We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
208
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
208
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef david dry river bed the river game drives other camps walking safari his team genuine hospitality on foot remote corner our honeymoon camp staff asante sana sister camp wonderful camp wet towels remote location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2019

Thanks to Michael and his team for a fabulous stay at Jongomero. A luxury option with fantastic food, lovely lodges and a relaxed feel.
Lambert , our guide, showed us an amazing array of wildlife and it was always a treat to come back to camp at the end of the day for a cooling swim, delicious supper and bit of star gazing. Great trip

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank OnAir618602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelousSafariCompany1, Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Thank you for such a great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Ruaha is a special place and the stars out this side are just incredible here in the evenings.

It was such a pleasure hosting you here. And we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
The Jongomero Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2019

Jongomero at present is completely dry, very hot and arid therefore animal sightings very rare. It took us over 4 hours to get to the camp from Daar Es Salaam with several stops to different camps by Safari Links. No food, no water was provided during the long flight.
However we were extremely delighted to be welcomed by the wonderful Camp team with a cheerful song and cold towels and very welcome drinks. Our beautiful large tent with its broad patio overlooked a dry seasonal river bed across which impala and baboons strolled across all day. Very well run by the entire team who work in unison and mutual co operation. Loved the food by chef David, the warm and friendly people, genuine hospitality. Guide Apollo tried his best to make the rides interesting. Our bush walk was not without drama as a huge herd of elephants having spotted us got into a state of panic while we had to stand stock still till they went their way. Mornings are very cold and beautiful but cometh the sun, cometh the heat. I am certain the whole scenario will turn magnificent once the rains come. For the first time we were introduced by manager Mike to a completely new animal - Genet. Cat like face, long beautiful tail, stays up in the trees most times so not easy to spot.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Indra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelousSafariCompany1, Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2019

Dear Indra,

Thank you for posting your review. We are so pleased that you found so much to love about the camp - you rightly mention its beauty, the great food, the friendliness of our staff, the interesting guides and the overall service. You are right that genets are relatively rare and it is always exciting to spot one! I’m sorry that you felt that you didn’t see as many animals - in general - as you’d have liked. Of course there are never any guarantees with safari but the dry season is often a great time for spotting animals - as the animals congregate towards the water sources, and with great visibility in the bush, it can in fact be a very exciting time to visit and watch bush drama unfold, such as the time on your walk with all the elephants. So it sounds like you were a bit unlucky this time. Despite the experience of our guides, it is the unpredictability of the wild I’m afraid!

We are heartened that your response is generally so positive about our camp and so we are really disappointed to have received 3 stars, which for us is a very - and unusually - low score. We pride ourselves on delivering a 5 star experience every time, and this is very important to us.

Hence, your poor rating prompted us immediately to review your Feedback card left in camp, and we were relieved to see that we scored excellently on this. I therefore hope you won’t mind me pointing out to readers of this review that it seems perhaps part of your rating is to do with the journey here, as you clearly didn’t find this a smooth experience. Again, it sounds like you were unlucky - Safari Link are usually great, and whilst it is not possible for these small aircraft to serve food, I have never known them not offer water but we will take this up with them, to ensure the comfort of our guests. We understand there was a delay with the plane (which in certain circumstances is obviously unavoidable the world over!). However, given the impact a 3 star has on our Trip Advisor ratings I would like to make it clear that this element of the trip is nothing to do with Jongomero or Selous Safari Company, and I am sure, given your overall positive experience with us, you wouldn’t want that impression to be left.

We do hope to see you again at Jongo. Perhaps you will try the green season next time!

Best wishes
Mike and the rest of the Jongomero Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2019 via mobile

Jongomero may be unique. Certainly I have travelled far and wide and not found something to compare it to. Ruaha is the most beautiful of areas. The camp is remote, beautifully built and beautifully situated. The team create an amazingly warm and friendly atmosphere and they are knowledgeable about, and committed to, the challenges of sustainable development in the area. Chef’s cooking is extraordinarily good and extremely plentiful! Our guide - JC - was truly great. He has an incredible depth of knowledge that he combines with infectious enthusiasm and a talent for storytelling. Thank you to the team - we will return without fail.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank aojpillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelousSafariCompany1, Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2019

Hello Alice,

It was fantastic hosting you at Jongo. I have passed on your words to JC and the team. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and can't wait for your next visit with us.

Kind Regards
The Jongomero Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2019

We visited Jongomero for two days as a family with our boy 16 and daughter 14. This followed a four night stay in Selous. This was our first safari experience and it really exceeded any expectations we had.
On many of our game drives we didn't see other jeeps and never more than a maximum of a couple - it was a true wilderness experience and our fabulous guide found tracks and we learned so much! The jeeps were open which was great as you felt a lot more up close and personal with the animals. On every game drive we saw plenty of animals and always a great variety from wild dogs, zebras, lions, elephants, giraffes, impala, warthogs and many others.
The staff is excellent, so is the food, and we also really appreciated the beautiful scenery and the camp itself. A gorgeous experience!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sireno837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelousSafariCompany1, Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2019

Hello Siren,

Thank you for such a great review. It was lovely hosting you and your family here. Seeing Wilddogs is a truely rare and special experience we are glad you we able to see them while you stayed with us.

Kind Regards,
The Jongomero Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2019

Brian, Godfrey and the team at Jongomero Camp deliver a genuine and personable service that tops the 16 camps we have so far visited across Africa. From arrival to departure they made us feel very special through a level of personal interaction that felt natural and very special; engaging in general discussion and chat throughout the day and evening was a pleasure and went well beyond expectations of their roles.

The camp itself offers all modern amenities, although the WiFi was a little temperamental at times, with one of the biggest beds we’ve ever slept in dwarfing our super king size at home. The common areas are comfortable, well presented and well maintained with the pool area clean and inviting. All camp staff, Hassan, Sharif & the team, go out of their way to deliver exemplary service with our dining table being romantically staged at different locations around the camp each night. We could not fault the management and support team, individual accommodating and general camp and facilities, which was one of the nicest we’ve experienced in 4+ years since travelling Africa. An added bonus is that it’s located only minutes from the airstrip and there are no other camps within 2+ hours providing total peace and tranquillity.

Our guide. Theo, was an absolute champion. When I first started to write this review, I was tempted to downgrade the score to a 4 because the abundance of game falls short against other areas of Africa we’ve visited specifically in regards to cats (being my passion). For the first two nights at Jongomero we were the only guests and therefore only vehicle out on game drives. With no spotters, trackers or other vehicles within 50km we were totally reliant on Theo and, in all fairness to the him, even the best guide cannot regulate for finding animals that come and go in the bush within an area bigger than the Serengeti. We had to work hard with Theo to find what we were hoping to see, which included his kind agreement one day to drive to the northern camps area; a round but rewarding trip of over 100km just there and back. In the end, during our stay we got to see lots of Hippo out of water during daylight hours, three big herds of 200-300 Buffalo (one which ran at a gallop parallel to our vehicle and across the road in front of us at full pace), big herds of Giraffe and Elephant with young calves, Honey Badger, some beautiful sized groups of Waterbuck, Crocodiles, Lions (four) and a vast array of birds (there are over 500 species in this area of Ruaha) plus the other more typical animals, e.g. Zebra, Impala, etc. No Leopards though, which was a shame given the resident Leopard and young cub had been seen the day before arrival; ce la vie!

We’ve learned over the last four years travelling Africa to be very clear about what we are hoping to see and how expectations might be met. For my wife and I, Jongomero delivered a wonderful blend of comfort, service, solitude, beauty, friendliness and diversity from lush green riverbanks to wooded forests to open grasslands. Unfortunately, the sheer size of Ruaha presents some challenges with game viewing/ abundance (of Big Cats) so don’t go expecting to see a Lion or Leopard around every corner but having to work to find the animals made it that much more of an enjoyable and rewarding experience when we did. In this regard, we couldn’t have hoped for a better guide in Theo who we found to be knowledgeable, caring, accommodating and flexible. He really went out of his way and, coupled with Brian, Godfrey and the wider Jongomero Camp team, we couldn’t have received a more enjoyable experience.

Room tip: We stayed in Tent 3 closest to the swimming pool
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DCMIT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews