if I do I would stay here again without hesitation.

We stayed for three nights in one of the lodges, they have a comfortable rustic decor and a veranda on the front to watch the beauty of the sun rise. The terrace at the hotel is the key feature, on arrival each night you received a friendly smile and an opportunity to relax and watch the sunset over the African savanna-amazing. The bar and dining area was set back from here, dinner was also a small friendly affair with a different buffet meal each night.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank NewRockCecil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews