We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Deborah

A wonderful base for visiting beautiful Ruaha

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Jan 2024
A small, intimate and very friendly bush camp in a lovely location with far-reaching views from all the rooms, main lounge, swimming pool and dining area, located outside Ruaha National Park. Extremely friendly and helpful staff and a wonderful warm welcome from Rex, one of co-owners, and from Thomas, the manager. The camp is located in the bush on the side of a hill and blends in very well with the environment. It has large rooms located with their own verandas on stilts offering beautiful views of the park. Very large and comfortable beds. The lodge offers walks and night-drives with well-informed staff and guidance on the best places to see game in and around the park and its environs. Excellent food. Overall a wonderful and personal experience. Fully recommended.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 21 554
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 21 554
  • Lol.travel
0.6 km from Hodi Hodi Ruah Bush Camp
Pool
Restaurant
R 4 444
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 4 444
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 440
34.2 km from Hodi Hodi Ruah Bush Camp
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
46.8 km from Hodi Hodi Ruah Bush Camp
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
42.5 km from Hodi Hodi Ruah Bush Camp
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Ruaha National Park
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
6
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fantastic food an amazing experience pool bush lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2023

If you are looking for a genuine Safari experience, stay at Hodi Hodi and nowhere else, because;

Location: The Ruaha National Park and surrounding conservation areas are, as yet, unspoiled. We got up close and personal with a remarkable number of species we rarely see, including Leopard, Wild Dog and African Wild Cat. But, best of all, we did this almost entirely on our own. We saw no more than two other vehicles throughout our stay and most sightings were exclusive.

Accommodation: Hodi Hodi is situated outside the park, in the most beautiful highland setting imaginable, with dramatic views across the hills, forests and savannah. The chalets are very well appointed, extremely comfortable and you will not forget coffee on the veranda at dawn. The central lodge, with plunge pool and watering hole, regularly visited by elephants, is delightful. Simple luxury combined with a real sense of being in the wild and the excitement of animal noises all around you.

People: This is where Hodi Hodi really excels. The staff are first class, from Husein, our guide, whose depth of knowledge and experience were invaluable, to Agnes, whose politeness, delightful smile and wonderful attention to detail made mealtimes a joy, to all the staff who protected us at night and on the fascinating walking safari. All expertly managed by Thomas and Rex, whose campfire stories are spellbinding. Last but not least Julius, the chef, which leads us to;

Food: Amazing. Truly delicious, bespoke, 3 course meals that you might expect at a fine restaurant, delivered in the bush style of food brought to a table from which you help yourself, with plenty available. A good selection of wines, beer and spirits at the bar (offer Rex a whisky to lubricate a story around the campfire).

If you are after a genuine, exclusive, safari experience, in a true, African wilderness, provided by people who know and love the environment, STAY HERE.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank guyr974
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2022 via mobile

Just spent a fantastic 5 days/4 nights (the ideal duration) at Hodi-Hodi bushcamp with 5 other women…..to celebrate a birthday, women, sisterhood, life & everything. What an amazing experience it was. Pristine bush absolutely teaming with wildlife. The bush camp sits perfectly in its location, blending with the natural surroundings. The rooms are spacious & stylish with huge comfortable beds & excellent showers. The staff are just gorgeous. So kind & thoughtful. Special thanks to manager Thomas for over seeing everything so seemlessly & to Chef Julius for his fantastic food. Absolutely loved the game drives with our very knowledgable & smiley guide. Picnic lunches in the bush, sundowners & delicious snacks by a very special Baobab tree. It was very hard to leave & will always have a special place in my heart. (P.s. loved being guided back to my room in the evening by my (Uber)Masai fella.
P.p.s. Oh… then the ellies …… silently drinking from the pool while we were enjoying a dinner under the stars….wowzers! Treat yourself to a life affirming experience- then follow it up with HODI HODI Zanzibar beach…..sigh……how good does it get?!

Room tip: You will be well looked after here… just add a few days on to your trip to stay at Hodi Hodi Zanzibar …. Perfect … you will be happy.
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2022

In July we spent four days on safari at Hodi Hodi in Ruaha and a week at Hodi Hodi beach house in Zanzibar. We couldn’t be more happy with the trip! We loved the personal feeling throughout our holiday. Julia made us feel very welcome and the feeling is that you are being part of something rather then just visiting.
At Zanzibar we enjoyed the endless and quite empty beach, the tranquillity of Hodi Hodi with it’s pool, honesty bar, beautiful environment and a genuine hospitality from everyone.
The stay at Ruaha is unforgettable,. The room, two bedrooms with a joint living space in between suited us perfectly, a family with two adults and two teenagers, but especially the view from our rooms was spectacular. Spending an afternoon in the sun on the large balcony, reading and looking at the baboons playing just outside was great, as well as enjoying fantastic food in the lodge, having a drink chatting with lovely guests and staff while the sun went down behind the hills and trees.
But above all, we saw a large amount of animals, elefants, giraffes, zebras, lions etc,including getting a close encounter with a leopard. It seemed like we were almost alone in the game park, very few cars, and a feeling of being in the midst of untouched wilderness. An amazing experience!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sofiab332
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2021

The camp is settled at only 17 kilometers from Ruaha NP main gate. There are no fences in tanzanians NPs, this means from Hodi Hodi you can see mostly all kind of game without moving from the beautiful terrace by the pool... and is for free, no park fees needed. Apart of several rooms/tents with balcony literally hanging from the hill and overlooking the bush, the best of this beautiful place is their service, their food and their unpretentious style. All rooms are completely independent and full of charm and comfort, with no abuse of luxury, something I specially appreciate in a poor country like Tanzania. Rex, one of the two partners, and his team treated us the way you would treat your best friends when they come home for Christmast dinner. They are all passionated with nature and make you feel a priveleged person assiting to the premiere of a documentary of Sir Richard Attenborough... sitting by his side and being part of the filming crew... but in front of a deliciouns three course menu. Me and my friends falled in love with the place and with the team. Very reasonable prices compared to what you pay in the lodges within the park.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bosjeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2022 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews