We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
225
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
225
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests dry river bed game drives always felt safe safari guide african bush asilia tent camp lions wildlife meals rama
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2019

This was my fourth African safari. Two were excellent and one was mediocre, but this camp wins the prize by far. The tents were comfortable with elegant simplicity. The food was fabulous and my celiac diet was accommodated with ease (I had more selection than I do at many restaurants at home - how can a small kitchen in a tent in the bush provide better options than a big city restaurant? I was impressed beyond belief).
Above all else was the incredible staff. Friendly and competent. Again, many hotels and restaurants at home could learn a lot from this company on how to provide excellent service. Topping off this amazing staff were the guides. I find it hard to imagine anyone having greater knowledge than our head guide Charles. Sight, sound, and smell are on high alert at all times and his ability to spot even the tiniest details was impressive beyond belief. Add to this his obvious love of learning and teaching, as well as his good communication skills and sense of humour, and you have the epitome of the safari guide. Our group learned so much.
To top it all off was Asilia’s philosophy of sustainability and of giving back to the local communities. Most impressive. I will recommend this company to anyone considering a safari and I will be booking any future safari with them. We did in fact do a second safari with Asilia right after and found the same level of commitment. Impossible to go back to anything else after this experience.

Room tip: All tents are well located and spaced far apart.
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank jpe1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Kwihala Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2019

Hello,

This is such an incredible accolade for us! Thank you, we truly appreciate your comments and your recommendation of Asilia as a whole.

Knowing that we managed to impress you is something that makes us all extremely proud. We do hope that the beautiful memories made with us will be drawing you back to us again soon. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you on your return!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Kwihala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2019

Staying in a tented camp was a highlight for the senses. Hearing the wildlife at night in and amongst where we were sleeping was powerful and brought the trip to life. The food and ambiance was extraordinary and the staff went well out of their way to make this a special experience.

Room tip: Their bucket showers are excellent compared to other camps we have stayed in...non Asilia camps.
Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DeniseLG1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Kwihala Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2019

Hello Denise,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your time with us. We are thrilled to know that you had such a special experience of the incredible African bush.

We do hope those amazing memories made here will have you longing to return for more. It will be an absolute pleasure to welcome you again!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Kwihala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2019

At the time of this review, we had experienced 4 asilia camps (sayari, roho, kwihala, jabali) in tanzania, about 19 days in total. So I will draw comparisons to be as helpful as possible. Kwihala offered one of the best safari experiences we have had for many reasons. 1) camp is genuine with a great "safari feel". Tent is basic yet sufficient with everything you need and nothing you don't. The staff is a ball of fun. Food is crazy good. I met the head chef, he focuses more so on local tastes with a western touch and his chicken spices, creative combos of vegetables and meats among other dishes are so tasty. We don't appreciate pure "western" foods (i.e. burgers, bruschetta, macarons) in the bush and appreciate the local perspectives more, so we loved it. Camp manager King David was great. 2) Our guide, the head guide at Kwihala, Charles, was literally the best guide we have worked with to-date. He was attentive all the time, with high energy and sharp eyes at night and day and with non-stop focus on customer service, delivering the best experience possible 3) Ruaha offers an experience of the wild like no other. Less people (compared to Serengeti's of the world), diversity of animals is higher, landscapes are interesting and diverse and wild interactions between animals are very unique. We witnessed quarrels between baboons and leopard, elephants and lions, impalas and baboons, it was very special. We saw 15 new species on top of what we have already seen in Serengeti and Selous. That is A LOT. (e.g. African Civet) Everyday, there was something special. Place is a true leopard heaven if you are into this perfect animal. Overall, Kwihala is simply spectacular and I recommend Ruaha as a Safari destination with everything I have got.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank t-dev-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Kwihala Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2019

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review of your time in Ruaha with us! We take great pride in receiving such a special accolade and appreciate being ranked so highly in terms of your experiences.

We do hope all the amazing memories made here will have you longing to return. It would be a pleasure for us to host you again!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Kwihala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2019

One of the best experiences we have had in 15 safaris. The tents are spacious, well laid out and very comfortable. The main living area under canvas is well designed and comfortable. Food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and competent. We particularly liked eating out under the stars with a lovely fire. The camp also provided some wonderful surprises, a bar to ourselves in the bush one evening and a cooked breakfast under a baobab tree, quite delightful! We had an excellent guide Charles who was both very knowledgeable and also a charming companion for our five night stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Kwihala Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Hello David,

This is a superb accolade for us! Reading your review fills us all with immense pride. Thank you for taking the time to post it.

It was a pleasure to host you and we would welcome the opportunity to do so again. Please come back soon for more of those special surprises.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Kwihala Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2019

The Kwihala Camp is one of two Asilia properties in Ruaha. My family and I visited the camp after staying in Ubuntu Migration Camp in the Serengeti, and prior to staying at Roha Ya Selous in the northern Selous area, all Asilia camps, all in Tanzania. Our experience was incredible: kudos to staff, camp management, facilities, safety, health considerations, experience, knowledge of guides and more. Nothing was substandard or compromised, and we were particularly impressed with the professional and congenial staff. I highly recommend this for first-time and experienced safari-goers!

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank thegeode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Kwihala Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2019

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time with us!

We appreciate your kind recommendation and compliments to the team, it was our pleasure hosting you.

Do come back soon for another safari adventure! Our friendly team will be waiting.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Kwihala Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews