We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
225
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
225
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests dry river bed game drives always felt safe safari guide african bush asilia tent camp lions wildlife meals rama
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

This camp is one of the best available in Ruaha, located just 45 minutes from the Msembe Airstrip the ride itself is beautiful. Never seen so many elephants.
King David and his team were very hospitable and so were the Chef and his team dishing up the most creative food a vegetarian could imagine. The tented accommodations were very comfortable.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nandini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Kwihala Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Nandini

What a pleasure reading your review. Thank you for the compliments to our team, it was our pleasure hosting you.

We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay with us and especially those elephant encounters and creative culinary experiences by our amazing chef!

We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Kwihala Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Kwihala is a semi permanent camp and had moved location since our last visit three years ago. The staff had also changed.
The camp (an Asilia camp) is excellent. The food and the service are superb.
Last time we visited there was an abundance of lions - this time we saw one female, hidden by the bushes. They aren't certain what's happened to them all.
However, this did not detract from our enjoyment of the camp and Ruaha. On our last night we had a lovely anniversary celebration. The manager of the camp the last time we visited was now in a sister camp not far away, and she had been invited for dinner that night. It was lovely to see her again. The only other occupants of the camp at the time we visited was a trio of American ladies who were delightful. (I see one has written a review)
It really was worth a second visit.
None of the points mentioned below ('could you say a little more about it') are remotely applicable to a camp in the miodle of the bush in Africa!

Room tip: All wonderful - tents not rooms!
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Kwihala Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Hello Carol,

We are so pleased you chose to return to us and that your decision did not disappoint! It was a pleasure to celebrate your anniversary with you and we hope the entire trip created amazing memories for both of you.

We do hope the experience will draw you back for a third time and we look forward to welcoming you!

Warmest regards,
The Kwihala Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Experiencing this camp is a once in a lifetime adventure. This tented camp includes all the comforts of home in the middle of the bush in Africa - comfortable, clean rooms; hot showers, full bath, laundry service, good food and excellent service. I eat gluten free and eating was not a problem. The chef had bread and GF meals carefully prepared. The staff was always well rehearsed on what I could eat. We especially loved eating dinner in the river bed with the manager and the guides. The staff announces the dinner menu and wine choices every night. Nice! We even had hyenas watching us up the river. We had a lion and elephants around the camp. I always felt safe.
Our safari was excellent and so fun. Our guide, Michael, was a walking wikipedia. He knew the animals, bugs, birds, snakes, and stars. He was attentive and careful. Made a friend for sure! Our bush walk was informative and our guide Lorenzo was efficient and diligent about safety, especially when we unexpectantly came upon several water buffalo. We retreated and came out of the bush safely to a breakfast in the bush.
I would highly recommend this camp. It is well managed!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sallie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Kwihala Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Sallie

Thank you for this wonderful review and taking the time to share your experience at Kwihala Camp.

We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable adventure with us. It was our pleasure making your stay a comfortable and memorable one. What a thrilling dinner it must have been in the river bed with the hyenas watching you, quite the dinner crowd!

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future for some more Kwihala Camp magic.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Kwihala Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

From the moment we landed on a dirt airfield strip in the middle of Ruaha national park, for 7 nights we cared and pampered. Our excellent guide Augustino, was driving nag us all over the park showing us various wild animals, some of them twice and three days in a raw. It was amazing to see the animals from such a close range. The most fascinating fact was that we found out that all the animals, regardless of their size, wants us humans out of their way. Augustino showed us, not only the various animals, but most interesting their behavior.
The Jeep in which we were driven was very convenient for the dirt roads, but most of all it was our safety space, from which we could see the animals from 3 tp 5 yards.
The Jeep as very xomtorable and loaded with cold drinks, warm blankets, and in the early morning, when it was cold outside, a warm water bottle waited for us in our sear. it was a wonderful though full touch. We have spent in the Jeep from 6 :30 in the morning till late in the evening..
The days started with fast royal sunrise, and ended after poetic slow sunset..
We recommend to do the night safari and the hiking trip.
Our base camp included 6 tents and numerous dedicated staff members. the tents are spacious, including in tent toilet and shower.the shower heads should have been better cleaned from Calcium to improve flow and direction of the water.
The food is very good and varied. the chef Emanuel caters to various dietary needs. The table is. Sry no cell set, under the sky and servers are professionals nail and very nice. They do remember what are your likes and dislikes.
All the staff is friendly and act like a welcoming family. AsiliaAfrica, has a very impressive Human Resources policy. The staff members are recruited from around the area, are lextensively trained and are offered opportunity for advancement.. the company is very generous donor to various important foundations.

Room tip: Not required, but welcomed med.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chavaeval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Kwihala Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Hello

Thank you for taking the time in positing this lovely review, we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable experience at Kwihala camp in every aspect.

We trust you have many special memories to hold on to for years to come and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Kwihala Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

My sister and a friend and I just returned from our second stay at Kwihala in little over a year! We visited Kwihala in 2017 upon recommendation from Troy Smith of TrueAfrica, it was the highlight of our two week trip to Africa and immediately upon our return we began working with Troy and TrueAfrica again to plan a return trip. This time we stayed at Kwihala for 6 nights and every day was an incredible experience, again the highlight of this year's trip. The staff are warm, caring, and exceptional; a special thank you to Aidn and Charles for their leadership and attention to detail - from morning coffee and cookies, to bush breakfasts, amazing lunches, and dinner on the dry river bed, no detail was too small. Everyone is kind and exhibits a love for their work and pride in their country - and they all have a sense of humor! Our guide was superb - thank you Dullah for helping us understand and experience the beauty of the natural world. The sunrises and sunsets are spectacular. We loved the accommodations, the tents are comfortable, the food excellent, and the service from everyone made us feel at home and part of the Kwihala family. And yes, we want to return - maybe a different time of the year next time to see the variety of this beautiful country! We highly recommend working with Troy at TrueAfrica and Kwihala Camp.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Kwihala Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear Patty

We are so pleased that you once again had such a lovely time with the Kwihala family, we truly enjoyed hosting you. Thank you for the wonderful compliments to the team, it is much appreciated with such pride in what we do.

We eagerly await your return!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Kwihala Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews