We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Deserts and Forests
Walla Walla, Washington

A Great Spot with Even Greater Staff

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Oct 2023
Nice rustic camp with tents that you sleep in, but on proper beds with sheets and, in season, a blanket. The full day safari we did with Innocent was outstanding. Saw lions, elephants, giraffes, hippos, baboons, impala and several other antelope species including kudu. Also saw a LOT of bird species. Chogela himself is a legend and his support staff are also amazing. Showers and latrine block were clean and sufficient. Food was good with options for vegetarians. Bush TV, aka the fire pit, was a welcome spot to sit after a long day. I'd definitely stay here again and go on the safari too!
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 21 554
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 21 554
  • Lol.travel
Pool
Restaurant
R 4 444
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 4 444
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 440
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Ruaha National Park
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
29
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2023

Visited at beginning of April 2023. Food was good quality, things were done on time e.g. meals etc. Had been before pre-covid. A very good option for budget traveller wanting something for 1-2 nights just outside the park. Can also arrange safari for you at reasonable price. Special shout out to the staff who were very enthusiastic and looked after us very well. They employ local young people from the village. Would recommend!

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2021

We stayed 4 days for safari in Chogela-Safari-Camp. The staff was super warmhearted, the food was delicious and the safari was wonderful. We had a truly amazing time with them. The guide provided us binoculars and animal-books for the tour. He is well educated and very knowledgeable. We learned a lot about the park and its animals! The camp itself is beautiful and tidy, even our tents got tidied up. We highly recommend this camp!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Helen_11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2021

The camp is situated in a quite area in the middle of wonderful nature not far away from Msembe gate.
Cholega Camp is a great host with everytime friendly and helpful stuff, delicious food and professional guide and driver. Everything was clean and nice decorated.
At this time I was the only one but service was brilliant and nothing was missing.
I was questioned by the cook what I like to eat and for the next dinner I got my favorite food!
I stayed in a spacious tend looking at big trees and listening birds.
The guide made sure I had unforgettable beautiful days with walking tours through the village and nature. We spend one day in Ruaha NP. Only with the patience of the guide and driver we watched a lioness hunt for impalas.
One of my favourite place in Tanzania - Asante sana!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrin374
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2019

Instead of trying to do a trip to Ruaha from Iringa, we opted to take the 3-hour bus ride to Tungamalenga and stay at Chogela camp. We were met while still on the bus by the camp guide, Innocent (who, BTW, was the absolute best guide we've had so far on our 2.5 months in East Africa!!). He got us set up at the camp and we arranged our safari for the following day with the owner Chogela. We decided we wanted to camp overnight in the park and there was a bit of a snafu with the regular vs. special campsite (so if you do this make sure you pay for the proper campground as they're not cheap!). Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend...

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2019

We had a wonderful time! What a peaceful place with great areas to set up camp and or stay like we did in their furnished campsites (tents, beds, bedding provided). The service is impeccable and the food is delicious! The safari was amazing!!! I have never been so close to wildlife in their natural habitat before and the guides were so very helpful and knowledgeable. Overall a great experience and I can not wait to go back!

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coppacabana123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews