We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rosenquarzin@gmx.de

Beautiful camp, wonderful safari!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 06 Jun 2021
We stayed 4 days for safari in Chogela-Safari-Camp. The staff was super warmhearted, the food was delicious and the safari was wonderful. We had a truly amazing time with them. The guide provided us binoculars and animal-books for the tour. He is well educated and very knowledgeable. We learned a lot about the park and its animals! The camp itself is beautiful and tidy, even our tents got tidied up. We highly recommend this camp!
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
Pool
Restaurant
R 4 474
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 4 474
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 465
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Ruaha National Park
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
29
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2021

The camp is situated in a quite area in the middle of wonderful nature not far away from Msembe gate.
Cholega Camp is a great host with everytime friendly and helpful stuff, delicious food and professional guide and driver. Everything was clean and nice decorated.
At this time I was the only one but service was brilliant and nothing was missing.
I was questioned by the cook what I like to eat and for the next dinner I got my favorite food!
I stayed in a spacious tend looking at big trees and listening birds.
The guide made sure I had unforgettable beautiful days with walking tours through the village and nature. We spend one day in Ruaha NP. Only with the patience of the guide and driver we watched a lioness hunt for impalas.
One of my favourite place in Tanzania - Asante sana!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrin374
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2019

Instead of trying to do a trip to Ruaha from Iringa, we opted to take the 3-hour bus ride to Tungamalenga and stay at Chogela camp. We were met while still on the bus by the camp guide, Innocent (who, BTW, was the absolute best guide we've had so far on our 2.5 months in East Africa!!). He got us set up at the camp and we arranged our safari for the following day with the owner Chogela. We decided we wanted to camp overnight in the park and there was a bit of a snafu with the regular vs. special campsite (so if you do this make sure you pay for the proper campground as they're not cheap!). Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend...

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2019

We had a wonderful time! What a peaceful place with great areas to set up camp and or stay like we did in their furnished campsites (tents, beds, bedding provided). The service is impeccable and the food is delicious! The safari was amazing!!! I have never been so close to wildlife in their natural habitat before and the guides were so very helpful and knowledgeable. Overall a great experience and I can not wait to go back!

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coppacabana123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2018 via mobile

Chogela camp is not just another camp outside Ruaha National Park.

The people at this camp are genuine good people, they care about the environment, animals and other people. This translates into a beautiful eco-friendly camp, respect towards animals, a free training school for teenagers that want to become a guide and classes for children living in the area about the environment and animals. You have to see and feel it to understand how much all of this means for Chogela, his son Innocent and all other employees. They truly have a big heart and are great people.

The camp is beautifully located and well maintained. We slept in a ‘tent’ however there were 2 double beds inside this tent and the stay was very comfortable. All other facilities are good such as toilets, showers and dinner building. From the camp we did a walking tour to nearby Maasai villages and learned about the nearby nature and animals during our hike. Near Chogela camp you can even find elephants!

Ruaha national park
During our 48 hour stay in park it was clear Chogela and Innocent are great hosts. We did 1 night tent and 1 night Bandas. The Bandas are very comfortable, the tent was a cool experience.

They both knew a lot about the plants, birds and all the bigger animals in the park. For example they could notice that there were animals such as lions nearby by listening to the sounds of birds or by observing behavior of other animals. Therefore we saw a lot of animals. The car was great and comfortable which also helped for the entire experience. Next to that Chogela is an amazing chef and cooked delicious meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

We covered a lot of distance in the park, every couple of hours we came into a new scenery. Every time when seeing a new kind of scenery our cameras came out and we made a soft ‘wow’ sound. The park is truly great and has so many beautiful different animals.

A few last things that I would like to highlight:
- We really appreciated their respect for animals. If they noticed we (the car) annoyed an animal we moved on or moved further away. This way we never felt ourselves as the ‘stupid tourist’.
- Chogela and Innocent had a good feeling about when to give you some time for yourself (e.g. a private dinner) and when to join to share stories and a drink together. Because of this we felt very comfortable and could have spent another week with them without troubles.
- All of the guides from other companies we met spoke highly of Chogela and Innocent. A lot of them even got their knowledge from training at the camp and got their first job thanks to them.

10/10

What an experience! Hope to visit again some day.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank dennisvdven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2018

We traveled from Mbeya to Tungamalenga Village. Our GPS showed us a few camping options around Tungamalenga, we decided on Chogela Camp. We arrived just before dark and the staff went out of their way to to assist us with setting up camp, they lit af fire and ensured that we had a nice hot shower. The campsite, set under big shady trees, although not grassed has a nice clean feel. The 10km drive to Ruaha National Park was easy and we could comfortably do game drives in the park from early morning to late afternoon. We enjoyed the tranquility and appreciated the friendly and helpful staff. During the night you can listen to the Bushbabys calling.
We had a look at the other campsites in the area - Chogela was definitely the best choice.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank Nesi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews